We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a single complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #23 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I went with this Hotel because of it's proximity to Times Square (3 blocks), and the theater district, and because I got a great deal on Kayak for it. We spent the weekend (Sat & Sun) in early December '13 to do some sightseeing, take in the sights and sounds of NY city at Christmastime, and to see the Rockettes Show. We arrived around 11:30am (3.5 hours before check-in), but were met with a clean room that was ready for an early check-in. The manager on duty walked notified us that we were being upgraded to a room with a King size bed at no charge, and took us up to our room and showed us around. He was very nice. The room was very nicely decorated and inviting. The room had a kitchenette (mini-fridge, 2 burner ceramic top stove, sink, and microwave), a very spacious and nicely decorated bathroom, and a king sized bed. There is a bar attached to the hotel, that is accessible through the elevator in the lobby, and is key controlled, so that only guests can use the elevator to go to the rooms. The lobby is also key controlled after 8pm. There are several parking garages close to the hotel offering good rates for parking. The walk to times square and the theater district is an easy one. It's basically a straight line to the heart of times square. There was a continental breakfast being offered until 10am, and checkout was at 11am. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel, and will, and will, gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spydey_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a find in NYC. The location is excellent because it's in the theatre district and near subway. The management is outstanding and very helpful. Room is clean, comfortable and quiet. Continental breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L37nang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

stayed 4 nights early nov 2013 with 2 members of my family
nice staff, helpful. good size room,
we regret there is no lounge or nice entrance hall to chill out, sit out, plan the day,..
There is a good bar in adjoining building but it is more like a pub, bar with music and wooden chairs and table (and quite dark).

IMPORTANT the rooms in the annex, next door building , are much nicer , fresher, probably more recently redone ( and price is the same).

overall we recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jivers927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a wonderful treat, from the minute we entered and met Paul at the reception desk. Even though it was 7:45 a.m. our room was ready and we were made to feel welcome, including letting us know that we could still get a Continental breakfast before heading to view the Macy's parade. He gave us a tip about where we could get a view and take photos. Amenities and decor are not the typical hotel style and the accommodations were comfortable and cosy. I was with my granddaughter, and both of us would go back again. It is also very conveniently situated in the Times Square area and within walking distance of many nearby areas. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcneil31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Try to book a room at the back of the hotel unless you are an insomniac. The night-time noise from nearby restaurants and bars is problematic until the wee small hours at weekends if you have a room at the front. But otherwise, we we were very happy with the hotel. Expensive - like all New York hotels; reasonable buffet-style breakfast; very attentive staff who really try hard. Only a 4 block walk to th nearest subway from the funky area of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yeg2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were a group of ladies travelling to NYC for special birthday celebrations staying for 8 nights. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and some double doubles. All the rooms were beautifully appointed, the beds & furnishings wonderfully comfortable. A coffee machine, beautiful bathroom products, soft towels - a newspaper and a "whats happening in NYC today" daily info sheet slipped under our door every morning. Breakfast (included in room price) was all that was needed with cereals, toast, bagels, eggs, pastries, juice, coffee/tea. The service and staff were fantastic!! Thank you to Colin (Manager), Monica, John, Michael, Tori (and anyone else I may have forgotten. They knew us by name and made us feel as though the French Quarters was our "home away from home". They were able to answer any questions we had. On our arrival the Friday evening Monica went out of her way to see that we settled in with everything we needed. The location was perfect! 2 blocks to Times Square and Theatre district and a great selection of restaurants within walking distance. The Bourbon bar and restaurant next door to the hotel was a great spot for dinner & drinks & they provided room service too. I highly recommended this hotel and look forward to going back again one day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish_m_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Step away from the lights of Broadway, the blaring of horn and sea of people in Times Square and Viola-welcome to the French Quarters. The wrought iron railings, gas light style lamps and the sweet sound of jazz coming from the restaurant all made for a quiet haven in the city that never sleeps.
Colin and his staff were warm and welcoming and the rooms were tastefully decorated, inviting and full of Old World charm. Comfortable, Quiet and most of all right in the heart of the theater district, restaurant row and Times Square.
This will be one of our favorite places to stay while in NYC as it is truly a gateway to all that is happening in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoots4themoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 469 in New York City
7,253 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,979 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £162 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing