We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger Ever!”
Review of Black Iron Burger

Black Iron Burger
Ranked #433 of 13,681 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: East Village
Cross street: Between Avenue A and B
Description: Black Iron Burger first opened its doors in the East Village of Manhattan in 2008, offering classic American Burgers and foods inspired by the Mediterranean for the foodie, health-conscious and passionate diners seeking high quality, guilt-free American burgers.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Burger Ever!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

After 24 hours travel to get to New York, the tasty (and speedy arrival) of such a delicious burger was eagerly welcomed. I will be back before I bid New York farewell.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kobie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    59
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Great place and great food. My wife and I go everytime we are in the city. There is a secret I still dont know why the buns are not greasy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great burger.”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We visited black iron burger on a girls trip to New York. While researching for our trip one of the girls read about this place on a blog and then seen more information on another website so after hearing such good things it was decided it was something we should try on our trip. After getting slightly lost on route a helpful New Yorker pointed us in the right direction instantly knowing where we wanted to be.

A small black shop front from the outside inside was more like a bar, dark and small but had a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.

There was a good selection on the menu to choose from two of the group choose a washington and our friend who had heard about this place choose the classic with horseradish cheese as she had heard great thing about this and we were not let down. Asked what sides we wanted and even how we would like our burgers cooking which was done to perfection.

An all round great visit and when we return to New York I am 100% sure we will be heading for black iron burger.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My local burger fix.”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Black iron isn't fancy and doesn't have a 12 word explanation for its burgers, simply because it doesn't need to be. The food is good and constantly so. It's more of a bar with a burger kitchen than a restaurant which bodes well for myself and friends. From burgers, to onion rings and on into milk shakes the place is constantly going to give you a tasty meal at a more than fair price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Burger.”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

When visiting Soho this past Weekend we were looking or a place to eat while shopping on canal street. Well let me tell you we could not have found a better place to grab a bite especially for the price and the quality of the food. It could possibly be the best burger i ever ate plus the price was right:)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Iron Burger also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Black Iron Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing