We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location fabulous staff would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great location fabulous staff would stay here again”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

colin,john and all the staff could not have been more helpfull,from greeting us on arrival to arranging our transit to the airport on departure nothing was too much trouble.Our room 103 ,we were told it would be noisy at times from the bar down stairs ,I always sleep with the aid of ear plugs and had no trouble sleeping on those days when the bar was in full swing.The king size bed was so comfortable and the room was tastefully decorated and clean a great small hotel in a top location 2 min walk to times square.Ring direct to obtain the best room rates,I have no negative comments re our stay ,would love to stay again.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tosh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    198
    41
    7
    7
See reviews for
305
476
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Gorgeous small boutique style hotel. We had a party of 4 and stayed about one week in the 2 bedroom apartment (request the one with two bathrooms, as they have another with one bathroom). Location is 3 blocks from Times Square and near all the Broadway activity. It is also in a fabulous restaurant street (we pretty much ate in a new restaurant in this street every night). The manager and his team were so friendly, accommodating and helpful. We will be staying here again next time! Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wrenmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and a double/double with our two teenage sons for 8 nights. Our accommodations were perfect for our needs. Clean, very comfortable, quiet with very friendly, helpful staff who were always interested in your plans for the day, offering advice and suggestions, organising dinner bookings and anything else we needed. As per other comments on tripadvisor, it would be good to have a couple of plates, wine glasses and cutlery in the rooms with a kitchenette but when these items were required, they were delivered promptly. We loved the bourbon bar and grill downstairs. The food was very good American fare and our boys loved the full on TV sports. My husband had to continue with some work commitments and the internet access and desk space was ample.
West 46th street is a lively street with many restaurants and bars. It was always easy to catch a taxi and we missed it when we headed downtown for a couple of nights.
We would all stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank March3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Just returned from 4-night stay in NYC, and booked French Quarters based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Excellent location very central to everything. Colin and staff were wonderful and gave us some excellent recommendations while there (and the hand written note upon arrival is a great welcoming touch!). This was our first trip to NYC, so I don't really have anything to compare it to, but the room was spacious with good-sized bathroom and of course kitchenette (which we didn't really use). We were on third floor, and did not have any issues with bar noise as some reviews have noted. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean, and those are my two "must haves" in a hotel...so we were happy. I like the personal feel of the hotel also, better than the huge mega hotels. Overall, would definitely stay again. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Colin and the rest of the staff at The French Quarters always go the extra mile for guests at this lovely, quaint, classy and spotless boutique hotel in a great location in Manhattan. I love the decor, the ambience, the L'Occitane toiletries, the comfort and the home-like atmosphere of this hotel. It is the only place I stay in New York unless it happens to be booked, in which case I am sad because I don't like staying anywhere else. This is the best find, ever. I have stayed in a lot of mid-range hotels in Manhattan that are soulless, depressing and outdated for the same money, where the staff could care less and they don't even have decent food, much less breakfast or a bar. The only thing that is a shame is that too many people are catching on to the fact that this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This hotel was recommended by a distant relative who had done some work in the hotel before. Having been warned by lots of people that hotel rooms in NYC are small and not to have high expectations, After a very warm welcome at reception, I was thrilled when I checked into my room in the French Quarters. The room was very big with plenty of storage space for all my luggage. Good sized bathroom with excellent toiletries, a fridge and hot plate. There was even a work desk with internet connection. As I had been travelling with work for the previous few days it was great to be able to finish off the last few emails and tidy up some loose ends before starting my holiday. Their internet (both wired and wireless) was excellent and simple to use. I did find out that our room was over the bar so did have a disturbed nights sleep the first night but having mentioned it to Colin, the manager, was moved without any issue to an even nicer room the next morning. The new room was in the new section of the hotel and again i was suitably impressed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well every night of our stay. Breakfast each morning was great - just the right selection to fill us up for our days activities and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace while we ate. We ended up in the bar beside the hotel most nights. Highly recommend their hurricaines (a cocktail) and their chicken wings and pork sliders were yummy.
All the staff in hotel and the bar were exceptional - friendly, welcoming, helpful.
Location was ideal - 2 mins from times square, lots of bars and restaurants in close proximity. All in all, I couldn't rate this place highly enough and have already recommended it to people. I wouldn't consider booking any other hotel when I return to NYC - this is the only place I want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoebeMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Everything was great, except the bar beneath the rooms which maintained a loud, throbbing beat until 2 a.m. All would be fine IF YOU'RE DEAF.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,586 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing