We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton Park Avenue
Ranked #91 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights.
Pros:
-good location: fancy: clean: convenient

Cons:
Rooms r not sound proof with the noise from next rooms, toilets and lounge.
Swimming pool always full.

But in general, I would stay here again. Much better than 5 stars I've tried

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbehbehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear dbehbehani,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip, but we sincerely regret you were inconvenienced by noise. Our reservations department will gladly accommodate special requests and next time, they will happily provide a room that meets all of your preferences. We're happy you plan to stay with us again and we look forward to providing a flawless visit. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed over 4th of July weekend. Great party Friday evening . Outside rooftop seating made the perfect evening. Dinner at Asellina Restaurant was great. Next day spent afternoon at Rooftop Pool. Drinks and light menu was great. Clean rooms and stocked with all amenities. Nightly turndown and restock nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul081757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Paul081757,

Thank you for the great review. We're glad you could join us for a wonderful holiday weekend and we're thrilled you had a fantastic time. Spending July Fourth on our rooftop overlooking the NYC skyline is an ideal way to celebrate a festivity and we're delighted you were a part of it. Additionally, we're glad you enjoyed Asellina's modern twist on traditional Italian cuisine. It was a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I wanted to spend a night in the city as a quick little "baby-moon" getaway. The hotel and service were amazing! Alexander was the guest service agent that helped us for our stay and treated us to an upgraded room for the night. He was extremely helpful in making our time at the Gansevoort absolutely perfect and we appreciate his help. We had an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Alana T,

Thank you for the fantastic review and congratulations on your newborn! We're thrilled you chose to spend your quick getaway with us and we're glad you had a wonderful experience. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to Alexander and the rest of our dedicated team. It was truly a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had this over sized box I didn't want to take in the car on the way to the Hampton's ,the staff were kind enough to store it till we check in two days later . I knew at that first interaction we had made a great choice in booking this hotel .the staff are professional & welcoming . The room was huge! I wasn't fond of the metal frame canopy around the bed. I kept hitting my shin on it . The aircon vent blew right at our faces which was also a bummer.
The pool was a circus so we didn't use it. There seem to be a lot of people who weren't guest in it. Lots of spilled drinks in the elevator .i felt a points I was in New Orleans ( very much a party hotel) yet our room was very quite . Maybe were too old for this type of hotel ? I still would recommend it to others

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear foodie_on_the_run,

Thank you for the detailed review. It was wonderful having you and we're glad our team could accommodate your special requests. We strive to provide high quality service and we're thrilled you found us to be efficient as well as approachable. On another note, our air conditioner's temperature can easily be adjusted, but we apologize its placement inconvenienced you. If you choose to stay with us again, our reservations department will happily offer a room that better suits your needs. Additionally, we deeply regret that our rooftop's lively ambiance did not meet your expectations. We'd love another opportunity to provide a seamless trip and we hope to have you again soon. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

When my wife and I arrived at Gansevoort Park, we knew instantly why we chose to stay here. Bellman were courteous and the lobby was impecable. It appeared upscale but also inviting. After getting checked in, room service took a little while but overall the food was good. When we first got to our room, the perfume smell was actually a bit strong for my wife. We went down to the front desk to ask about switching rooms, and both Adam and Alexander were extremely helpful. They were more than happy to assist us with finding an alternative room, and genuinely made us feel at home. We were blown away by the level of customer service that we received. Plus the new room they moved us to itself was a great size. Overall, our stay was fantastic and we will definitely return to Gansevoort Park Ave!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Christopher S,

Thank you for the phenomenal review. We're pleased you had a wonderful experience and we're delighted that you plan on returning. Your preferences are important to us and we're glad we could accommodate your needs. Adam, Alexander and the rest of our attentive team will be thrilled to hear of your compliments as we know they look forward to your next visit. It's important to feel well-taken care of when traveling and we're glad your stay felt like home. We can't wait to have you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the image of the young and fabulous flocking to the brand, but it is not as intimidating as one should think. The hotel has great service indeed, with a terrific pool (why I choose the hotel in the first place, but it becomes a very popular rooftop club open to public after daytime hours - consider yourself warned if not the clubbing type). The room service is typical NY hotel - pricey but good. There are some pretty good restaurants in the area- Les Halles across the street offers a great salmon omelette! All in all it accommodated our needs for a brief stay in the city!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear MsPitts,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you and we're elated your experience exceeded your expectations. We strive to provide fantastic service and we're thrilled we were able to accommodate all of your needs. We're also glad you enjoyed our pool as it's quite unique to take a swim above the NYC skyline. Our rooftop can become lively, but we're happy it didn't stop you from having an incredible trip. It's great that you had a chance to explore the dining options in our area and we're glad you enjoyed them. We hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Only on rare occasions do people experience exemplary customer service during their hotel stay. The staff at the Park Avenue Gansevoort, namely Michael Schneider and Alexander Charif, understand what it means to create a memorable experience for their guests. When my husband and I booked a night to dually celebrate our anniversary and his birthday, we knew that the accommodations at the Park Avenue Gansevoort would be outstanding, and we also love that the hotel is in close proximity to several of our favorite restaurants and shops, but the staff far surpassed our expectations at every level of interaction. We loved our experience so much that we booked an additional two nights the following morning so that we could bring our 7 and 1 year-olds for a special weekend in the city.

Room Tip: Park Avenue corner suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drago N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Drago N,

Thank you for the phenomenal review. We're sending our well wishes and we're elated you chose to celebrate two special occasions with us. We're thrilled you had a wonderful experience and we're glad you found us to be incredibly helpful. We will be sure to relay your thoughtful comments to Michael, Alexander and the rest of our team. It was a great decision to extend your stay with the rest of your family and we're elated that it was a successful weekend. We hope to have you for many more exceptional trips to come.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 471 in New York City
1,877 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 471 in New York City
3,676 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#207 of 471 in New York City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#194 of 471 in New York City
1,451 reviews
Midtown
Mondrian Park Avenue
Mondrian Park Avenue
#67 of 471 in New York City
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Park Avenue

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, 29th Street Main Entrance, New York City, NY 10016-8403 (Formerly Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £206 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton Park Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalton Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing