We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Retreat From Times Square Madness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #19 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2009

My wife and I just returned home from our stay in the French Quarters. What a great place to stay, if plans require you to stay in or around Times Square! Neither one of us cares a bit for the glow, the roar, and the fervent pace of tourist-centric frenzy in the Square. A conference at the nearby Marriott Marquis required us to stay nearby, however. TripAdvisor came through yet again with an excellent recommendation.

Located on W 46th Street, between 8th and 9th Ave, the hotel is only a 3 - 5 minute walk to Times Square, yet is far enough removed from it that it is entirely possible to escape the crowds.

Our room (#204) was well-appointed, with beautiful, comfortable linens and a nice bathroom. A lot of thought obviously went into the decoration of the room. The room was a bit on the narrow side, however. This was solved by storing the luggage racks behind one of the chairs in the room.

Nights were very quiet, even with the lively Bourbon Street Bar two floors below us. Never once did bar nor street noise disturb us during the night. We did frequent the bar during our stay, taking two meals there. The food was well-prepared and reasonably-priced. There are many restaurants near the hotel, as well. We did not have the opportunity to try them, but appreciated the convenience of having them there.

The service was excellent, save for one small error. Room service forgot to replace our used coffee cups one day. Other than that, however, they serviced the rooms well. The front desk was helpful and friendly, too, both with check-in / check-out and in providing directions around the city.

We'll likely look to return to this hotel if we need to return to the Times Square area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestOfTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel during Thanksgiving. Highly priced, but a great hotel with value for all the money. The hotel is small and cosy, rooms are nice and the bed was big and with all the linen, pillows and perfect matresses! Staff was very helpful and nice. We have been to the city several times before but always stayed on fifth or Madison. The French Quarters was located perfectly between 8th and 9th avenue in the middle of Restaurant Row, with a lot of different restaurants to choose from. It only took us 5 minutes to walk to Times Square, and 15 minutes to walk to Macy's. Still it was in a quiter neighbourhood, with smaller buildings and friendly people around. The Bourbon Street bar which is on the ground floor of the hotel was a really nice play for an afternoon drink, lunch or party at nighttime. Beautifully decorated, with really polite and friendly staff, and great food! This is an all time favourite, we willl def. stay here again next year and the years to come!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEESandnes_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Outstanding location, Perfect Room, Great Beds, Great Service. From the moment we checked in we knew this was the "right place". Huge (by NY standards) rooms with great bathrooms, an unheard of kitchenette, free breakfast, walking distance to the theatre district.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADPUFINSTUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Wonderful little botique hotel. Highly recommended, incredibly convenient to theaters and nearby excellent restaurants in Manhattan. Beds are really comfortable, nice flat screen TV, safe in the room, free Internet, and a nice big shower that even has a seat, but no bathtub (in case you care...we didn't). Our room on the second floor (202) even had a balcony over 46th.

Great restaurants nearby: Joe Alllen, and Becco. We had a great lunch at Joe Allen and an absolutely wonderful dinner at Becco after seeing The Thirty Nine Steps down on 44th. French Quarters is so close to everything fun, and such a nice comfortable place to stay. A little street noise from facing 46th, but not so much that it was a serious bother. The balcony and the view more than made up for that. Continental brunch on the Mezzanine was nice too.

The staff and manager at French Quarters are wonderful as well. Again, highly recommended, stay here for a unique Manhattan experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarkaLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Located just two blocks from Times Sq this small but perfectly formed hotel come restaurant/bar made a great base to explore Manhattan the week before Thanksgiving. We arrived on a Saturday, and this is the one flaw with the place, the bar was VERY loud in the evening, and our room on the 1st floor next to the elevator vibrated with the disco that was going on downstairs. However, the staff were quick to relocate us to a top floor suite for the remainder of our stay at no extra charge (in fact they discounted the first night!). The rooms are well appointed and cosy with a New Orleans flavour. The whole place has a warm, welcoming feel to it, much more friendly than your typical large hotel. Thank you to Tori and her colleagues for making our once in a lifetime visit to NYC a memorable one!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80w3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We were alerted to the fact that the hotel was right over a bar, but were assured by the desk clerk that no one could access the hotel floors from the bar stairs or elevator. However, the first night, we were awakened twice by drunken patrons screaming (once at 1:30AM and again at 3:30AM) and the second night, we were awakened at 7AM by the bar staff dragging patio furniture around in order to put up Christmas decorations. We were incensed, and each morning, told the front desk that they needed to rectify the problem. I was assured that the manager would call me when we returned home and take something off the price. When I didn't hear from him, I wrote an impassioned email, outlining the problems, and he responded immediately by phone, offering to reimburse our stay in full. He also invited us to come back in future for a night as his guests. Although the hotel really needs to do something about their relationship with the bar, they are clearly aware of the problems and are trying to fix them. I applaud the management for their generosity and sense of duty.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devadasi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel in October and it is the perfect little gem in Manhattan! Brand new, with great decor and all the comforts. Not to mention a fantastic location. The staff was super friendly and I really enjoyed talking with the General Manager - Colin. He was very knowledgeable and had some great tips for things to do and see in NYC. Will be back to stay at Christmas.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelTechGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,415 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,942 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,239 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £161 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing