We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #89 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“We keep coming back...”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My fiance have stayed at the Gansevoort Park Ave. the past four times we visited NYC and have booked to stay again next month. The hotel is very well decorated, the rooms have been consistently comfortable and tidy and the staff extremely helpful and efficient. Not only did the concierge recommend fantastic restaurants and get us reservations at the last minute, he also sent champagne to our table during one of our dinners which was a very thoughtful and unexpected touch. The location is wonderful - a short walk or cab ride from pretty much everything we wanted to do. I would highly recommend the Gansevoort to anyone looking for a great New York Experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG_0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear RG_0001,

Thank you for sharing your outstanding experience and welcome back. It's always a pleasure having you and we're pleased we continually surpass your expectations. We appreciate your kind remarks and will be sure to share them with our dedicated team. We're thrilled we could arrange several reservations as well as suggestions and we're glad they were all enjoyable. We strive to provide our guests with impeccable customer service and we're glad you loved the complimentary bottle of Champagne at dinner. We are grateful for your invaluable loyalty and we look forward to your stay next month!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,468
    506
    160
    86
    59
See reviews for
381
795
122
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had the opportunity to spend a week at the Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel in NYC in February.

The location was perfect for me as most of my friends and family are easy to get to with the nearby subway and walking distance to Penn Station. Upon entering the lobby, you are met by very whimsical decor, as though you’ve landed in Alice’s wonderland. Overall, it’s quite charming. I was fortunate to check in with Alexander, who was exceptionally professional and courteous and represented the Hotel magnificently.

The rooms are large by NYC standards and mine had a substantial terrace. Unfortunately, it was snow-covered for my entire stay, but would be amazing in better weather. I loathe small bathrooms and this one was better than most with a full bathtub and separate shower.

I would caution, as have many other reviewers, that there is a happening rooftop bar, which is very popular and has a DJ on weekends. As a result, it can be very loud. The hotel attracts a younger crowd because of the rooftop bar and outdoor pool. One evening when getting off the elevator, I thought someone on my floor was having a loud party… turns out it was the rooftop bar in full swing. Although it wasn’t loud in my room and didn’t cause any sleeping problems for me, you may want to request a lower floor if this could be a potential bother.

I am allergic to pets and requested a room that did not allow pets. The hotel readily accommodated me and I had no problem with pet allergies in the room. However, by about the 3rd day of my stay, someone above me was smoking in the room and it was coming through the vents into the bathroom. Initially, I thought someone was smoking out on the balcony and it was wafting in. After closing the bathroom door though, I realized it was isolated to the bathroom alone. As luck would have it, I am allergic to cigarette smoke. I advised the front desk and they offered to move me, but the room available was not of the same caliber as what I was paying for. To my way of thinking, the smoker should have been escorted out of the hotel since the non-smoking laws in NYC are very strict. I contacted the front desk the next day because the problem persisted and was lucky enough to get Alexander on the phone. He responded quickly by sending a note to security while we were on the phone. Security is obviously a bit lax, since the smoking continued a couple more days. I ended up departing the hotel with breathing issues and needed to use my inhalers. This was the most disappointing aspect of my stay.

I’ve stayed at a number of different hotels when returning to visit friends and family in NYC, and this was one of my favorite properties. However, I would never again find it acceptable to allow someone smoking on the premises… after all, it’s against the law.

Room Tip: If the weather permits, I'd strongly recommend a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Jilzy1,

Thank you for the detailed review. We're glad you enjoyed your experience but are deeply saddened that it was disrupted by smoke during your stay. Your safety and health is of our utmost concern and we are investigating the incident to prevent similar situations from recurring for future stays. We're happy Alexander was able to assist in other aspects and we will be sure to inform him of your kind remarks. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location and easy access to public transportation. We're also thrilled you loved our fanciful décor and spacious bathrooms. If you choose to visit again we can ensure your trip will be flawless from check-in to check-out. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Arrived late afternoon and was greeted with a warm welcome in the very nicely furnished lobby.

There was a bottle of champagne with a ice bucket in the room waiting for us which was a nice touch. The room was sleek and large, it was our first time in NY so we probably won't appreciate the size until we try another hotel. The room was a Grand Deluxe facing onto park avenue on the 8th floor, worth the extra money in my opinion. The bathroom was perfect with plenty of room. The bed was very nice too and the TV had a great selection of channels and pay per view.

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the happy hour in the Windsor bar. The roof top bar was also very nice with amazing views, the only disappointment was that the drinks were served in plastic glasses which for me is a massive let down when you consider the price of the drinks. I appreciate that it is a health and safety issue because of the pool, but the pool is a small area compared to the space inside and the balcony areas.

For breakfast there is a starbucks and a Bread and Butter across the road which are ample enough for breakfast.

The location is very convenient, the main hotspots are in walking distance and there is a underground station over the road for uptown and downtown.

Tavern 29 which is a bar literally opposite is well worth a visit before or after a night out, excellent choice of American beers with a great/friendly atmosphere.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider coming back to this hotel after exploring a couple of others first.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Park Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear TobyNicole,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and congratulations on your nuptials! New York City is a remarkable destination to celebrate a special occasion and we're thrilled we could be a part of it. Our team strives to pay close attention to detail and we're pleased you appreciated the complimentary bottle of Champagne upon arrival. We're elated you enjoyed staying in our grand deluxe room and are glad you could wake up to a stunning sight of Park Avenue. Our rooftop views of the Empire State building and gilded New York Life building are quite extraordinary as well. We apologize that you were disappointed with our glasses during your trip to our lounge, but we are thankful you understand the safety of our guests is extremely important. There are a plethora of bars and restaurants in our area and we're happy you found one with outstanding beer choices and a lovely atmosphere. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wevelgem, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here for our 8-day trip to NY and had a very pleasant stay. Room is spacious and bathroom. very well equiped. Parties in the poolbar can be heard in elevators and hallways but our room on the 12th floor was perfectly quiet. The concierge is available for info and bookings which is always easy. We passed our last afternoon by the pool in the sun on top of the building and enjoyed a magnificent view on the Chrysler building. In all I'm pritty confident that we would stay here again on our next trip to NY.

Room Tip: A room not too close to top floors May be a god idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Leen S,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We're thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to your next trip. It's incredible that you had the opportunity to visit New York for eight days and we're honored you chose to spend it with us. The city has a great deal to offer and we're pleased our concierge could provide recommendations and reservations. Although Manhattan is filled with tons of sights and attractions, you made a fantastic choice by ending your trip with a day spent on our rooftop. Our panoramic views of the skyline are stunning and we're happy you had a chance to experience them. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fantastic location with excellent staff and amenities. My Grand Deluxe Room was really beautiful and significantly larger than the average standard for similar rooms in Manhatthan. Front desk and other staff provided an efficient and timely service to all guests. Not to mention the rooftop bars and the amazing time i had there. I will definitely stay there again when i am back to New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Lorenzo A,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience. We're thrilled your entire trip was nothing short of amazing. Our team loved having you and we'll be sure to inform them of your kind remarks. Having a comfortable room is important when being away from home and we're glad you enjoyed our beautiful and ample-sized grand deluxe accommodations. It's wonderful that you had a chance to visit our rooftop bar as well. The views of the Empire State building and New York City skyline are remarkable. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Gansevoort thank you for staying. We enjoyed NY ands your Hotel. Our stay was perfect and the service was great. Your swimming pool is for the kids a party to stay in!

Thank youy very much,

Fam. Hermans

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Armoud H,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad you had such a positive experience and we're thrilled you enjoyed New York. Our team works diligently to exceed a guest’s expectations and we're elated your visit was nothing short of amazing. It's important to have activities for the whole family, and we're glad your kids loved our heated rooftop pool. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the moment we arrived until leaving this hotel exceeded our expectations.
The staff were helpful and polite and the room was just lovely. We were given an upgrade as it was our honeymoon and we had a great view down Park Avenue.
The room was modern spacious and spotless. Very comfortable and had a balcony which was really nice. we were able to leave our luggage with the hotel after checkout as our flight home was late evening so we could enjoy our last day in the city.
Would highly recommend to anyone and the roof top pool is fabulous with a smashing view of Empire State. Just loved it !! They made our last night of our honeymoon so special, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: The nightclub is on the roof top so if noise bothers you then a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Michelle J,

Thank you for the outstanding review and congratulations on your wedding! We're honored you chose to spend such a special occasion with us and we're glad it was absolutely wonderful. We understand how the small things can make a big difference, and we're thrilled we could upgrade you to a room with an expansive view of the New York cityscape. A honeymoon should be nothing less than perfect, and we're pleased we could assist in making yours a memorable one. We're thrilled you had a chance to visit our rooftop pool and were able to take in the beautiful sight of the Empire State building. We wish you all the happiness in the world moving forward in the next chapter of your life and we hope to continue to be a part of your story. We look forward your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 466 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#122 of 466 in New York City
3,520 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#142 of 466 in New York City
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 466 in New York City
2,253 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#125 of 466 in New York City
3,063 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#53 of 466 in New York City
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing