We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #87 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Had another excellent stay at the Another great stay at the Gansevoort Park. As per usual the staff are very good and attentive. The bar staff at the pool bar need to be called out specifically this time. They clearly put up with a lit to say the least. Can't wait to stay there the next time, hopefully this time with the family.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank BlackBell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear BlackBell2014,

Thank you for the delightful review and welcome back! It's always a pleasure having you and we're thrilled you enjoyed your experience. We're glad our dedicated team continues to surpass your expectations and we'll be sure to inform them of your compliments. Thank you for noticing the hard work our bar and lounge crew puts into making each guest's rooftop experience remarkable. In addition to our pool and lounge we have a variety of amenities and attractions that are perfect for family vacations. If you choose to bring everyone along next time, feel free to stop by our concierge for suggestions and recommendations in the area. Whether you come alone or with company, we look forward to you next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
There are newer reviews for Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have stayed here multiple times. time and time again, the service just gets better and better. From the time you check in, the front desk staff makes sure that your every need is taken care of. Always a delight when Alexander is there. Always attentive and asks if there is anything he can do to make your stay that much better. As for the amenities they are very good. A roof top bar, to the restaurant Asellina...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swetal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Swetal71,

Thank you for the exceptional review and we wish you a warm welcome back. We appreciate your invaluable loyalty and hope to continually exceed your expectations. We will be sure to relay your kind remarks to Alexander and the rest of our dedicated team, as we know they look forward to having you again soon. Our rooftop bar is the perfect place to enjoy a drink and take in the stunning, expansive views of the cityscape. Additionally, we're glad you enjoyed Asellina’s modern take on traditional Italian cuisine. It's quite convenient to be able to take a quick elevator ride downstairs and immediately be at your dining destination. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night break at the Gansevoort and have nothing but praise for this hotel. From the moment we checked in until departure the staff really looked after us and the level of customer service is far superior to anything we get in the UK. Our hotel room on the 12th floor was of a good size by NYC standards with a spacious bathroom and everything we needed. As the weather was great we managed to spend time by the pool which is a small but added bonus and we made good use of the gym. The rooftop bar was a lovely place for a few drinks although it did look pretty rowdy at the weekend. The real plus of this hotel is the location as you are within walking (or running) distance of Central Park and the great bars and restaurants around Greenwich Village and Chelsea. Do check out Bread and Butter across the road for fresh juices and breakfast options.

Room Tip: My sister and her husband stayed on floor 17 and were disappointed with the size, maybe a higher flo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Pigeony,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It's always nice to take a rest from a busy schedule and we're thrilled we were able to help make that happen. Our attentive team strives to provide our guests with impeccable service and we're glad you felt well taken care of. We'd have to agree, our pool is an ideal urban oasis where you can lounge and relax while taking in the stunning expansive views of the cityscape. We're happy you had the opportunity to experience our rooftop as well as many of the other attractions in our area. It was a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

....at every turn. From the time we arrived, the staff at the Gansevoort Park Ave went out of their way to not only make my wife and I feel welcome, but special. Recognizing it was a special occasion for my wife and I, Julia and Michael put in the extra effort to move other reservations around to get us in early, and offer us a suite as an added bonus. I felt appreciated as a guest and as a consumer. The room was spacious and clean; modern yet comfortable. all staff members we encountered were pleasant and helpful. The Gansevoort Park Ave had earned my future business without question.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Fishala,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We're honored you and your wife chose to spend a special occasion with us and we're glad it surpassed your expectations. Julia, Michael and the rest of our devoted team will be pleased to hear of your kind remarks. It's the little things in life that can make a big difference and we're thrilled you appreciated the room upgrade. We value all our customers and it's wonderful to know you felt appreciated throughout your stay. It was such a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed at the Gansevoort a few times and love it there. The Gansevoort is clean, staff is friendly, and the room is spacious. There are so many amenitities offered to enhance your stay including the spa and salon, rooftop pool and lounge, a gym, and yoga/barre classes. The bed was very comfortable as well. We will come again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear travelerc17,

Thank your for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you and we're glad you always have an outstanding experience. We're thrilled you found our rooms to be ample-sized as well as comfortable and our team will be happy to hear of your kind remarks. We offer a variety of amenities to ensure our guests have everything they could ever want or need and we're thrilled you were able to enjoy so many of them. Although New York City has a plethora of activities, it's nice to have the opportunity to indulge in a massage or lounge on our rooftop without having to leave the vicinity. We look forward to having you again soon!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

You normally would not use the words trendy and friendly in the same sentence but somehow the Gansevoort Park Avenue manages to be just that. Our room was spacious with a huge bathroom which is an oddity in some of the best hotels in NY. The staff was very warm and welcoming and the concierge was especially helpful guiding us to excellent restaurants in the area. A real plus is the rooftop bar and pool which is a convivial spot for people watching as well as a spectacular poolside view of the Empire State Building. The Gansevoort Park Avenue is centrally located and walking distance from uptown and downtown sights. This hotel would definitely be my first choice the next time I visit New York CIty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a few floors down from the bar/nightclub as it could get loud on a Saturday night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junetalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear junetalks,

Thank you for sharing your remarkable experience. We're thrilled you had such an outstanding time and we appreciate your compliments. Our team aims to provide exceptional service and we're glad you felt taken care of. We find that it's always a great feeling to come back to a comfortable room and spacious bathroom after a long day and we're happy you agree. We're pleased our concierge was able to assist in providing restaurant suggestions in our area and we're elated you enjoyed all of the delicious cuisines. Most importantly, we're honored to be your first choice in New York City and we look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Gasenvoort Park Hotel for a full week and it was a great experience. The rooms were very clean and spacious in comparison to other equivalent hotels in mid-town Manhattan. The rooftop swimming pool was an added bonus! We had an amazing stay overall, also thanks to the hotel staff, who were very kind to us.
Helena Tejedor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Helena T,

Thank you for the brilliant review. It's wonderful you had the opportunity to visit New York City for a full week and we're honored you chose to spend it with us. It's important to feel comfortable when traveling for such a long period of time and we're glad you were fond of our clean and ample-sized rooms. We're elated you had such an amazing experience and we'd love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 468 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#145 of 468 in New York City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#130 of 468 in New York City
3,109 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#179 of 468 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £237 - £558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing