We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royalton Park Avenue
Ranked #91 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Time spent at the Gansevoort Park Avenue couldn't have been better. From the excellent customer service to the accommodations (the food and drink on sight were great). A perfect hotel for an urban environment and in a perfect location for getting around the city. Julia and Clancy were extremely helpful and considerate of our schedule. Will be returning again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear WK59,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to point out those individual employees who contributed to a wonderful visit to our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. If you should need a reservation or help with accommodations upon your next visit please contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortPark.com. We would be delighted to help. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,

@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

Hotel Gansevoort is an excellent resort. The traditional pieces in the modern hotel brings it all together for any group! Friendly staff & valet's, I don't think I could ask for a better atmosphere. There is a very classy rooftop and heated pool, great for the keeping the ambiance going on cooler days. Our sleep was great, perfect mattresses with even better downs. One of our accommodations was the Park Ave Suite, the wrap around balcony & view was simply amazing! I definitely recommend that room. There was one thing worth my mentioning that was not up to par. The room service was not timely in any manner. The guy that fulfilled our request was also not the most polite. I was told this hiccup would be corrected during my next stay. The location is spectacular. We didn't have to call a taxi! Overall, the value is there, I'll be back! -You don't need photos, no disappointments.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BBEhostTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear BBEhostTravel,

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself at our hotel, and on our rooftop. However, we do apologize if the room service was inconsistent in comparison to the service provided throughout the rest of the hotel. Thanks to reviews like yours, we can followup with our hotel partners to ensure the service is up to par before you return to our hotel. Thank you for your patience in this matter. We are delighted you will be back to visit us, and hope it is sooner than later. If you need help making any reservations during your next trip to New York City please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortPark.com. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This hotel is amazing! Samantha, the manager and Michael the concierge can not do enough for you!!!!!!!! There are thousands of hotels in new york and this is the only one we will stay at! you feel like you are going to your friends home, that's how comfortable they make u!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is a hip and trendy hotel that also makes you comfortable and has outstanding service which makes you feel like a celebrity. If you have business or want to be located near all mid-town attractions, this is your hotel. The 28th and Park subway stop is one block away giving easy access to the rest of the city.

I was on the 14th floor with a city view which was susceptible to all of the night time sounds including dance music from the rooftop bar and all of the delivery trucks make the late night rounds. If you are a light sleeper you should may want to request an interior room.

Room Tip: I had a King Deluxe and it was big for New York standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fusedmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Fusedmind,

We love to hear our guests feel like celebrities after staying with us - it signifies service excellence on the part of our team. We do apologize if it was a tad noisy. If you have not notified our team, we would love to add an interior room as your preference to your guest profile - although the views of the city may not be as alluring. We hope you will be staying with us again soon, and look forward to your return. If you would like to make a reservation please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortPark.com. We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Regards,

@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

RJM2013
As I craft this review of my  experience at the Gansevoort Hotel Park Avenue it brings a smile to my face! Upon pulling up at the front door the staff impressed me. The staff received my wife and I by opening our doors along with a very friendly greeting and a convenient valet parking service for the weekend.
Once we entered into the beautiful lobby the front desk staff greeted us with smiles and great service. After check in we heading up to our room which was very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was awesome with an oversized tub along with a fully glass enclosed stand up shower! Again very clean!
For the entire weekend the service from the staff was consistently attentive as well as expedient! As we were staying in the hotel I received a number of calls from friends and family. I continued to tell everyone they need to experience this hotel!!!
Once again' when we were ready to check out they were fully vested in providing great service. We called for our luggage pick up they were in the room promptly. The bellmen ask for my valet ticket as well so my car would be waiting for usl! Now that was a first for me...
I would like to thank Denise DiTusa and her colleagues for an amazing experience!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were very clean as well as comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear R M,

We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your stay from the moment you pulled to our valet until the moment you received your car keys. Thank you for being such a brand advocate and telling your friends and family about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming them to any of our properties in the future. If you need help with any reservations in the future do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortPark.com. We can’t wait to receive you at our valet in the near future.

Thank you for staying with us,

@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This hotel and its unparalleled staff made my latest NYC trip one of the best I've ever had. It offers impeccable rooms, exciting and interesting restaurants as well as a very well done top level bar, and a trendy and inviting decor. The real advantage that this hotel has over any other is a staff that consistently went well above and beyond normal expectations to make every aspect of the trip seamless and fun. Whether it was helping us check in late after we bailed on a set of terrible accommodations we had initially checked into across midtown, literally chasing cabs down into the street to make sure that we didn't miss our show, or even recommending a good late night sandwich they we quite impressive at all times. A particular thanks to our most helpful Concierges and Managers Miguel, Nichole, Michael, and Jose Fernandez.

Room Tip: The loft suites are really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Liam F,

We are always so pleased to read reviews from a guest who experienced nothing but the best. Thank you for taking the time to name each individual that provided you with exceptional service - we enjoy encouraging our staff with positive feedback like your review. We hope you will join us again in the near future. Perhaps you should check out New York City in the summer. It is often a completely different experience. If you need help making a reservation please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortPark.com. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,

@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

From the minute we walked in the door we were treated like VIPs, first by the doorman, then by the very beautiful, friendly, polite and professional Stacey on the front dest, then the gorgeous Danny and then... drum roll.. Abrahm - the best Concierge ever, and we stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world over the years! All of the staff go more than the extra mile. The decor is super cool, trendy yet elegant. The entire hotel is spotlesssly clean and shiny. The heated rooftop pool as the snow flakes were falling was spectacular. The beds are so comfy it was hard to drag ourselves out of them (did I say the room was one we could have lived quite happily in?). Coming back from a fabulous show late Friday evening (thanks to Abrahm's insight, people and know-how skills he recommended something which was perfect for us), our driver pulled up outside the hotel at the front of a long line of beautiful party people queueing up to get in - we didn't realise the rooftop bar was THE place to be on Friday evening in NYC - and the doorman lifted up the barrier for us at the front of the queue, said 'Welcome home ladies' and waved us through... much to my teenage daughter's delight! They really have got the hospitality and customer service skills perfected. This is our new home from home in NYC:) <3 We have yet to visit the Spa, but I saw and heard it was an out of this world experience... can't wait to go back there. Thank you to all of the staff who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: No tips needed for this one - any room you choose will be better than any other hotel you are thinki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Ali B,

We are excited to be designated your new home away from home in New York CIty. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience. Our team members you mentioned will be pleased to hear that one of our guests was so impressed with the service they offer. It is quite unfortunate you did not have the opportunity to explore our spa and yoga studio. Exhale Spa is quite the experience in itself. We insist on your return to the Big Apple as soon as possible. If you need help making a reservation in the future please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortPark.com. We can’t wait to have you and your family back .

Regards,

@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 471 in New York City
1,877 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 471 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#209 of 471 in New York City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#189 of 471 in New York City
1,451 reviews
Midtown
Mondrian Park Avenue
Mondrian Park Avenue
#64 of 471 in New York City
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Park Avenue

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, 29th Street Main Entrance, New York City, NY 10016-8403 (Formerly Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £209 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton Park Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalton Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing