We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #243 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked it based on the reviews we read and we were not disappointed. Don't be discouraged by West 40th Street because once you step into the hotel you will be very pleased. The newly designed lobby was bright and attractive and the front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful and really contributed to making our stay fantastic! In particular, Dale and Dalay were amazing in helping us secure last minute reservations to extend our stay and helping us with anything we needed during our stay. The hotel stay comes with breakfast and it was much more than expected - eggs, bagels, muffins, sausage, juices, coffee - we were set for the day. In the afternoon and evening, the breakfast area is a sports bar. Our bartender, Lev, was extremely helpful with everything from getting around the city by subway to things to do just outside of the city. The personal service and cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms really made a big city seem more friendly and personal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiraSSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Your comments are most appreciated. 40th Street has come a long way over the last three years. A lot of improvements have been made including the addition of a new Irish Pub/Restuarant on the corner of 40th and Eight Avenue. We are continously making efforts in finding ways of beautifying this block which has included the planting of about 15 trees between both avenues. We are very proud of our new lobby and your remarks are truly valued. Our breakfast offerings are very healthy and there is a great variety for every need. Glad to learn that our staff was helpful. Great news - we are adding a state of the art WiFi system for all the guest rooms and public areas and this should be ready in the first week of May, 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,994 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked this hotel through Trailfinders and were delighted with what we found. O.K. West 40th St. may not be the most attractive street in N.Y. but once inside the door - great. Smart foyer, staff welcoming & friendly (the B'fast staff were a delight). B'fast included which set you up for the day.Room was clean & well furnished the beds big & comfortable. B'fast area doubles as a bar at night 2/4 /1 first drinks on first night - nice touch.Free internet service & continual coffee. Good central location within easy walking of many attractions. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
The Beer Authority, an Irish Bar, has just opened along the street, corner 8th Ave. varied menu& a great choice in craft beers. In the other direction at 700, 9th. Ave. The Delta serving New Orleans Food good beers & live music

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiff07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. One important announcement that we would like to make is the fact that we will be installing a state of the art WiFi system in all the rooms and will maintain the wired internet as well. This should be completed and ready for your use by the first week of May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Calling this a "Times Square" location may be a bit of a stretch since it is still several blocks away, but it is a nice, reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of Times Square. This hotel is in an area that used to be not safe, but now, I had no problems or concerns staying there. I even had a great view of the Empire State Building. The bedding was a little inferior to other Marriott properties in which I have stayed. That is my only real complaint. Apparently there is a very trendy night club on the top floor of the building. When I checked in, the explained this and told me that if I heard any music or noise coming from the club to let them know. Needless to say, that concerned me, but I actually never heard a peep. I got a good night's sleep within walking distance of Broadway theaters for less than $300. That's a pretty good deal. Oh… the chocolate kisses at checkin were a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoGoGo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the view of the Empire State Building. Geographically we are located in the Times Square area, but your are right, it is only two blocks away from the actual Times Square area where the ball drops every year. We are centrally located to all major attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great service. Very clean. Complimentary b'fast in NYC was a treat. Parking arrangements were not valet, but they were discounted for NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCharlebois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, that is correct. We do not have valet parking in the hotel which is why we can negotiate lower prices for our guests. There are some garages in the city (few blocks away from the hotel) that actually offer this service at a price that would exceed $40 a night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I would like to say this was our first trip to the Big Apple on 4-3-2012. My wife and I had a wonderful stay here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. The room was clean and modern with a nice bathroom with a nice comfortable bed. The only recommendation I have would be to put the tv on the wall. That would allow more room on the top of the dresser to put things. We found our room to be very quiet on the 29th floor. The complimentary breakfast was good and plentiful with more variety than your typical continental breakfast of coffee, juice and muffin. The hotel staff were very helpful with anything we needed.The property is clean, and the front desk service was efficient and friendly, The car service the hotel offered us to JFK was a nice relaxing ride but it did cost more than the flat rate cab fare. I would be more than happy to recommend this hotel to any of our friends. Thank you to everyone at the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square for a wonderful stay


Mr & Mrs J M kay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmkayfontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The lobby is very modern and so are the rooms....very nice! I was lucky I got a rate of about 260 and which is GREAT for a NYC hotel...I wouldn't pay more.

The lobby is very small, but you get a free breakfast and free internet,

The bed was comfortable

The only downside was the wait for the elevators and the woman at the front desk was a bit rude. The street that its located on is a dump, its directly at 40th and 9th, but I could walk to 42nd street in 5 minutes...I felt safe walking.

Room Tip: The hallways are small when you get off the elevator, just ask for a room not across from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpleohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your observations with regards to the staff. This is very important to us to ensure continued excellence in all areas of the hotel. This area has come a long way ever since the four hotels were built on this block. We now have a new Irish Pub/Restaurant that has just opened it's doors to the public on the corner of 40th and 8th Avenue. This will improve the whole area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for a quick weekend trip. The room was small but clean and everything was in working order. We really didn't even spend that much time in it. Every employee that we came in contact with was friendly and helpful.

The wait for the elevator was a little long, one time we took the stairs down (only 8 floors) because it was taking too long.

The walk to Times Square took 12 minutes. It was longer timewise to take a cab because of the traffic from the port authority that is across the street from the hotel. We headed out on foot in the morning and then took a taxi back at when we were done sight seeing. By that time our feet were tired.

We need to go back to NYC because we did not get everything done that we wanted to. Would definetly consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, we were on the 8th floor and had a view of an office building and dumpste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pb201146172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

There is no doubt that walking around in New York City can get very tiring. You have to come and back and visit us again in the near future. Glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. Yes, the elevator can take a while sometimes depending on the time of day. On occassion there is minor repair and required maintnenace on the elevator cars. Sorry for the delay and that you had to walk down the 8 flights of stairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 473 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#160 of 473 in New York City
864 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#193 of 473 in New York City
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#268 of 473 in New York City
652 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#234 of 473 in New York City
444 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#184 of 473 in New York City
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 330 W 40th St, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018-1404
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £99 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing