We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Good As It Gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #13 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I stayed here for nearly a week with my son and couldn't have been more comfortable. The room was the cleanest hotel room I've ever been in -- bar none. Not a smudge on the windows, the grout between the bathroom tiles -- on the floors, walls, everywhere -- was so clean it looked like it had just been put in.

We had a small refrigerator and some cabinet space, a small closet and ample room in a two double bed room. The beds were extremely comfortable -- firm mattresses and luxuriously linens that made you feel wrapped in softness.

The hotel is a brownstone and it's in the heart of westside so you can feel like a real New Yorker! If you need quiet at night, ask for a back room. Otherwise, cozy up and enjoy the night sounds as you drift to sleep. Our room faced the street and was directly over the bar. We liked hearing the neighborhood noises and the traffic (mostly foot) on the street. It didn't interfere with our sleep and we enjoyed knowing that indeed we were in the city that never sleeps.

The hotel is within walking distance to Times Square and most Broadway Theaters. We made the trip to the Park several times and Carnegie Hall as well.

The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. I love this place. It's as good as it gets -- almost as comfortable as your own home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    190
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
292
459
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Based on positive reviews in TA, we stayed at the French Quarters for three days. Our perfect stay began with phone reservations, when the manager on duty gave us help in selecting a room that was in the back and therefore did not face street noise. Our room 205 was indeed very quiet. We arrived a bit early (12:30) and the staff did what they could to get the room ready in the next half hour. The room was spacious, comfortable, and had a refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Desk staff (Colin et al.) were unfailingly polite and helpful. And the location was perfect on restaurant row. In fact, the "Taste of Times Square" was on our street and we sampled the wares of the many restaurants in the area and listened to music. We walked to the theatre and to the nearby subway, which took us to other destinations. The management told us that they are expanding next door, with some even more spacious units available soon. Thanks to the reviewers, and to TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Outstanding hotel in an outstanding location on 46th btw 8th and 9th. Where else could you want to be. Staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the city. Beds are the best!!! It's central location allows you to walk pretty much anywhere in the Theater District and general area. Will certainly stay there next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveler1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Returned on Thursday after a week with my wife in the Big Apple. The Bedroom excellent, Full size walk in Shower, Plentiful Wide Ranging Breakfast. Every room is Wheelchair Friendly. The vast range of Restaurants on the street would keep you taste buds working overtime.10 minutes from Times Square and Broadway. There is nearby about 4 mins walk (8th AV 49th St) "The Food Emporium" where you can buy all types of salads foods and soft drinks to keep and eat in your room. Wines and beers can only be bought from liquor shops, the prices are 3 times more expensive than France. One of the meals we had out in an Irish Pub the Guinness cost more than the meal. Be aware most restaurants add the tip automatically to your bill. buy a 1day 7 day ticket it allows you unlimited metro and bus use. A must after the Statue is the Metropolitan Museum of Art fantastic views from the roof garden. I would not consider staying anywhere else than the French Quarter when visiting New York again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy-Frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I just completed a one week stay with my wife at this hotel to celebrate a very significant birthday. The French Quarters is an excellent European style hotel. The hotel is newly decorated so everything is in great shape. Our room (a standard king) was plenty big enough and the bathroom was comfortable and nicely done. Although our room fronted on 46th street, double-paned windows kept out the noise. The sun in the morning was a real treat. This is not a hotel with a fancy lobby and gigantic breakfast...just comfortable, well-decorated rooms, with friendly staff and a great location on 46th street surrounded by good restaurants. This is a real treasure. It is certain that I will return. Please do not go here if you crave a massive high rise with a gigantic lobby, thousands of bell boys and a big lobby.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halkruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We arrived at the hotel very late at night after a long flight for a month in the USA to find that the standard double room is so small that there is no space on one side of the bed for my husband to get out of bed--the bed is flush against the wall on one side.
there is one drawer for the bible at a small desk and a closet about 18 inches wide with 3 coat hangers.We are booked here for 4 nights and cannot unpack at all.My husband's case is on the floor.I did not realize that standard double does not only refer to the bed size but to a room half or less as big as a queen room. this may be my ignorance--i have peeked in and all the rooms on this floor are not so small.If i had realized I would have booked a bigger room.Or not booked at all as it was the references to spacious rooms which convinced me to book.There were many other well located hotels available for the dollars.
And "apartment" in the name must refer to the stove top/sink and fan arrangement next to the miniscule closet.Funny that as there are no plates pots or even a glass so is this nonsense for show?!--better to take this out and put in some drawers and a bigger closet. This is a very small hotel room not an apartment or a studio.
There is no lobby to speak of or a guest lounge .
On a positive note the bathroom is new and elegant and the room is very clean.The bed is comfortable with attractive cushions and duvet--.Free fast WiFI and a good TV.For theatre goers it is very well located in a street full of restaurants.The light breakfast included is good. Noise levels were ok but have ear plugs in case especially on Saturday night..The staff are pleasant
So if you book this hotel do not get a standard double room--at least not room 101 or room 106 and I presume others on different floors would be the same.. Also it didn't matter to us but it would be hard to work in this room,so not a good choice for business.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbbedu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Took the family for my 50th and stayed in apt 502 with balcony. Well appointed, perfect temp, spacious bathroom. Breakfast was delightful. So close to everything..Definitely a trreasure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbbedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,305 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
845 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing