We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #19 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just back from staying 7 days in the French Quarter, where do i start! From the moment of check in to check out this place have your best interests at heart. The beds are the most comfortable and hard to get out of in the morning to go about your day. The complimentary breakfast is everything you could want from the freshly squeezed OJ(or cranberry), ample supply of bagels, cereals, pastries, muffins, fruit and scones. Fresh coffee, tea and hot water, lots of preserves, butter, milk and good morning America playing on the flat screen Tv's. The staff were all lovely and we certainly left the breakfast room full and ready to take on the day.
The bathroom with endless hot water and lovely l'octaine shampoo and conditioner is an added bonus. housekeeping are invisible but there every day and leave your room perfect.
i loved the coffee machine and complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple drinks. Each morning the newspaper and a whats in in NYC today sheet is left under your door which is a lovely touch. The complimentary wifi is great speed and we had no issues, it was great to have to plan your day ahead, every room also has a safe which we also used, although this place feels like home i'm not sure you needed it!.
This place is walking distance to Time Square, 5th Ave, Columbus Circle, all the theaters, and its only a block to the nearest subway which brings you straight in on 2 line from JFK.
We had requested a quiet room away from the bar and were housed in the townhouse nextdoor to the main hotel, the downside no lift(we're very unfit!) the upside, complete tranquility which is hard to believe in this hotel in the center of it all but we slept soundly every night. The staff were great bringing our luggage to and from the room and also holding our luggage for the day after checkout until it was time to go. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance and also places to takeaway a bite if you're on the go.
This place really is a gem i will definitely go back again i was afraid to leave a good review or it may get booked out!!! Well done The French Quarter full marks, excellent service we'll be back.

Room Tip: If you want quietness choose the townhouse, if you want a lift choose the hotel. Can;t image there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    197
    40
    7
    7
See reviews for
305
474
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I make a pilgrimage to New York City every other year to visit family. Despite having a lot of family in the New York/New Jersey area and us usually staying with them; we wanted try something different and stay in the city at least one night. I found this hotel by reading Trip Advisor and we booked; we were not disappointed in anyway. The hotel is like an old New Orleans hotel, where you enter off the street, go down this long corridor to a small reception area which has the front desk and the elevator. It’s a pretty small hotel of only 27 rooms so the staff is minimal. We were checked in by Colin; he was great. He took us to our room, made sure everything was working, even adjusted the temperature in the room for us. The next day he was ok with us having a later check out.

The décor of the room does resemble that of an old New Orleans Hotel. The Armoire, the end tables, the small table by the door, even the tile in the bathroom all have the “old world feeling”. We stayed in room 202, which is a studio; there was a small kitchenette that had a small refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, and even a small stove. There is a restaurant /Bar attached to the hotel called Bourbon Street Bar and Grill, all set up as if it were Mardi Gras. We did have a problem with lunch the next day due to a gigantic group of patrons coming in, insufficient staff and not much available in the kitchen. We wound up leaving, but upon check out, we were met by the GM and the Executive Chef who could not apologize enough for their mistakes and offered us free lunch right then and there; since we had already eaten we declined but they sent us a “comp” to our e-mail anytime we wanted it. That was very unexpected and very nice and very nice to see someone taking ownership.
We would definitely stay here again next time we are in New York.

A few tips:
The Hotel is on 46th Street, the parking garage that is contracted with the hotel is on 45th street. Parking is $40 per 24 hour period.
The hotel is right in the heart of restaurant row and bars in New York stay open until 4am. Any noise from the street did not bug us at all.
You are within walking distance to most of the shows on Broadway and one block from the subway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Koyote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nestled in the heart of the City, on Restaurant Row, is a gem called the French Quarters Guest Apartments. The minute we stepped off the street we knew we had made a great decision! We felt as if we just stepped back in time and were greeted as if we were family. Colin and the management were so accommodating. They personally showed us to our beautiful, immaculate room and assisted us with dining reservations, great advice on navigating NYC, and of utmost importance to them was our comfort. (Thanks John, for making sure I had an umbrella during that snowstorm!) Our king size bed was and is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Layers and layers of sheets, blankets, pillows and comforter a top a mattress so plush it was like sleeping on a cloud! Parking garage is close by. We didn't have to walk far with our luggage, which is always a plus. When visiting New York City, we will never stay anywhere but The French Quarters!

Room Tip: 5th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kel1mar2joe3sam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

i loved loved loved and enjoyed my stay! Staff is extremely friendly,rooms are very clean and breakfast was perfect.Just a couple of blocks from times square.Management is outstanding and resourceful.I will be back this coming summer,can not wait!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thayne, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Probably the best hotel experience I've ever had. We got a great deal on the room because we booked one over the top of the bar. We stayed over the weekend so there was loud music, but I knew that going in and it wasn't bad enough to bother me.

The staff is second to none. I've never wrote a review for anything (although I constantly shop online and use other people's reviews/forum posts), so that should tell you just how pleased/impressed I was. Colin welcomed us and was super friendly throughout our stay. He and the rest of the staff were all outstanding hosts.

Breakfast was just right. Very cool place with a great atmosphere.

Location was perfect for us. A very short walk and you're in Times Square.

The room was super clean, plenty spacious, and just had a cozy/classy feel to it.

Highly Recommended!!! This couple from Thayne, WY was very pleased!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKay928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I went with this Hotel because of it's proximity to Times Square (3 blocks), and the theater district, and because I got a great deal on Kayak for it. We spent the weekend (Sat & Sun) in early December '13 to do some sightseeing, take in the sights and sounds of NY city at Christmastime, and to see the Rockettes Show. We arrived around 11:30am (3.5 hours before check-in), but were met with a clean room that was ready for an early check-in. The manager on duty walked notified us that we were being upgraded to a room with a King size bed at no charge, and took us up to our room and showed us around. He was very nice. The room was very nicely decorated and inviting. The room had a kitchenette (mini-fridge, 2 burner ceramic top stove, sink, and microwave), a very spacious and nicely decorated bathroom, and a king sized bed. There is a bar attached to the hotel, that is accessible through the elevator in the lobby, and is key controlled, so that only guests can use the elevator to go to the rooms. The lobby is also key controlled after 8pm. There are several parking garages close to the hotel offering good rates for parking. The walk to times square and the theater district is an easy one. It's basically a straight line to the heart of times square. There was a continental breakfast being offered until 10am, and checkout was at 11am. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel, and will, and will, gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spydey_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a find in NYC. The location is excellent because it's in the theatre district and near subway. The management is outstanding and very helpful. Room is clean, comfortable and quiet. Continental breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L37nang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 466 in New York City
1,363 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#72 of 466 in New York City
5,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing