We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but no respect...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #87 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful and big room. Clean. Pool small but nice to have when very hot

- Not allowed to get into the club although when I called reception before the booking I have been told that we have access to the pool bar and the club without queuing!! For the pool bar ok for the club the awful attitude of the guy was choking for such hotel.
- Lunch on Sunday was awful poor service ordered egg Benedict without bacon it came with bacon I sent it back. 2 minutes later they served me the same plate they just removed the bacon!! I am vegetarian how disrespectful this attitude is!! I could have sued them as the waiter confessed that they just removed the bacon and took back the plate. They did not propose to offer the meal. Will never go back there !! this is not what you expect when you stay at the Gansevoort. Very disappointed and choked by the bacon episode...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chacha760202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Chacha760202,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We deeply regret your visit was not up to par and we apologize for the misunderstanding. You should have been granted access to our rooftop bar + lounge and we have followed up with our team to further investigate the incident. Additionally, we appreciate your feedback regarding your lunch and apologize for the miscommunication. We understand and respect your food restrictions and we'd never intentinally serve a guest something they are unable to eat. We will be sure to reiterate to Asellina’s management team the importance of asking guests if they have any food allergies or restrictions to avoid a similar situation in the future. We'd love a second chance to prove our dedication in making your visit nothing short of amazing. Please feel free to contact us at Digital@TheGHG.com for any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

my friend and I stayed here for a girl's weekend. When i checked in, the girl at the desk said 'your room is not ready. your friend tried to check in also. she left her credit card on file. is that the one i should use when to charge your room to?' I said fine. i found my friend and we wanted to leave our bags and have lunch while waiting for the room. the guy at the front desk said our room IS ready, and didn't show any CC on file. so not sure what the girl was talking about. The room was nice. Terrible lighting. and only one mirror, which was in the bathroom. Def needed another one. No outlets near the bed to keep my phone charged in. 2 outlets on the desk but both were used by lamp and phone. terribly scratchy towels. We went to the rooftop bar for an early cocktail. the cushions were all wet when we sat on them. ordered the drink the waitress recommended. $15 and no alcohol at all. Total rip off. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: we were told we would have a good view on the 17th floor our room was 1714. we faced another build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a2ndcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear a2ndcc,

Thank you for the detailed review. We deeply regret you didn't completely enjoy your experience and we apologize for the miscommunication at check-in. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to inform our team of your experience to prevent similar situations occurring in the future. Additionally, we apologize you were unhappy with the lighting and lack of mirrors in your room. We're always happy to accommodate special preferences, such as additional lamps or extra outlets upon request. Unfortunately, our outdoor rooftop furniture does get wet when it rains and we apologize our team didn't notify you prior to sitting down. It is important to us that your visit is nothing short of flawless and we are confident that we can accomplish this if you choose to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I just returned from my first visit to the Gansevoort Park Avenue. In typical New York fashion it was extremely difficult to valet park our car. Taxis and buses were beeping impatiently so the gentleman from the hotel kindly suggested us parking ourselves in the facility directly across the street saving us the aggravation of circling around a few blocks of bumper to bumper traffic. When we entered the hotel we were blown away with the amazing modern decor but what stood out the most was the friendly handsome faces greeting us at the desk. The valet gentleman immediately apologized for the parking frenzy and handed us each a complimentary cocktail card to be redeemed at the trendy roof top pool. The knowledgeable concierge was very helpful in helping us choose our dinner spot and Alexander at the front desk was most accommodating with our luggage and shopping bags storing them for us while we had dinner after already checking out of the hotel. We had a great visit and will be returning again in September and will surely be making this our New York home away from home from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etsplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear etsplash,

Thank you the brilliant review. We're honored to be your home-away-from-home in New York and we're thrilled you had a wonderful trip from check-in to check-out. It can be difficult to find parking in the city but we're glad our team offered an alternative solution. We're happy you put the complimentary drink cards to use because indulging in a cocktail above the cityscape can make it easy to forget about a frustrating experience. Our team is always happy to assist with any special requests and we're glad our concierge was able to provide dinner recommendations. We look forward to creating many more Manhattan memories with you in September.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

5 star hotel, 5 star treatment. All the staff were incredibly helpful and willing to go that extra length to ensure we had everything we needed.
Rooms were incredibly spacious ,decorated with good taste with super sized tubs installed in the bathroom.
Didn't get chance to go in the rooftop pool but the views of the manhattan skyline we're awesome. Perfect to kick back with a cocktail and take it all in

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jermaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Jermaine R,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience. We're pleased you enjoyed our ample-sized bedrooms, chic décor and enormous tubs. It's unfortunate you didn't have a chance to visit our rooftop, but we're glad you still enjoyed the panoramic views. We'd love to have you again for a cocktail above the skyline.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here after our wedding and couldn't have been happier! Unlike their other location across town, this hotel was actually a little more relaxing and quiet without being overly stuffy or boring. The rooftop pool was great as we're the food and drinks served there. Highly recommended if you're planning a trip to NYC!

Room Tip: The balconies are kind of small and chintzy so don't base your decision on them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Marco G,

Thank you for the brilliant review and congratulations on your wedding. We're elated you had a fantastic experience and found our location to be a perfect fit for the occasion. We offer an abundance of features that appeal to a broad range of guests which include both lively activities as well as relaxing ones. Spending your day lounging by our rooftop pool is always a great option and we're glad you enjoyed doing so. We appreciate your recommendation and would love to have you during your next trip to New York City.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've stayed at the Gansevoort Park many times and I'm shocked that again, they surpassed my expectations. The staff was very helpful and made everything super convenient for me. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Janelson,

Thank you for the fantastic review. It’s always a pleasure having you and we’re thrilled we continuously exceed your expectations. It’s always sad to see you go, but we look forward to your return. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the superior room , loft suite and gansevoort suite so it was a good opportunity to compare . The gansevoort suite is of course gorgeous , there are two bathrooms , large living room / dining room with seating for 6. Ensuite has a deep bathtub . The loft suite was the worst,the bed was a double and the TV in the bedroom mounted on the side wall so it was not easy to watch, there was only one bathroom in the main bedroom so although it is marketed as being suitable for 3 adults be aware it only has a bAthroom inside the main bedroom, there is also no bathtub as advertised , the loft had about 5 closets which was strange as the bedroom and living room were really small . If some of the closet space was used for the room it would have been more comfortable . The superior room was beautiful much better than the loft suite , big king size bed and big beautiful bathroom . The location of the hotel is good for someone who liked a quiet neighbourhood . But there's nothing around the area . Next time I would stay around soho which has all the shopping and restaurants .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yebziSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear yebziSydney,

Thank you for the thorough review. We’re glad you enjoyed staying in our Gansevoort suite but deeply regret your experience in our other rooms was not up to par. We have various different room styles to accommodate all of our guests’ preferences and we apologize they didn't all suit your needs. Our reservations team will happily work with each guest to provide them with the amenities and features that work best for them. Also, our concierge is always available to provide extensive restaurant, shopping and entertainment suggestions in the area. Additionally, we do have a sister location in the Meatpacking District that is near the art galleries of Chelsea, boutique shopping in Soho and boundless nightlife right outside our door. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com with any further questions or concerns. We hope to have you again soon at any of our locations.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#212 of 469 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 469 in New York City
3,594 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 469 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#146 of 469 in New York City
209 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £231 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing