We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely more than 2 star hotel - nicely surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Ranked #344 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I chose this hotel for our second visit to NYC only because it had pretty good ratings, breakfast, free wifi and was located in lower Manhattan. We arrived well before the check in time and we were given a room straightaway on the 8th floor. I wanted higher but they told me about the renovations on higher floors. I asked for a room with a some kind of city view and we got this clean, spacious room with a lovely view of the city on the right and the bridge on the left - absolutely brilliant. The room was big with nice bathroom and very relaxing shower. The only thing they could improve was the breakfast. It was so so but was free and it set you up for a day. The room was very warm considering temperatures outside -10 C. For the first two nights we actually had AC on :) but it was nice coming back tired and frozen to this warm, cosy room. One more thing - the bed is really high and I found it funny but very comfortable. Overall, for 2 star hotel not bad :)

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a room on higher floors with a city view. Staff is very polite and kinda c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joannanancyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind review. I will certainly share it with my staff. We will brainstorm ways to improve our breakfast while still meeting the Comfort Inn brand standards. We are very excited about the 17 rooms that are being added to the top two floors of the hotel. The views from those rooms at stunning! The carpet is being installed currently and then we will be installing the furniture, TVs, etc and should have them ready to rent in the next month. You will enjoy it the next time you stay with us.

All the best,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I got to the hotel super early in the morning and the reception Shawn greeted us and helped us check in and sign us up for the choice hotel membership. Shawn was very friendly. Our room is a queen size bed unit. It is very clean and cozy. The bathroom looks brand new. So far I am loving it. We will stay here again for sure!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shuk-Kuen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge. I will certainly share your review with Shawn and the rest of my team. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge during 22nd and 29th January 2014.


Overall the stay was reasonably ok, but we were very disappointed with the extension of extra floors being built at the hotel during our stay, the "consistant drilling and banging" starting from 8.00am and most evenings carried on later than 6.00pm. Our room was on the 8th floor level which was very close (floor 11 & 12) to the noise and made it unbearable.

When we returned every day to the hotel around 3.30pm for a rest after an exhausting sightseeing day, we encountered this noise and had to leave the hotel to get some peace.
This was very inconvenient since it was very cold outside at that time of the year, as you can appreciate and we were cold and tired.

This was never mentioned before booking our reservation or when checking in otherwise we would have have stayed at another hotel.
We never got any apologies from any member of staff. I think for this inconvenience that we experienced we should be compensated.

Before booking, check that the building works has been completed.
The room was clean, good bed/pillows and breakfast was reasonably good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giospiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for the feedback on the construction noise. The noisiest part of the project has been completed as some walls were removed and then rebuilt. I will certainly share your comments with the contractor and remind them that work can only be done between 9am - 5pm. I will also follow up with my team on guest service, especially during this time of construction. Please contact me at the phone number or email below so I can properly take care of you concern. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I am beyond amazed that this hotel has this kind of rating.
We arrived at 12pm well before the check in time of 3 PM, which is what I was aware of. We walk to the front desk and the very first thing the guest service agent says is "can't check in until 3"...no "Hi how are you" or "welcome"..just shows how much satisfaction the staff gets out of saying no to a guest.
Check into the room, and while the room is nice, and clean, we can't help ignore the very loud drilling and banging above us. I call the front desk to inquire and they say "oh I'm sorry they will be done at 5pm"...ok...why wasn't I told about this at check in?? In fact I thought it was NY state law to at least inform guests when they arrive that renovations could directly affect a guest in house. Which of course I will follow up on.
Next morning around 8am that's exactly what happened. Very loud drilling and banging woke us out of a dead sleep. I called the front desk and again was told that "there was nothing they could do, and suggested that I go do something while the work is being done" Excuse me?! Who is it anyone beside me to say that I may want to stay in my room for the day? Not them that's for sure.
Later in the evening I approach the night auditor for menus for a place that delivers late (this was at 130am) she said "nobody delivers" and gave me a phone number to walk to a pizza joint 4 miles away. Ok..I'm not from NY and even I know I had more options than that..low and behold I had steak subs delivered to me to my room via a 10 second google search, which the night auditor could have stood up and do for me if making the guest a priority which it clearly isn't.

Lastly, I go to the soda machine and it eats my money and there is not another machine in the hotel. Night auditor refused to give me my money back because there was a sign posted on the side..again...the side of the machine. Aparantely this hotel really needed to steal my $2.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. The staff are self centered and oblivious and do not keep guest service in mind as saying "there's nothing I can do" is a big no no to me but obviously not them
.
Multiple renovations will inhibit every second of your stay as you can not sleep past 8am with no warning from the desk at check in.

This is by far the worst Choice Hotel
I have ever stayed in. Stay away.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Cityfolk2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

I feel terrible for the experience you had at my hotel. What you experienced is truly unacceptable. I appreciate your observations, so we can improve. I will be speaking to my staff immediately. The hotel is expanding and adding 17 additional rooms to the top two floors of the building. There are about a week and a half of demolition that was noisey, especially on the higher floors. The construction is being done from 10am - 5pm to limit the distraction to our guests. The work is much quieter now and not being done in guest areas. I sincerely apologize for all that you encountered at my hotel. Please contact me at 212-925-1212 or Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com so we can resolve this with you.

Sincerely,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel and loved it. We booked two rooms and arrived early on the morning of December 30th, after an overnight flight. Even though check in time wasn't officially until 4PM they got us one room immediately so we could go and have a lie down and freshen up before heading out to explore the Chinatown area.

The rooms were a good size and very comfortable. Very nice breakfast included, which is served in the lobby are.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel. Staff are great, location is tremendous, and the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We are so excited to hear you had such a great stay at the Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge. You were here for a very exciting time in NYC. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Arriving in the area and looking at the exterior of the building, I was reluctant to stay and really was not sure what to expect. The staff were very friendly and helpful at check-in and that first impression made a big difference.

The room was clean, adequately spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was clean as well. I mostly stayed in my room but did venture out a few times, as I was there on business.

The complimentary breakfast and WiFi were a huge plus.

Throughout my entire stay the staff proved to be very efficient and helpful and the manager on duty was very accommodating.

I would definitely return to this hotel. Thank you team!

Room Tip: Choose a room with natural lighting in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marierrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel. I am glad it met your needs for business travel. We appreciate your feedback. Curb appeal is certainly challenging in the very Urban setting we are in. We appreciate you giving us a try. We hope to see you again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was our second time staying here, and it won't be the last. It's hard to beat the location. When I told the desk staff I used to live on the UES and he asked what brought me all the way down there, my response was "Most every place we want to eat or drink in is within walking distance." Not much of an exaggeration: East Village, SoHo, TriBeCa, etc. And speaking of the front desk, everyone was very friendly and helpful on both stays. The rooms are fine - small, functional and clean. No clue about breakfast - keep getting distracted by Russ & Daughters et al. Good subway access, too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

I love your story about the food in the area. There are so many wonderful restaurants in our area and the pricing and service is better than midtown. I truly enjoy exploring all the amazing restaurants in the area and have never been disappointed. I will certainly share your kind words with the staff. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel.

All the best!

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#354 of 470 in New York City
178 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#255 of 470 in New York City
1,316 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#261 of 470 in New York City
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Redford Hotel
Redford Hotel
#403 of 470 in New York City
36 reviews
The Ridge Hotel
#352 of 470 in New York City
409 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#364 of 470 in New York City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Address: 61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Manhattan Bridge hotel is ideally located in the Lower Eastside of New York City, providing easy access to all the best this area offers. Local points of interest like the Manhattan Bridge, Chinatown, Little Italy, the New York City Financial District, Wall Street and Ground Zero are all within walking distance from this New York City, NY hotel. Additional attractions include: -Jacob K. Javits Convention Center -Broadway Theater District -Rockefeller Center -United Nations -Times Square New York is easy to explore thanks to this hotel's close proximity to subway and train stations. Countless entertainment venues, world-class shopping opportunities and unique eateries can be found in the vicinity. Free Parking available Only with our Park and Stay Package Only (oversize Vehicle additional charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing