We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you TripAdvisor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Thank you TripAdvisor!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Originally we had booked somewhere else as I was trying to 'economise' on our trip to NYC, coming at the end of a 3 week vacation... but my other half persuaded me to try this place after we found the reviews here, and we are so glad we did. The real stand out for us were the staff and service: really genuinely friendly (not fake) and helpful. So many great little touches. L'Occitane products in the bathroom - very classy. Great in room fridge and coffee maker plus complimentary water and soda (hangover cure!). The bed was amazing - so comfortable and cosy, especially as it was so cold out! Can't recommend highly enough and hope to come back again with more time so that we can enjoy the hotel's own restaurant and bar 'Bourbon Street'.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    199
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
309
481
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It you plan to go to New York City for the theater and like small hotels, this slightly out-of-the-way spot is perfect. The hotel is a converted brownstone located on 46th St. in the middle of "Restaurant Row." Pros: can walk to all theaters in Broadway area, large rooms, "essence" of a kitchen, excellent linens and décor, nice bathrooms, friendly staff, more than sufficient breakfast included in price, conveniently located to many places, clean. many restaurant choices on the block. Cons: no lobby - just a narrow hall with a desk, front rooms can be noisy at night, no dishes in "kitchen" cabinets or glasses for wine, no closets - just armoires, a little expensive. But, we will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have a great view of brownstones across the street with high-rises in the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

So, Hi. I am a little lost in terms of what to write. And so - I am hoping that the person who wrote this review won't mind that they put into words what I would write... So? I've quoted most of it...

"The position of the French Quarters was great, in Restaurant Row, Theatre District, just off Hell's Kitchen. A five minute walk to Times Square and easy walking to the two Theatres we attended." (We attended three)

"FQ suited us perfectly, small, personal and immediately welcoming" the "staff were exceptional".

The suite had a "Coffee machine with different pods, daily newspaper, "whats-on" - in the city and further afield were very welcome. Plenty of fresh food daily for continental breakfasts. Nothing was a problem, we had good food in the attached Bourbon Street Bar and Grill, the whole place was very festive for Christmas and it felt great to be in New York!! Our 4 nights there were well spent and we'd happily recommend it." (We stayed 8 nights and would say the same...!!).

The beds were incredibly comfortable -- and the in-suite heating was really quick to respond. Being Australian, I am an bit energy-conscious and so I refused to leave the heating on when out during the day. So - when we got home, I turned on the heating and the rooms got warm very quickly. The TV in my room (we were in a two-bedroom suite) was an added bonus and made the nights so lovely and comfortable.

I love the tiny reception and the entry corridor...!! This place is BLOODY GREAT.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

it was a very nice place stay , the place is cozy & the bed are very confortable. the decoration of the room make you very special ( new orleans style , brique walls...) the location is perfect , if you want to have a romantic get away like in the movie , it is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The position of the French Quarters was great, in Restaurant Row, Theatre District, just off Hell's Kitchen. A five minute walk to Times Square and easy walking to the two Theatres we attended. Even walked to Central Park. It was our first visit to the US and we'd researched carefully, not really liking huge hotels. FQ suited us perfectly, small, personal and immediately welcoming - Colin and his staff were exceptional, making sure everything was to our liking and helping with bookings, places to eat, etc. So-comfortable king size bed in a good sized room. Lots of hot water and also good sized bathroom with lovely L'octaine shampoo and conditioner. Coffee machine with different pods, daily newspaper, "whats-on" - in the city and further afield were very welcome. Plenty of fresh food daily for continental breakfasts. Nothing was a problem, we had good food in the attached Bourbon Street Bar and Grill, the whole place was very festive for Christmas and it felt great to be in New York!! Our 4 nights there were well spent and we'd happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Manager was possibly one of the rudest people I have ever encountered. Kicked out before even unpacking for being under 21, a rule which was never posted online. You would think there would be better service from a place where you pay a grand a night for a suite, and then travel hours just to be kicked out.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ctnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just back from staying 7 days in the French Quarter, where do i start! From the moment of check in to check out this place have your best interests at heart. The beds are the most comfortable and hard to get out of in the morning to go about your day. The complimentary breakfast is everything you could want from the freshly squeezed OJ(or cranberry), ample supply of bagels, cereals, pastries, muffins, fruit and scones. Fresh coffee, tea and hot water, lots of preserves, butter, milk and good morning America playing on the flat screen Tv's. The staff were all lovely and we certainly left the breakfast room full and ready to take on the day.
The bathroom with endless hot water and lovely l'octaine shampoo and conditioner is an added bonus. housekeeping are invisible but there every day and leave your room perfect.
i loved the coffee machine and complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and apple drinks. Each morning the newspaper and a whats in in NYC today sheet is left under your door which is a lovely touch. The complimentary wifi is great speed and we had no issues, it was great to have to plan your day ahead, every room also has a safe which we also used, although this place feels like home i'm not sure you needed it!.
This place is walking distance to Time Square, 5th Ave, Columbus Circle, all the theaters, and its only a block to the nearest subway which brings you straight in on 2 line from JFK.
We had requested a quiet room away from the bar and were housed in the townhouse nextdoor to the main hotel, the downside no lift(we're very unfit!) the upside, complete tranquility which is hard to believe in this hotel in the center of it all but we slept soundly every night. The staff were great bringing our luggage to and from the room and also holding our luggage for the day after checkout until it was time to go. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance and also places to takeaway a bite if you're on the go.
This place really is a gem i will definitely go back again i was afraid to leave a good review or it may get booked out!!! Well done The French Quarter full marks, excellent service we'll be back.

Room Tip: If you want quietness choose the townhouse, if you want a lift choose the hotel. Can;t image there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,381 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,827 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing