We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYCATION- POOL AND STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #81 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STAYCATION- POOL AND STAFF”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I renovated our bathroom, we live in the East Vill. A one week reno turned into a month. We stayed at the Gansevoort Park Ave. We stayed for apprx 2 weeks through out the month. Our experience each time was wonderful.

The roof top pool is fabulous- Effie - was our server. She always made sure we were OK and was on point. She was one of the best servers I have ever had at a trendy hotel.

The Front Desk- Alexander, Michael Ruggiero and Julia took care of us..... so responsive, so friendly and good at their jobs.

Reservations-JULIE - THANK YOUUUUUUU

GREAT HOTEL,
FABULOUS STAFF
FAMILY FRIENDLY
CLEAN
LOVE IT!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the larger Terrace is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Kara Q,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're thrilled we could be your home-away-from-home and we're glad you had an excellent experience. We loved having you and we'll be sure to relay your kind remarks to Effie, Alexander, Michael, Julia and the rest of our dedicated team. Lounging poolside on our rooftop is always a relaxing way to spend the day and we're glad you enjoyed it. We can't wait for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    498
    157
    84
    56
See reviews for
366
781
120
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited the hotel on 01 July for six days in NYC as part of a Silver wedding celebration visiting NYC, Savannah, NORA and San Fran. It is a very cool and stylish hotel. Receptionists mostly helpful and door people were really nice and helpful. When I booked the hotel was told it was a special anniversary but no mention or fuss of it was made so that was a bit disappointing as every other hotel we stayed at made a fuss which was nice. I thought it was room only but then we were given vouchers for breakfast which was fruit with granola and yoghurt served with toast and coffee which was lovely, good start to the day. We had a king room on the 4th floor which didn't have a view but was tastefully furnished and quite a big room in comparison with others in NYC. There was no noise from the rooftop bar which can be full of really young people dressed to kill and lift was always queued up for this. We did visit it once, wasn't really the weather for sitting outside but inside was nice as well. The room was kept spotless and ice was offered on a nightly basis. The hotel is well situated in the heart of Manhattan, close to ESB, Bryant Park, Rockefeller Centre, you must visit these and of course go up to Top of The Rock, fantastic views and not as busy as ESB where we went on 04 July evening, it was totally manic, very busy and very windy. Lit up in patriotic colours very nice. Visited Keens steakhouse near MSG and the place was lovely and waiter very attentive and knowledgeable. Went to Billy Joel concert after dinner in MSG gr8 nite. Nearest stop for hop on hop off bus is at ESB as well. We did use it but weather was quite rainy and lots of thunderstorms as had a bit of remainder of a hurricane. Concierge was very good with suggestions for dinner but watch you don't get ripped off as very affluent clientele, went to Ben and Jack's steakhouse which was just round the corner but were charged $40 for tip which was a bit much, food was good but not that good especially after eating at Keens steakhouse previously. Ate in Assellini restaurant next door, Caroline the maître de was lovely and realised it was our silver wedding and gave us a bigger table, a complimentary starter and some fizz. The waiter was lovely also and pasta was superb and pizza also delicious, fab first nite it was. All in all a good stay, we always like to stay at nice hotels but this was just a bit pretentious for us. Loved our time in NYC.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mags2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear mags2912,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're sending our well wishes and we're glad you enjoyed your NYC experience. Every guest should be made to feel special, especially during a momentous occasion, and we deeply regret that you did feel this was expressed by our team upon arrival. We will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of our team to ensure all stays are handled appropriately. On another note, we're happy you had a wonderful meal at Asellina and we're elated you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. It's great you had the opportunity to visit a plethora of New York's well-known attractions and we're delighted you enjoyed them all. We would love another chance to prove our commitment and to provide an impeccable stay. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns. We hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a Park Ave one bedroom suite as a special treat for a two day getaway. The suite was large with two balconies overlooking Park Ave and E 29th street. The king sized bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping does an excellent job as the room was spotless. The hotel is in a very convenient location. We like to walk and were able to walk to the Metropolitan Museum and Central Park (about 3 miles away), Rockefellar center and Times Square ( approx 1 - 1.5 miles), and shopping very close by. The Empire State building is about a 5 minute walk. There is a subway stop for the 6 train right across the street and plenty of taxis. The only negative was the street noise late at night/early morning but I guess that's to be expected in the city. Some foam earplugs from Walgreens helped me. Perhaps a room on a higher floor would be quieter. We didn't have time to investigate the pool.

There is a $60 night charge to valet park the car. Pull in front of the E 29th St entrance to do this, not the Park Ave entrance. For a quick and tasty bagel, try Bagels and Schmear at 116 E 28th St,, right down the street from McDonalds. They have a few counter seats but are mainly takeout. There is a Starbucks right across from the E 29th St entrance to the hotel.

Overall, we had a wonderful time in NYC and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogsinthecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear frogsinthecreek,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We're pleased you could join us for a quick trip and we're thrilled your experience was wonderful. Waking up to a balcony view of Park Avenue is truly an ideal way to start a day and we're glad you loved your suite. We're also elated you enjoyed our comfortable beds and convenient location. The city offers a variety of attractions and we're happy you had a chance to visit so many of them. In regards to the city noise, we apologize that it disrupted your slumber. We offer special earplugs for those that wish to block out all sounds as we know a good night’s sleep is of the utmost importance. Our reservations team will be happy to accommodate your preferences by providing a room on a higher floor or away from the busy streets. It was a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Husband and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary, we live in NYC, so just wanted a special, short, sweet stay-cation somewhere nice, so stayed at the Gansevoort Park, which has become our annual tradition. Lovely room, really lovely pool, lovely room service. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room with a very large terrace, and a complimentary bottle of chilled wine was waiting in our room when we arrived. Front desk and room service and engineering staff were great, and it made for a really nice, and romantic visit. We had one issue, HBO wasn't coming in, so called the front desk and they had someone helpful up to assist immediately. (Yes, I know, who is worried about TV on a special (romantic) occasion when you have all of NYC available to you, but it was the True Blood season premiere!!!). They were not able to fix it, but they really, really tried, and comped us movies to cover. You can tell good service by how a place responds to issues, and they responded quickly, and made it up to us. Kudos!
The only thing I would like changed about this property is that I wish the pool was open late (closes at 7) so we could see the Empire State Building lit up while swimming, but it turns into a club at night.
I have stayed at their sister property downtown, but really prefer this location, IMO it's classier and I have been treated better at the Park (although I prefer the downtown location). Downtown seems like they are trying to be a scene, and there is more 'attitude'. In my early 20s, my opinion may have been different. Uptown is also newer, so furniture and fixtures are in better shape.
We will definitely be back next year, and hopefully sooner, just as soon as I can come up with an excuse!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxxxooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear xxxxxooooo,

Thank you for the wonderful review and happy anniversary! It's always a pleasure having you and we're honored you chose to spend such a special occasion with us. A significant celebration
deserves nothing but the best and we're thrilled you were happy with your room upgrade. On another note, we apologize we weren't able to fix the HBO channel, but we're glad you were satisfied with the complimentary movies. We strive to provide the highest caliber of service and we're pleased you felt well-taken care of by our engineering department as well as the rest of our team. Additionally, we appreciate your feedback regarding our sister property, Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC. We are grateful for your invaluable loyalty and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton England
Level Contributor
278 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

A hotel that in parts is trendy, and stylish, but at times crosses the divide into tacky. Like hosting the "naked dating"launch party in the bar....or the bar staffs dressed in those just a bit too tight /too short dresses.....it's good, but sometimes tacky.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Waldea,

Thank you for the review. We value all of our guests' opinions and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband made a one night reservation because he had an early business meeting the following morning near the hotel. The room we were given was very nice and clean but we wanted to see if we could purchase the next category because I wanted a verandah. We went to the front desk and spoke to Michael S. & Christina. They were very nice and searched their system and found a room that accommodated our requests. During our stay, we loved the rooftop pool and enjoyed our poolside service drinks. After that, we took a long walk around the city and came back to eat at the restaurant at the hotel, which we also enjoyed. My husband also used the gym the next morning and said it was good. The hotel’s checkout policy is 12:00pm. Although my husband was on his way back to the hotel to get me, I was concerned that I would get stuck waiting in the lobby for him if he was delayed. I went to the front desk again and asked if I could stay longer due to the situation and they extended me the extra minutes at no charge. At that point I asked the very nice guy who was helping me, Alexandel , to write down his name, Christina’s and Michael S.’s names so I can make this review. I know my husband and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear April B,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We loved having you and we're pleased your experience was nothing short of amazing. We are always happy to accommodate special requests and we're elated we could upgrade your room. We don't blame you, being able to see the beautiful cityscape from your bedroom can make any moment memorable. We understand how busy New York City can be and we're thrilled we were able to extend your check-out time. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to our dedicated team. We are looking forward to your return. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a great stay at Gansevoort - was recommended by a colleague as I travel to NYC every month for a week on business, and it's near my office there.

I've been to over 10 different NYC hotels in the past year, and now I won't be staying anywhere else.

The front desk (Juan) was super tolerant of my late check in and the room was immaculate, comfortable and quiet which is very important given I usually have a pretty intense week of meetings when I'm over and need to get as much sleep as possible! It also had a deep tub and an excellent separate shower which is rare for NYC hotels.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csfulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear csfulham,

Thank you for the rave review. We're elated you chose to give us a try and we're thrilled to be your new go-to NYC hotel. We understand the importance of a good night's rest and we're glad you found your room to be quiet as well as comfortable. We're happy you enjoyed our ample-sized bath tubs and we hope it was relaxing after a long day. Whether it be for business or pleasure, we're looking forward to having you again. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing