We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #23 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We've stayed there twice, and you can't be the staff, the rooms, and the location! Colin and his staff are wonderful, the rooms as clean and the location can't be beat. Great restaurants, theaters, shopping, and a 10 minute walk to most midtown attractions. Can't wait to go back again and visit our friends at the French Quarters next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a gem of a little hotel. My friends and I have stayed here twice now, and we love it. We have had a King room, 3 double-double rooms, and a two bedroom suite (room 401, with a big King bedroom, a smaller double bedroom, a living room with pull out couch, and long thin terrace along the length). They were all great. The rooms are as they appear in the photos: lovely decoration, clean and luxurious bathrooms, nice kitchenettes, lots of drawer and closet space. Kitchenettes have those single serving coffee/tea makers; the one in the suite had a microwave.

We love that there is an elevator that goes straight down to the restaurant, and the terrific and lively bar there. It's a nice place to rendezvous if you are with a group. Breakfast of pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea, and juice is served in part of the same restaurant. The first time we came we never met Colin, but staff were very nice. The second time, Colin was there and I really think his presence adds to the excellence of this place.

We were scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, right in the middle of hurricane Sandy. They rescheduled us at no fee, helped with communication while phones were down, and were just so helpful in general--- right in the midst of what must have been going on in their own lives.

The location is great for a tourist. Less that 2 blocks from Times Square, but you would never know it. This block is all leafy green, brownstones, and restaurants. Eat at Becco; it was fantastic. Also, breakfast at "44 and a half" on 8th ave for breakfast.

Room Tip: Some people don't like being on street side due to noise, but we have not had problems on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I recently had a 3-night stay at this property, while attending a conference at a hotel near Times Square. I arrived after a 15-hour flight, a 90 minute line-up at US Customs at JFK and a 90-minute car ride into Manhattan...and I could not have been greater by anyone more pleasant than Stephanie - who immediately announced "upgrade!" (to Room 207 next door) and then helped me schlep my luggage up to the room.

What a lovely room it was - so cozy (but not small) with pretty French Provincial furnishings and a wonderful bed to rest my weary bones. This would be an ideal room for a couples "get away" with a large (enough for 2) shower filled with L'Occitane products...my favorite!

The next morning, breakfast was top notch and the desk man (Irish chap) helped me to arrange a car to return me to JFK.

New York hotels are over priced, but I consider The French Quarters terrific value for the money. It is in a nice area (restaurant row, not far from the theatre district) and an easy walk to many mid-town Manhattan destinations.

I will be recommending this spot over and over again - and I can proudly tell people when they ask, "How did you discover it?" - on TripAdvisor, of course!

Room Tip: Although on the front side of the building, which was a bit noisy at times, Room 207 is really beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AD_TravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We booked this charming hotel through Booking.com. When we arrived, it was early, so Colin, the wonderful consierge, offered to take our bags, and call us when our room was ready. He was friendly, funny, and informative. We enjoyed an afternoon in the city then went back to the hotel to change for dinner. We asked Colin to make a recommendation and he did, and we were pleased. Our room was located over the lounge and their advertisement warned us that it could be noisy into the wee hours, so I asked for another room. Alas, there were none in our price range, so we accepted our room (#101). It IS a small room (we didn't mind) - enough square footage for a queen bed, small desk and mini-kichenette. We were pleased to have a Keurig for our morning coffee. The bathroom was a good size with a sizable shower -great soap and shampoo! After dinner, we retired to our room and prepared to tolerate the music from the lounge...we heard NOTHING! Not even a bass beat. So both myself and my partner enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep. Next morning, we slept in, skipped the hotel breakfast and then checked out at 11AM, checking our bags again with the desk. Had a great day in NYC and after 8pm, retrieved our bags to head to to Grand Central. This was a wonderful experience in the city. This hotel is on Restaurant Row on 46th street between 8th and 9th Aves. Easy-peasy location, you can get to Times Square in under 5 minutes, and should explore the wonders of 9th Ave. If you are new to NYC and stay here, try to not get caught up in Times Square. The neighborhoods are so much more fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back for quiet and square footage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmessore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed overnight at this hotel and can't wait to go back! The room was wonderful -- very tastefully decorated and cozy. Almost seemed like being at home (but nicer). All the amenities are there, including a patio outside. Walking distance to all the midtown attractions but, away from the noise. The block is all brownstones so, it is very charming. Being located on Restaurant Row means that there are dozens of places to eat and drink without even leaving the block.

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The manager, Colin, did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. Just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I just recently stayed here this past weekend. This Hotel is charming, immaculate, in the heart of All the best Restaurants & Theaters. The Manager and Staff catered to our every need.They went above & beyond. Each apartment offers many amenities ie. WiFi, efficiency kitchen, blow dryer ,iron & board. Keurig coffee maker, w/ everything needed to get you going. Continental breakfast, room service.
This was one of the most pleasant experiences I have ever had. I will be sure to make this my home base in the City.
The bed was very comfortable and the living area was perfect.
The balcony was also equally as charming w/ a table & chairs w/ the same flair as the rest of the Hotel.Another perk is the convenience of Bourbon Street, where you can enjoy an amazing menu & cocktails. Or just walk out the front door and you are on Restaurant row...walk a block or two to any Theater of choice. Looking forward to my next trip...TY

Room Tip: Inquire w/ the Staff who will accommodate your every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debster5159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at the French Quarters in October this year, just prior to Hurricane Sandy. The location was excellent, being easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway and a bit further to Macy's. Taxis are excellent in New York so we used those mainly as well as the subway when necessary. The room was lovely and clean with pleasing decor and has an excellent bathroom in black and white tones and good strong shower. Lovely to come back to after walking all day.
Breakfast consisted of croissants,fruit,yoghurt,cereals,orange juice,tea, coffee and sweet pastries as well as other offerings. Substantial enough for the start of the day and is in the restaurant or grill next to the hotel. We enjoyed a nice peaceful breakfast each morning there.
In the room itself we had a large and very comfortable bed with a nice chair and desk as well as another more comfortable lounge type chair with footstool or ottoman to relax in. I found this to be a great spot to do my travel blog at the end of the day.
The staff on reception were helpful and lent us an umbrella when it was raining etc. We were given a wrong station direction to get off at on the subway but it was only the one before the one we needed.
Tea and coffee machine is in the room as well as several different teabags, longlife milk and coffee and stirring sticks. There is also a hairdryer provided that was good and powerful.
We spent seven nights here in total and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. It is just a lovely comfortable hotel with all the necessary requirements for a nice stay.
We had only one minor problem with our room. It was at the front of the hotel and there was noise at night but as we were tired from our flight and after being out all day it wasn't too much of a problem for us to sleep.
There is also a nice restaurant opposite, can't remember the name exactly but it had the word "Mama" in it, nice food and staff.

Room Tip: Possibly choose one towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussie_Travellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 469 in New York City
7,256 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,966 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £162 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing