We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Gansevort Park is treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton Park Avenue
Ranked #92 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just back from a trip and heading back to the Gansevoort Park on Monday morning. I travel to the city a bunch and knowing that I am booked at this property starts the trip on the right foot. When I arrive, the staff is very welcoming and accommodating. The location is great and the hotel is the right combination of cool and functional (bigger rooms for Manhattan, real desk and wireless so you can be productive when you have to). Don't spend all your time working because the rooftop scene is a fun way to end the day if Spring ever makes it to the Northeast. One on my favorite spots in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Scott E,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that your time spent with us is always gratifying. We are glad that our hi-speed internet amenity has met your business needs. We would have to agree with you in that a trip to the rooftop is always worthwhile. We look forward to making your next visit just as good, or even better, than the last.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Steyd in the Gansevoort on Park Ave recently. Great location, pretty cool decor and excellent service. The food in the Italian restaurant - Assellina is superb. Roof top pool and bar are great.
Highly recommend to anyone travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear kevin t,

Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to your next visit. We will pass your kind words along to the rest of our team and to Asellina. Did you grab a bite while on our rooftop? If not, you’ll have to dine above the skyline, while admiring the stunning New York City views on your next trip. Our concierge team can also direct you towards other delicious restaurants and local attractions to create even more Manhattan memories. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Absolutely amazing! We stayed in the Grand Deluxe room, the size was impressive for NYC, bed, desk, couch, coffee table, large bathroom, and a small balcony which was nice. We enjoyed the rooftop pool which is half indoor, half outdoor, the cocktails were delicious, and the Gansevoort Burger that we had delivered poolside was out of this world. The rooftop bar was great and the view was quite nice. The hotel lobby is beautiful, there are pink chandeliers and a nice fireplace. Great location and friendly staff as well. I look forward to staying here again, I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Jennifer G,

Thank you for sharing your remarkable experience. We’re pleased you appreciated our décor and ambiance. It’s the little details that make all the difference and you have a wonderful eye for it! We’re also delighted you took advantage of our rooftop views, premium bar and heated pool. If you like the Gansevoort burger, we suggest you try the grilled chicken sliders next time. Either way, you can never go wrong with enjoying a meal overlooking New York City. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This place was amazing. I really had a good time and really enjoyed the staff. I would tell my friends about this place. Please try this place out if you get a chance to visit New Your Cigy in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Jay B,

Thank you for the stellar review. We are elated you enjoyed your stay and will share your thoughtful comments with the rest of our dedicated team members. Did you get the opportunity to visit our rooftop during your stay? If not, you might like to test the water out in our heated pool overlooking the Empire State building. It’s quite the memorable experience! We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute for 4 nights at the Gansevoort Park Avenue in a superior room. There wasn't anything going on in NYC, and hotel deals abounded, but we opted for the Gamsevoort at rate of $225 which was fabulous (for anywhere in Manhatten!) We were treated like VIP's from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We were given room 602 - a large superior room in this class facing an interior courtyard - so no view but the room was dead quiet. Didn't hear the street noise, nor the rooftop bar - in fact this has to be one of the quietest rooms in the entire hotel. The room was gorgeous - spacious, spotlessly clean and had a large walk in shower and a deep soaking tub. I was in heaven. The nightly turndown service that included ice in the ice bucket was so nice. Towels were also replenished every night in addition to daily housekeeping. The bed and pillows are so comfortable. We really could not ask for anything. A doorman graciously hailed a cab every time we departed and there was always someone to open a door for you or fetch the elevator. The service at the Gansevoort is top notch. We would not hesitate to stay here again and again. This was the most pleasant hotel stay we have ever had.

Also the rooftop bar and pool are very cool.

The only thing this hotel is lacking is coffee in the room, but there is a Starbucks directly opposite, so this isn't really a big deal. One of us just ran down each morning to fetch coffee. My husband had a suit drycleaned and it was promptly picked up and returned. No hassle whatsoever.

Michael at the front desk was particularly amazing. He was so polite and professional and took very good care of us. Early check in was a breeze.

Thank you Michael, staff, and hotel management for proving us with a superb vacation. Your team is amazing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Alicia Z,


Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We are delighted you had a pleasant experience during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the nightly turndown service and hope you had a restful slumber. On your next visit, we will be sure to include a coffee maker based off of your preferences. Our reservations team is always happy to fulfill special requests! Please contact us at Digital@TheGHG.com with any questions or further concerns. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to continually exceed your expectations on future trips.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I came to NYC for my best friend's bachelorette party and experienced an unforgettable weekend at the Gansevoort Park. The location is phenomenal; it is central to getting the most out of a short stay in NYC. The interior decor uniquely blends classic and contemporary styles to create a highly luxurious environment. The staff -- bellmen, front desk, bartenders, etc. -- made us feel taken care and had our best interests in mind. We were impressed by all of the service we received from Max, who helped to manage both group and individual needs during our stay. He was always one step ahead. When we ordered Spanish tapas, Max helped to set our table, brought extra utensils, and made sure we were always properly accommodated without us having to ask. He was very professional yet personable and friendly, helping to leave a positive lasting impression on such a significant occasion. Max and the rest of the staff treated us in a way that made us feel “special.” Finally, the Gansevoort Park Rooftop is unbelievable and definitely something that other hotels cannot offer (i.e., unbeatable view of the Empire State Building, spectacular bar interior, amazing terrace, and beautiful outdoor pool overlooking the Empire State Building). Definitely a MUST SEE! We enjoyed all of our time in the hotel just as much as all of our time out of it. I believe that, combined with employees like Max, is what makes this hotel so noteworthy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTYG712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear KTYG712,

Thank you the amazing review. We are blushing with all of your wonderful compliments. Max and the rest of our attentive team members will be pleased to know they made you feel extra special and well-cared for throughout your stay. We only hope to continually exceed your impeccable standards next time around. It was truly a pleasure having you and the rest of the bachelorette party and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a great hotel. It's our favorite in NY City. Great restaurant, heated outdoor rooftop pool (a favorite of our son), and a great staff. An extra word of gratitude to Alexander who made my son's birthday a memorable one.

Room Tip: Middle floor preferred. It's away from the rooftop bar, club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear John K,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and happy birthday again to your son! We are honored to celebrate such a special occasion and to be your favorite hotel in NYC. We look forward to building upon new Manhattan memories and to continually provide the ultimate level of service for you and your family.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#219 of 473 in New York City
1,890 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 473 in New York City
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Parker New York
Parker New York
#271 of 473 in New York City
5,731 reviews
Manhattan
The Dominick Hotel
The Dominick Hotel
#142 of 473 in New York City
3,193 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#47 of 473 in New York City
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Park Avenue

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, 29th Street Main Entrance, New York City, NY 10016-8403 (Formerly Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £186 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton Park Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalton Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing