We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in NYC”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We visited the French Quarters for our honeymoon and now I have found it I wouldn't stay anywhere else, this was my 3rd visit to the city and my husbands 1st, our check in at the hotel was smooth and we were offered an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite, which was amazing, we had so much space which for NY hotels can be a rare thing. The staff were all lovely on hand to answer any questions we had, the hotel was spotless and breakfast was a great touch.

Location was fantastic and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay somewhere which has personality.

Thanks for making our trip so great!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and didn't hear any noise from the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsbells1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    199
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
309
481
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was the second time I had stayed at The French Quarters. The first time I had a room in the back with no view, which was fine at the time - but this time I had a beautiful room in the front of the property and it was absolutely wonderful! The restoration of this brownstone building has been thoughtful and executed with quality materials and an eye to comfort for the guest. The Keurig coffeemaker is a real plus - especially since the French Quarters stocks the room with TEA Keurig pods and I'm a tea drinker! Everything was spotless and the staff was more than accommodating. The location is convenient, but it helps to know your way around New York and be familiar with the transport options. I did not eat breakfast, which is included in your room rate, but I did the last time I was there and it was perfectly acceptable. If you are on a business trip or just need to grab a quick bite before beginning your day of sight-seeing you will have a wholesome start. This is a property I will return to again and again and look forward to each time!

Room Tip: Room # 207 is a large room with a tiny sitting area positioned in a wonderful window overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The room was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff went out of their way to accommodate us and made us feel as if we were the only guests in their establishment. Times Square is close by, but not too close. Our street was quite peaceful and charming.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyclients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel was so charming. The standard room is small but the charming-ness makes up for it.
The front desk was very helpful. There are lots of restraunts near by. Short walk to Times Square but far enough that you aren't in the middle of all the noise.
Would be a nice to have a subway more near by.
Overall: would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I spent a lovely week in New York based in a double room at this Inn. No elevator access but we didn't mind the extra exercise. It was handy to have breakfast included. Helpful hotel staff. Free wifi access in room. Only two blocks from Times Square, subway access and Broadway shows. Bought Grayline 2 day hop on hop off bus tickets - good for orientation. Liked Becco Restaurant across street, R lounge overlooking Times Square in Renaissance Hotel and bought Broadway show tickets at booth in Times Square.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, mother, daughter trip. We had a small room, tight quarters, with 2 double beds. Beds were extremely comfortable, room was too small for me. It met our needs for 2 people. Room was remarkably clean and tidy, decor is nice,bathroom very small and could use a toilet seat. We had a small wall kitchenette with stove and refrigerator, kerig coffeemaker, no microwave to heat our leftovers and no utensils, pots,etc. in cabinet that I found rather odd when you have a stovetop. A very nice touch were waters, a hangover drink( did not use) and bottle of wine in the fridge. We did have great internet connection as we needed it for work.
A continental breakfast in included in your stay. It was adequate. Would like to have seen boiled eggs and/or cheeses for protein.
The staff at this inn are exceptional in every way! They were very helpful at all times and made us feel most welcomed. Great hospitality!
We did use room service one night and is very reasonable and good food.
Location was excellent! Tree lined street! We were close to subway stations, Hells Kitchen market, theater, restaurants and bars abound right outside your door.
It is noisy on weekends, but we just turned on our bathroom fan to drown out the noise.
Elevator is slow, but that is expected in charming older buildings. It was very pleasant to be in a small quaint inn over a high rise on this NY trip. I would recommend this inn but if you would like more space I would recommend a suite.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichiSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I had a group of girlfriends coming to town on a bachelorette night, I had stayed in the French Quarters before and it was such a memorable experience that it was a no brainer to stay there again! Its located in the heart of Times Square and is surrounded by great bars and restaurants. The room are spacious and spotless. The was a complimentary drink in our room called EON - End of Night , its a hangover recovery drink , which considering we were on a bacherlorette weekend the drink came in very handy and was very effective , we were up early hangover free shopping and sightseeing and the best was there was replacement EON's in our fridge, so we were ready to party again !
Colin and his staff were superior in their service to us, My girlfriends are looking forward to staying in the French Quarters when they visit NY again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,378 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,827 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing