We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Madison Avenue

Madison Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
THE TOUR New York City Powered by THE RIDE
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Holdouts: A NYC Architecture Walking Tour
Ranked #28 of 830 Shopping in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Madison Avenue from East 57 to East 86 Streets, on the tony Upper East Side of Manhattan, is North America's premier luxury district. Madison Avenue features the flagship boutiques of the finest fashion & jewelry designers, world class art galleries, exquisite restaurants, spas and salons for exclusive pampering, five internationally renowned hotels, and the Whitney Museum of American Art. Madison Avenue exhibits timeless elegance with a contemporary flavor that is distinctively New York. This boulevard of understated charm is sure to entice your senses with indulgences from all corners of the globe.
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I’m a poor tourist by Asian standards. Having said so, I must point out that – in spite of my condition (defined by an Indian rickshaw driver), I loved Madison Avenue!

Great flagship stores for window shopping (upscale, luxurious, sophisticated), sidewalk cafes, beautiful architecture which preserves the style and heritage of the Manhattan Upper East Side Historic District. Boutiques of the finest American and European designers, stunning buildings, exquisite restaurants, gorgeous cafés, internationally renowned hotel chains, places for pampering oneself, art galleries, elegant feel. Chic. Charming.

On its website it claims to be the North America’s premier luxury District. I think that is fair.

Parallel to its neighbour, the Fifth Avenue. Less touristy, more exclusive and glamorous, less crowded, more enjoyable.

Even if you don’t have the money, this is the place to go! Remember: everything is a question of attitude!

1  Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonAveBID, Public Relations Manager at Madison Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so much for visiting Madison Avenue and for your kind review. Thank you very much for commenting on the architecture here. The juxtaposition of nineteenth- and early- to mid- twentieth century buildings with storefronts and window displays showcasing the creativity of our contemporary designers creates a real vibrancy and sense of discovery here on Madison Avenue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Madison Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Madison avenue is famous for his shopping offer for luxurious brand. Pass some hours to visit this avenue but be careful it's expensive. Famous brands are Armani, Tiffany & Co, Jimmy Choo and also a nice boutique of Nespresso which I tried.

1  Thank Lugano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonAveBID, Public Relations Manager at Madison Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your visit to Madison Avenue and for your kind review. Indeed, Madison Avenue is one of the world's largest luxury shopping destinations, extending over 1.5 miles and including over 400 businesses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lots of shopping, restaurants, etc. Everything you want in a big, lively city. Highly recommended to anyone.

1  Thank Tal_Hameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonAveBID, Public Relations Manager at Madison Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Madison Avenue's boutiques and restaurants. There will be lots of new store openings this fall, so please check back on our website for updates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

If you enjoy walking and window shopping this is definitely the place to go!

Great flagship stores, restaurants, and a nice walk. Great on a nice sunny day. Enjoyed the beautiful people and people watching in general.

Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonAveBID, Public Relations Manager at Madison Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review! I hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our sidewalk cafes, a great place for watching and being part of the Madison Avenue scene. We look forward to welcoming you again to Madison Avenue and New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This famous avenue is just parallel to the 5th avenue. A lot of shops and places to eat. Maybe it is not that famous as its neighbour, the Fifth Avenue, but after visiting the latter and if you have limited budget, you will find yourself wandering along the Madison Avenue to find what you want.

1  Thank ilGrec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonAveBID, Public Relations Manager at Madison Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Madison Avenue. We hope that you were able to take a break from your walking to visit some of our sidewalk cafes....they are pleasant place to relax on a summer day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madison Avenue also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Madison Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing