We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable Service - A Must-Stay in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #81 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
“Impeccable Service - A Must-Stay in NYC”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Absolutely loved staying here. Unique decor and great location - definitely captures an authentic NYC experience. Great staff made this stay exceptionally memorable. Max was so personable/pleasant. He helped my family with directions, hailed us cabs, helped with luggage, and made our stay feel more like home with a familiar face to come back to. Christine was also very approachable, friendly, and natural with what she does. She was helpful and likable at all times. They both stood out to me and I will tell anyone who stays at the Gansevoort to let them know. My pet peeve is staff that tries too hard when I can tell they don't want to be talking to me. I felt very comfortable bringing my 2-year-old along as well. The room was a perfect size for a small family of 3 - very modern, hip, overall positive energy. Exactly where I would want to come back to after a day in the city. Bathroom was my favorite. Cool lobby as well! Loved the location, style of the hotel, and overall feel. Easy access to everything you could ever want/need. Don't waste your time staying anywhere else if you're visiting and won't be back for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMtulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear AMtulip,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Christine, Max + the rest of our team will be pleased to know they helped make your stay even more enjoyable. Did you and your family get a chance to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool? The views from up top are magnificent and a great place to spend with your children. We look forward to building new Manhattan memories with you in the future.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    498
    157
    84
    56
See reviews for
366
781
120
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Although my stay was quite a few months ago...I still wanted to share my thoughts on this amazing hotel. Everything was wonderful...the service was great, the room was beautiful, it was so clean, the pool was great, the location was perfect - close to subway. In fact there is not one negative I can share about this hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Rina D,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are blushing with all of your wonderful compliments. Our devoted team will be thrilled to know of your amazing sentiments. We only hope to provide the same level of service or more on your next trip. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A wonderful upscale boutique hotel that offers a variety of inviting and intimate spaces to suit your mood after a hectic day. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The room was upscale & spacious with a large bathroom. The balcony was an added treat! The gym and spa, as well as free WiFi, made this our hotel of choice in NYC.

Room Tip: A high floor away from the elevators reduces street noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twokaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear twokaps,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are honored to be your choice hotel in NYC and hope to consistently surpass your needs on future visits. We're glad you took advantage of our private balcony. It's a favorite feature for many guests. Were you able to indulge in our expansive rooftop views of the cityscape as well? We look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I go to New York a couple of times each year. We have tried numerous hotels and most have been satisfactory. However, our recent stay at the Gansevoort Park Avenue was great. Everything was great from the moment we entered the lobby to our departure. The rooms are big and especially for New York. I simply cannot think of anything that was not exceptional about the hotel. Request for room away from elevators - granted. Maid service and turn-down service great. Safe in room not working - fixed immediately. The Gansevoort may have the best mattress at any hotel. My wife and I slept late each day. There have been criticism about the noise coming from the roof top bar. Our stay was in the winter - so no noise. All in all a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor facing Park Avenue. I assume that mid-level rooms would avoid the noise co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houston1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear houston1949,

Thank you for the exceptional review. We are delighted to have surpassed your expectations on all levels of service. Perhaps on your next stay, you might enjoy our 'Mr.+Mrs. G' package that includes a couples massage, Champagne, roses, monogrammed robes and much more! It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I'm always surprised when cool, hip hotels have great service and friendly people working at them. But that's the case with the Gansevoort Park. Everyone is so happy to help you and always has a smile on his or her face.

Plus the rooms are huge by New York standards! There's actually room to move around, not to mention gorgeous chesterfield couches, magenta curtains and double sinks in the bathrooms (which come fully stocked with Cutler products). The beds are super comfortable and provide a great night's sleep. Wifi is free and super fast. They even have an umbrella in the closet that you can use for free during your stay.

A couple cons about the hotel and stay:
1) You can hear water running from other rooms, whether people are taking showers or just turning on the faucet for a moment. It's pretty loud. No other noise from rooms come through though, which is odd.
2) The minibar is SO EXPENSIVE. A bottle of water is between $4-8! Seriously? Even on the expensive New York streets water usually caps at $2.50.

I've stayed here twice so far and would definitely stay again. I'll just bring my own water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautyChick101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear BeautyChick101,

Thank you for the review. We strive to provide a sociable and warm environment for our guests and are glad you experienced this first-hand. We're also pleased you enjoyed our plush Egyptian bedding as comfort is one of our biggest priorities. We truly value your feedback and are looking into ways to turn your cons into pros. We look forward to your next visit and to exceeding your expectations next time around. For any further questions, please contact Digital@TheGHG.com.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel so much! my latest trip to NYC for 1 day ended with me extending to total of 12days. I love it so much! Everyone is friendly and respectful,rooms are spacious and comfortable,gym is amazing etc...if it wasn't for their staff (Lisa,Leo,Juan,Josh,Michael (manager),Michael at front desk, and Alex security) i would have chosen another location but I didn't because the names of mentioned above treated me so well-I will be coming back again in a matter of weeks. Thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Raquel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Raquel I,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We will be sure to let Lisa, Leo, Juan and the rest of our dedicated team know of your raving sentiments. We are honored that you extended your stay and we look forward to adding new Manhattan memories on your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a perfect hotel to come to in New York without the kids. In fact, I would not bring kids here because it is a bit risque. However, if you leave the kids home you will have an enjoyable stay. The room we had was decent size and even had a balcony on Park Ave. Everything was clean. Food options are great in the area and away from the touristy area of Times Square. Just start Yelping and you will find great eateries.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classicredstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear classicredstate,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're glad you found time for a romantic getaway in the city. Were you able to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool overlooking the brilliant Empire State building? The views from our rooftop is the perfect spot to admire the cityscape with your loved one. Perhaps next time, you'll want to bring your entire family? Did you know we have kid amenities such as the latest Xbox or a list of children activities to try while exploring Manhattan? There is something for everyone here! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing