We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique luxurious stay in the theater district of NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #18 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique luxurious stay in the theater district of NYC”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This was our second stay at French Quarters. The location is perfect. The accommodations are spectacular and the staff will assist you with anything you need to enjoy your visit in NY. During both of our visits the hotel manager was especially accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regisdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    196
    39
    7
    7
See reviews for
301
472
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2011

What a great place! The rooms were extremely clean and furnishings so nice, the staff was all friendly, the location great. Walked from Penn Station, walked to Javitz, Times Square. Perfect continental breakfast in the adjoining bar in the morning. The only two not great things were -- no soundproofing on doors/windows so VERY loud outside noise and no exercise equipment. Will definitely come back and recommend to others for personal or business travel. Thanks to TripAdvisor -- that's how I found the place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneilfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Wonderful, lovely, will stay every time we go! Close enough to be in the heart of it yet you feel like you are in your own little neighborhood. Perfectly situated for all the times square attractions, with lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beevcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We loved it. The beds were sublime, so much so that when I arrived back to Australia I bought a feather bed for our mattress. Colin and staff are exceptional. The room was spotlessly clean, quiet and pretty. Great restaurants are within easy walking distance. I cannot fault this place and cannot wait to return. Others could learn from this establishment. It's wonderful. If you think that I am raving, just check my review for a certain b&b in Portland, Oregon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Blonde_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We loved this hotel. Not only is it beautiful and perfectly located, it was quiet and Colin was very helpful. We will absolutely stay here when we visit New York. As an added bonus, the recommendations Colin made for dinner and wine were right on target. The bed was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Excellent location, just in the heart of New York, few blocks from Times Square;
many nice restaurants in the same street;
rooms are very nice but there's litte space for clothes and baggages; airconditioning works very well.Kitchen in the room is minimal (we did not use it).Room service was negative : we had to wait sometime up to 5pm to have our room cleaned; one day we had no cleaness at all; but manager was nice with us and offered late check-out for free;
breakfast was ok. For the money we spent we expected something better.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank depexmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We picked the French Quarter based on Trip Advisor ratings, reviews and location and as always, Trip Advisor did not disappoint. When we first arrived, I was a little concerned as we entered the building, the narrow, long hallway to a small front desk. But, does THAT matter? Torrey greeted us and escorted us to our room (#205) and informed us of all the ammenities available.

The room was very comfortable for two of us, with a big, King size bed with wonderful linens. The bed was also very comfortable, not too hard, and not too soft. I like to have a kitchenette and this was a nice one. We asked Torrey if we could have a microwave, plates and silverware and they were delivered. So if they originally are not in your room, just ask!! We stayed for 1 week and it was very comfortable for that extended stay.

The bathroom and shower are nice, but there is not a good space to sit a large toiletry bag on. But as with everything, we worked it out. Also, a small armoire is available to house your clothes. Not really any drawers, just two thin drawers attached to each nightstand. There was no iron/ironing board, but we always travel where we don't need one.

Attached to the apartments is "Bourbon Street" restaurant and bar. You can access is directly by pressing "B" in the elevator. That was very convenient. This is also the location where you have your continental breakfast. Very standard continental breakfast. We had a dinner and a lunch at this restaurant and both were very good. Our room was far enough away as to not experience the noise of the bar late at night while trying to sleep. But I can see if your room was right over the bar, how that could be upsetting.

The location is one of the best I've stayed so far in the city. Just off the chaos of Time Square on Restaurant Row and a few short blocks away from a major subway hub at 42nd St. Your restaurant selection in this area is endless and one of the main perks of staying in this location.

Our room was very clean and was cleaned consistently daily. No complaints there.

Lastly, the staff helps make this location a true gem. Collin, Torrey and the others were very friendly and helped make restaurant reservations, recommendations and car-service schedules back to the airport.

We do plan on returning and bringing a few more family members. The French Quarter will be the first place we check for availability when we return.

KB & MB

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KareBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing