We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere is a ten, coffee is a seven”
Review of Andaz

Andaz
Reserve with OpenTable
Andaz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,320 of 13,637 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is a ten, coffee is a seven”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Friendly staff, perfect location with street view of the grand old lady of libraries. Comfortable and busy with fashionable New Yorkers being fashionably busy. Great break from midtown hubbub.if you want quieter, go to the reading room across the street, if you want better coffee, get out your burr grinder at home. I will be back again, for certain. $3. for a coffee midtown that is not a rotten Starbucks? Can't beat this

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Excellent food choices such as Bircher muesli, 1st grade fresh fruit, cinnamon infused porridge and superb pancakes etc. A stylish interior design befitting the 5th avenue location enhanced the food and experience. Friendly, knowledgable and welcoming staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyCordato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good authentic indian food”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good authentic indian food with a good choice. They can cater to how spicy or not you want it which is great for me. Great pieces of white chicken rather than horrible meat and plenty of naan bread. We went back and tried the weekend lunchtime buffet. $10.95 as much as you can eat with some decent choices and definitely worth trying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoRo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We looked for a neighborhood restaurant and were a bit in a hurry. The food and service were indeed ecxellent. We highy recpmmend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Menachem2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Located on 1st Avenue near E. 72nd Street, Andaz was a good choice for a neighborhood dinner. The restaurant is small but nicely decorated. We chose onion fritters for our appetizer and they were nicely fried and served hot. The complimentary naan with the three delicious sauces was quite good. The server was helpful when I wanted something for my entree that wasn't spicy. He recommended a lamb dish that was tasty. My spouse had a chicken dish that he really enjoyed. We also ordered a side of onion naan which was very nice. With rice, it was more than we could eat. A couple could split a main dish if ordering sides. The wine list is decent for a casual dinner out. I had a New Zealand Savignon Blanc and it was fine. Service was efficient and pleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andaz also viewed

 

Been to Andaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing