We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds, good gym, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #89 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I liked it here. Questionable and verging on pornographic images on the walls of the rooms, which seemed more tacky than edgy, but other than that, great beds, the rooms actually had space- unheard of for New York, great shower, great products, good natural lighting in the rooms- a wall of windows. Very clean, bright airy, good memories would totally stay here again.

The only thing that slightly marred my experience was a bit of a rude interaction with one of the women at In Room Dining:

Ordered breakfast for the morning after I arrived. It came but as soon as she delivered it and went downstairs she called me back straight away to say that there wasn't a credit card attached to my room [booked by a business partner] and rather abruptly said that I needed to go downstairs straight away to rectify this. I actually had to argue with her to let me eat my cooked breakfast before I went downstairs and sorted this. At first she wouldn't have it and treated me like some sort of con artist trying to defraud them. I was booked there for a week, this was the first morning, I would have thought the chances of my fleeing on the back of one breakfast before I ventured downstairs would be slight.

I would suggest that maybe like most hotels they take such details on check-in to stop such unnecessary conflicts.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genluxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Genluxx - Thank you for your review. While many of our guests enjoy the artwork in our rooms, we do have an alternative artwork for guests who enjoy a different look. We would love to update your profile and include the specific preferences.

In regards to your interaction with our in room dining staff, we apologize for the way your order was handled. It is customarily that we receive a credit card at time of check in for incidentals. While we don’t have all the details of your check in process, we are sincerely sorry for the way you were treated. It seems that our staff member was being over passionate with the billing procedures however this should not have been related to you in any rude way. We have taken this as an opportunity to retrain our staff on proper communication. We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
There are newer reviews for Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,829 - 1,835 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had an overall excellent stay at this hotel.
It is so nice and clean. The rooms are spacious (for NYC) and the beds comfy. I felt I could really relax there. The front desk staff was very nice and welcoming. I had a great experience at the bar with excellent service. The only negative I had was with concierge both on the phone and in person. They seemed bothered by my simple questions. Maybe a bad day?

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolitanj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Lolitanj2 - We are so sorry to hear about your interactions with our front desk! We consider this to be totally inexcusable and we would like to apologize once again for it! Otherwise we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we would love to welcome you again in the near future! Thank you for your post, we appreciate you taking the time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Ive been to New York numerous times and this was by far my best experience because of Gansevoort Park. The hotel was so luxurious, clean (a huge factor in an NYC hotel), and the staff was so friendly and welcoming. I felt comfortable and the location was more than I could have ever asked for. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaaaaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

AaaaaK - Thank you so much for contributing your thoughts to Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here! Please let us know about the next time you will be staying with us, we would love to make next time even better then your first time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Jan 2012 in this hotel and were really happy with our choice of hotel. Great location, fantastic room(size and cleaning), fresh and modern hotel, wonderful top roof bar, excellent service and top class staff! 2 weeks later coming back to NYC we were stranded for 2 nights, staying in another hotel that does not even deserve to be mentioned. This brought us back to Gansevoort and your amazing staff, in this case Jose and Sannam?(Zannam?)at the Front Desk. Extremely helpful, kind and professional in spite of being really busy. Very impressive! We will recommend Gansevoort Park to all our friends and colleagues going to NYC from now on... Top Notch!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katarina1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Katarina1962 - We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! First we would like to thank you so much for your loyalty! It has been our personal pleasure to assist you and your guests! As a brand we pride our self on the qualities that you verbalized here. We also love your enthusiasm for the location! Thank you so much for visiting us and sharing your kind words of advice! Please contact us with any information or questions. And thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here back in September for a few days for business. Encountered some paparazzi in front of the hotel, waitng to take pictures of a few celebrities staying at the hotel.

What to know:

Staff - Very professional and helpful. When asked to assist with dinner reservation and acquiring entertainment tickets. The provided quick response and suggestions to allow us fullfill our needs

Rooms - Very spacious and chic. Rooms are comfortable with a modern sexy appeal. Very clean and well maintained. Comes with a very cool trendy colorful couch and large big screen LED TV. Bedsheets are very clean and soft along with the blankets. Bathroom too clean and can not find anything negative to ding them on.

Rooftop Pool/Club - During the day you can go swimming in a very small relaxing pool. But by night the place is converted into an upscale social gathering ground. This is where you can say the cool and trendy people meet and party.

Location - Easy access to all of your key points in NYC. You have a Starbucks accross the street and a cool little market which serves food as well.

"TOP CHIC Hotel" at a key prime location. If given the opportunity to come back to NY, this will be my first hotel to check for availability.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Nvayupak - Thank you so much for your in depth post about The Gansevoort Park Ave and taking the time to share your review as guest feedback is a very valuable to us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! As a brand we pride our self on the qualities that you verbalized here. Thank you again and please stop by soon! We would love to make next time even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Upon arrival there were no bellhops to assist with luggage. Bad start. As I struggled to bring in all my luggage two security/bellhop? individuals were inside and stared at me like I was stupid as I tried to bring in two large cases. I wondered if I had gone to the wrong entrance since I was getting strange looks. One then came over to assist me, but it would have been nice had they been outside. They clearly weren't doing anything but standing around inside. I checked in and the representative was very professional. I had asked for an upgraded room with a view and was in fact upgraded to a room with a view of 29th street. Well done. No one offered to assist in taking my luggage to my room which surprised me.

The room was very clean and modern. After traveling I wanted a hot shower. The shower is large and nice however it is very slippery. I expect a large porcelain bathtub to be slippery, however this was like standing on ice. I almost went down twice. Just be careful. It seems like a lawsuit waiting to happen but that's just an opinion.

I went to the bar on the pool level and the bartenders were very accommodating and went out of their way. Pricey, but a good experience with a great view.

I stayed on the 29th street side and the reviews are correct, if you are a light sleeper you will be up until 4 am when the club slows down. Loud techno music blaring. Maybe try the Park Ave side?

At checkout the receptionist was extremely nice and very helpful. I did have a gentleman help with my bags after checking out.

Very nice hotel, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

PSS11 - First, we are glad you enjoyed the room and rooftop of the hotel however we apologize you were disappointed with your first experience in our hotel. We assure you your comments are not a usual reflection of the service one receives at the Gansevoort Park Avenue as we pride ourselves on and usually deliver impeccable service to all our guests. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and we would love the opportunity to invite you back to provide the service and hotel experience you deserve. Thank you so much for your loyalty! It has been our personal pleasure to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Gansevoort Park and am disappointed to say that it was not the experience i was hoping for. While the amenities of the hotel are great- spacious rooms, comfortable bed and large bathtub-- this was all undermined by the service, which was at times unbelievably rude. I have stayed at many hotels in NYC and around the world but I have never experienced such rude, unfriendly staff. It's unfortunate, because the hotel has the makings to be great, but is sacrificed by the quality of their service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornelia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Cornelia w - Thank you for taking the time to share your review as guest feedback is a very valuable to us as it allows us to address such issues that may need improvement to avoid any future guests experiencing similar concerns. I am glad you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel however I apologize you were disappointed in the overall experience and we failed to meet your expectations. I assure you your comments are not a usual reflection of the service one receives at the Gansevoort Park Avenue as we pride ourselves on and usually deliver impeccable service to all our guests. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and we would love the opportunity to invite you back to provide the service and hotel experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#209 of 468 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#126 of 468 in New York City
3,570 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#166 of 468 in New York City
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#132 of 468 in New York City
3,109 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#173 of 468 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £238 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing