We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you French Quarters for Looking After Us During Hurricane Sandy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #16 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fourmies, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thank you French Quarters for Looking After Us During Hurricane Sandy!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We arrived just before Hurricane Sandy hit. Fortunately the hotel was not directly affected, although the rest of the city was. The staff could not have been more helpful, some of them walking a long way to get into work. Reception desk staff are welcoming and friendly, and were willing to look after luggage for us on our last day.

The rooms are super-comfy - huge and comfortable beds, great showers, L'Occitane toiletries etc. Each has a little fridge, hob and coffee maker. Breakfasts are continental style. There's a restaurant downstairs, but run separately from the hotel (the receptionist there is definitely NOT as friendly and helpful as those in the hotel - very miserable and unhelpful). The waiters, however, are great, and the french fries are the best I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogleswood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    195
    39
    7
    7
See reviews for
297
469
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights for our first visit to New York after reading some great reviews. I must say, these great reviews are true to their word! Situated on a quiet street means a good night's sleep in this 24 hour city, but also only about a 3min walk to Times Square, so you're still in the middle of all the action. The Manager was extremely helpful and staff very friendly, made us feel very at home. The whole hotel has been renovated with taste, very clean and tidy. The unique thing about this hotel is the Bourbon Street Bar and Grille downstairs, great value food and drinks with a buzzing atmosphere. Even on a Monday night this place was packed with locals, which was a great thing. It's also easy to branch out to different restaurants in the area, with so many options on this street and around the block. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will 100% stay here again on our next visit to NYC!

Room Tip: Book early (we booked about 6 months in advance) and ask for a high floor. We had a spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lon_alyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Firstly, loved this little boutique hotel, great appearance and location. Room was really lovely, good size, big bathroom, loved the bed! Some of the great things about this hotel - coffee maker, tv, fridge, hot plate & sink, iron & mini ironing board, LOADS of big soft fluffy towels in the bathroom, huge shower, balcony, free paper and daily update on whats happening in the area, friendly & helpful staff and great bar/restaurant area. The location is fantastic, you can see the lights of times sq from the front of the hotel, its on restaurant row so you have your pick of restaurants and there's a great buzz on the street. Few niggles - breakfast for me wasn't great - always ran out of bread for toast, not a big enough selection to keep me going over 4 mornings and the boiled eggs were cold, but it does set you up for the morning and keeps you going till lunchtime.. no lid on the toilet in the bathroom which drove me crazy - especially since there wasnt a huge amount of shelf space for make up etc - always had the fear of dropping something into the toilet! finally the price - I felt it was very expensive (I know NY city hotels are expensive across the board) but I just thought it was a little bit tooooo pricey for what it was. This is a little gem and has a lot going for it - I'd rather stay here than a generic 200 room hotel any day, but I'd like to get it for a cheaper rate...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubDimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I'm tempted to keep this gem to myself because it's harder and harder to find a room here. I don't want to stay anywhere else.

Consistently good service, consistently clean, consistently safe and reliable.

Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothes, Speyside, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012 and had a fantastic time. Our room was No 501, it was gorgeous, a 2 bedroom apartment really with a lovely balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast which was included in our stay.

We were greeted by John who is just lovely and he recommended a great Italian restaurant just across the road called Beccos, it was fab & we couldn't believe how busy it was on a Monday night, great food and service.

We met the manager of the hotel, Colin and he was lovely too, he even called round a couple of bars to see if anyone was showing the Scotland football match for us.

The hotel is in a great location for exploring NYC and a lot of the attractions are in walking distance, it is a fantastic, friendly hotel which we would be definitely stay in again on our next visit.

Checking out was so easy and the lovely receptionist even checked us in online and printed our boarding passes and then organised a car for us to the airport. They really couldn't do enough for us and the personal touches just made our stay even more special.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 501 is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanny1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great location, price was far below comparable quality venues - very friendly, high quality. Staff was friendly, helpful, great bed, excellent coffee in room. Convenient restaurant/bar - I'd stay there again on my next NYC trip!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldnumber83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

After our second visit, we still find the value to be excellent and we would definitely return in the future. The quality of the workmanship in the rooms is exceptional. Except for having to reach and getting slightly wet in the shower, the room is very functional and comfortable. Five minutes from Times Square without the noise (quiet is relative --we're still in NYC). The staff is friendly, pleasant and helpful. Their pecan pie rates right up there with the best.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#22 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing