We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we were prepared for the top floor bar nuisance.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #241 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish we were prepared for the top floor bar nuisance.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

There are multiple reviews for this hotel which are all fairly accurate regarding it's convenient location and clean, comfortable (smallish) rooms. Enough has been said about that. What we never read about was the hassle created by the bar/night club on the top floor. This hotel only has 3 elevators that aren't super-huge. In the evening one of the elevators is used exclusively for the bar patrons who queue up in a side lobby to ride up to the bar. When we returned to the hotel in the evenings we found it annoying to have to walk through the lobby filled with bar patrons, in varying degrees of sobriety, spilling over from the bar entrance and crowding the sidewalk outside the entrance to the hotel. We didn't appreciate having to wait longer for elevators at that point in our long day. Luckily we weren't bothered by bar noise once in our room on the 29th floor. On our last morning we had to check out extremely early (3:15 a.m. Sunday morning). We had to wait for at least 15 minutes for an elevator due to the bar patrons who were just leaving for the night. When we called to the front desk to plea for help we were told there was nothing they could do. The delay in arriving in the lobby caused us to miss the car we had reserved-it was nowhere to be seen. We were then treated to the scene of one of the bar patrons vomiting in the lobby. The bouncer walked over to the front desk and told the agent on duty that he (the bouncer) wasn't going to be cleaning up after the woman who had gotten sick. The guy at the front desk was completely overwhelmed between the issues with the elevators (and our frustration) and the issues with the behavior of the bar patrons and staff. There was no manager on duty. (We asked.) This was the most disappointing experience we've ever had with a Marriottt property. There was no compensation offered to us for the inconvenience. We will be following up.
One other warning. The hotel is located on the same block/same side of the street as a New York State Dept. Of Corrections Parole office. One morning dozens of folks lined the sidewalk waiting for the offices to open so that they could check in with their p.o.'s. That was mildly unsettling.

Room Tip: "City View" rooms allow for a sideways glimpse of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank utfamkpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    784
    264
    67
    47
See reviews for
599
519
87
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good value for marriott service and location - rooms comfortable and clean - coffee etc in room and available in lobby - free wifi and breakfast included - there are more luxurious marriott hotels but as a base for 2 nights this was good value and suited us

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location is great, infront of the hotel is Pennstation - quick access to the metro and bus transport. In walking distance you find everything but late evenings better not to go back to the hotel alone there were few homeless sleeping on the street.
The customer service in the hotel was great, very friendly and helpful, you can check in late there is 24 h reception. The room was clean and every day we had clean sheets and towels. When booking the room we requested top floor room with city view and we had really amazing view from the 31 st floor. The breakfast is modest, limited choice but fresh and tasty but every day the same. The option is between eggs, sausages, oatmeal, fruits, yoghurt, juice, starbucks coffee ( which was great in takeway cups)The hotel is big so around 8am gets bussy in the area for breakfast. Seats are limited so if no table is available you need to wait, what i liked is they have trays so you can pick your food and eat it at your room instead of waiting. Also if you do not have time and you are on the run to explore the city they have prepared in the lobby lunch bags with snackbar fruit and oatmeal which was very tougthful. The hotel has also fitness which i had no time to visit.
Overall the hotel is great for city vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyubomira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

when arriving at this hotel it is not in a nice area bit run down next to a bus station , we were booked in quickly and told our room was on the 27 floor the rooms are small but clean linnen changed daily the breakfast was poor it was eggs sausage basic stuff but you could eat as much as you want the only thing is if you not down early you wait in a que to get breakfast , when you go out off hotel there are a lot of down and outs around this place as in new york lots to see lots off shops , i would not stay at this hotel again the only reason is the area bit dodgy put hotel in different area then yes .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at this Hotel for a business conference. I had booked the hotel on our conference website. Unfortunately, somehow the booking must have gotten mixed up and what the hotel had down for our number of rooms and dates of arrival were different from what I had confirmed. The hotel preceded to charge my visa for a "no show" which never occurred. I have tried to contact the hotel by phone and email several times and unfortunately the only response I get is that there cancellation policy is 48hours and there is nothing they can do. When asked to speak to someone else they tell me that I will be contacted the next morning or later that afternoon and nobody ever has returned my call. I have emailed them with our reservation information which proves that we did not "no show" for any night, and have included with full details and they refuse to credit my account. Our office spent close to $7000 on hotel rooms here, and I would expect a lot more service considering the amount of business we provided them. Every person I have spoke with at the hotel has been extremely rude and abrupt and unwilling to listen. I am completely appalled at the lack of customer service and there neglect to deal with a mistake that was obviously not mine. In addition to refusing to credit my visa for a reservation I did not have, they also debited and credited my credit card 8 times, resulting in over $160 in bank charges on my visa due to the exchange rate. The rooms and price of this hotel are what is likely reasonable in this location however the customer service is horrible. I would highly recommend anyone that stays at this hotel to check there credit card closely or even better STAY ELSEWHERE!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful trip with my family. Nice reception.. Used my points for the stay. upgraded my room to 21 st floor.. nice city view.. This hotel is just opp. to the Penn station so you can easily cover all the places uptown/downtown etc.. overall wonderful stay and enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganand80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed March 2014. Left an inexpensive silver ring in the bathroom. Called and hotel said they have it. They emailed me a form to fill out giving my credit card information so they could mail it back to me. After having just spent $750 for a weekend stay at this hotel and they want me to pay to have it mailed? I sent the hotel a self addressed stamped envelope to have my ring returned. That was 3 weeks ago and still no ring. Also, skip the breakfast, it was not worth it and has bad seating. You wait in line to be crammed in a small space. The elevators are terrible for a 33 story hotel. You are supposed to use your room key for elevator use and half the time it doesn't work. To be fair, the hotel was decent and clean.

Green Features: They tell you if you want to reuse your towel to hang it up. We hung up our towels only to have them taken away anyway and new towels brought in.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#239 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 244 guest rooms include Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours and in room and Complimentary High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, Theatre District and transportation that will take you anywhere throughout New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing