We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, great value, comfortable, great location - proper hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, great value, comfortable, great location - proper hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

My friend and I are constantly travelling for business and decided to see NYC as a tourist for a change. Torrey at reception greeted us warmly as we arrived, took us personally to our room and made sure we were comfortable.The rooms are newly furnished and the beds are ultra-comfortable. Great value just a block from Times Square! During our stay Torrey gave us great restaurant recommendations. We were made most welcome. Well done to the team at French Quarters - your passion and attention to detail are obvious. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    190
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
292
463
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Reserved this hotel based upon Trip Advisor reviews. Great choice..greeted by Colin who showed us to our room. Beautiful, clean, comfortable room with outside deck..the shower was huge and, I think, my favorite part..except for the Keurig coffee...a nice change from the usual hotel coffee.
Too bad you spend so little time in your room when in NYC...located in the center of everything, the room was relatively quiet at night..we stayed in room #501.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel...perfect.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conneticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

I had the opportunity to go to the French Quarters on 46th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues on Saturday and I was extremely impressed with the room as well as the service. Whoever owns this establishment is quite fortunate to have Colin as the general manager. I have never met such a refined gentleman who was extremely helpful with a great personality. Donald Trump should have such an impressive GM. Owen was also delightful.This hotel reminded me of a smaller version of the Eliot Hotel in Boston which has been rated as one of the Best small hotels in the U.S. and also one of my favorite places to stay when I visit my sons in college at Boston University.

The location of the French Quarters is great, on Restaurant row and they also have a wonderful, large restaurant called Bourbon Street which has great food and drinks. If you are looking for a small hotel in the theater district I am sure you will be extremely satisfied with the French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcgConneticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

The reason we choose the French Quarters was primarily for its location and the wonderful reviews we read about it on TripAdvisor. We were wrong. Do people get good service depending on the mood of the staff there? Or do we have to speak french to get good service? After half a day of traveling (which began at 5am that day) and being greeted by freezing winds at NYC, we were relieved to finally reach our destination. Getting information from the reception about how to get to the subways and other important spots in the city was not very helpful and you'd be lucky if you had your compass and your own navigation tools. The room was surprisingly freezing and we informed the reception about our plight. We were told that the thermostat is now turned up and the room should heat in 15 mins. Almost 45mins later, there was no change. We decided to head out to explore nearby Times Square instead of wasting our time. We informed the staff on our way out and were assured that the heat would be up soon. After arriving back to the same freezing room hours later, I physically had to go down and explain the situation. We were made to play the waiting game again. Still no luck with the temperature. After making another call and requesting some maintenance, the person finally came up and investigated the heater vent, saying that he couldn't understand why the heater wasn't working, and would move us to another room if need be. Hoping to thaw out in the shower was another disappointment. The water was not hot, not warm...but lukewarm. Just when we were about to reach the point of insanity, the heater started working. No one called to ask if the heat had turned up. Bad start to an otherwise fabulous vacation. The good points about the hotel was its cleanliness and location. They seemed to compensate for the bad service. Fortunately, the city had lots of attractions to keep aside the disappointments experienced at the hotel. Apparently, there are 95% strong who voted this place as the most recommended to stay while in NYC. All i can say is, follow your instincts!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Liberty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Booked a night at French Quarters with high expectations based on TA reviews but, unfortunately, I was disappointed. First the positives: great location near theaters, times square, restaurants; nice decor, clean, very comfortable bed with good linens. Now the negatives: greeted by a receptionist that couldn't quite muster a smile. There isn't anything you could call a lobby and the reception area was rather drab. The room wasn't ready at 3 p.m. (was taken to the associated bar, I think it was called Bourbon Street, for a complimentary drink. I had a coffee and she a hot chocolate and they were absolutely dreadful. I haven't had a cup of coffee that bad since Starbucks first opened). After all the waiting they hadn't bothered to heat the room up to a comfortable level, and I was soon to learn that the room couldn't be heated up to a comfortable level. The thermostat couldn't be set over 72 and at that setting the room was uncomfortable. The shower - no tub - also didn't quite get hot, so no relief there.The wifi didn't work. The room was quite small and just barely adequate for two people. I was expecting something much nicer. I frankly flummoxed by the highly positive reviews from others.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wmrboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We visit New York City a couple of times a year, but had never stayed in the Times Square area. We made our decision to stay at the French Quarters hotel based on reviews from this site and other sites. We were not disappointed. Collin (actually, everyone) was extremely helpful and paid a lot of attention to details. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, the daily paper and daily list of happenings. The location was ideal, given the fact that many theaters are within two blocks of the hotel and others, including Radio City Music Hall, are just a short walk away. Being located on Restaurant Row is a definite plus. Our room faced 46th street and even though it was cold, we enjoyed stepping out onto the balcony to watch the snow and passerbys. As others have reported, the rooms are quite nicely appointed with a kitchenette, tv/with dvd player, and clock radio (for ipod). You will have a very restful sleep in the bed. From our room, you could hear street activities, but that is part of being in the city and did not bother us. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IntrepidTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Floridatam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Just visited NYC for the New Years Holiday (Dec. 28th thru Jan. 1st). We stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bath suite on the forth floor (#401). We had a 20+ foot balcony overlooking restaurant row, and within sightview of Times Square. The staff was excellant and the location was great. Times Square was 1 1/2 blocks away and subway system 2 blocks. Lots of great restaurants within minute or two walk. The bar located downstair (Bourban Street) was just like prior visits to New Orleans. Great food and drinks, just an elevator away (room key needed to access hotel from bar). Anyway, we plan on visiting again this summer and French Quarters will be our first option.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spnybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing