We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #81 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I ended up booking a Park Ave suite, via Jetsetter. I did read some horror stories from users who had issues with checking in, the rooftop, etc, but I didn't have any of them. Check-in was a breeze thanks to a welcoming front desk staff, we felt secure thanks to security by the elevator and had an incredibly awesome room! Couldn't have asked for anymore.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desifromjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear desifromjc,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience. It was wonderful having you and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived. We're glad you found our service to be flawless and we'll be sure to inform the rest of our dedicated team of your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    498
    157
    84
    56
See reviews for
366
781
120
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Positives:

Room - ridiculously huge comfy bed, large powerful shower, all the facilities you could want.
Neat rooftop swimming pool with views of the Empire State, shame we didn't get to use it!
Great location right near the metro and midway between all the usual tourist spots. Easy to get cabs from outside too. Several good restaurants and local breakfast spots nearby.
The staff - the concierge Shaun was amazing, got us into a load of great restaurants, bars and clubs with little notice and always with a free drink or dessert. He was super helpful every time we asked for advice, I wish he could organise my whole life! The staff in general were super helpful and friendly, the bell boys especially.

Negatives:

A few small things in the room could be improved - there was no fan in the bathroom.
There was no mirror in the bedroom other than in the bathroom, not ideal when you have a group of girls all showering and getting ready at the same time!
The blinds didn't block out all the light, which I wouldn't usually mind, but the gap at the edge sent light directly to the pillow end of the bed, so I needed to use an eye mask.
The extortionate price of drinks and snacks both in the room and at the rooftop bar. No tea and coffee in the room, and $8 for a bottle of water! Thank goodness we were in a country where we could drink the tap water...

Room Tip: You can hear the music from the rooftop pool in the communal areas on the higher floors, but not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ic060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear ic060,

Thank you for the delightful review. We're pleased you had a wonderful trip and we're glad you felt well-taken care of. It's great you enjoyed our concierge's dinner and nightlife recommendations. There are a plethora of decadent restaurants in our area and having a knowledgable helping hand is always beneficial. On another note, we apologize you were disappointed with our lack of mirrors and bathroom fans. Next time, we will happily accommodate any special room preferences upon request. We'd love another chance to prove or dedication and provide a seamless experience. We hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had my Birthday hotel stay weekend at the Gansevoort Park Avenue location and I loved it! I also stayed at this hotel other MeatPacking location in May and the staff is just as wonderful. The Gansevoort Park Avenue location staff is very welcoming and accomodating. The rooftop pool is awesome with a great view of the Empire State Building! It does get crowded at the pool for the lounge chairs but if you go early in the morning and block a chair, and come back to the chair, it works out. The bartenders are nice and makes great drinks! The room that was booked was trendy with a great color scheme and the bathroom was awesome and clean. I had a blast at my stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Janelle R,

Thank you for the stellar review and happy birthday! We're thrilled your recent stay was just as great as past visits and we're glad the celebrations were a success. We're happy you had a chance to lounge above the skyline and take in our expansive rooftop views. You made a great choice by spending your day indulging in well-made cocktails while basking in the sun. We're pleased your experience was seamless from check-in to check-out and we look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I will only stay in this Hotel now, rooms are large, staff are great and the new bar menu works. Thank you Micheal, Liugi, Andrew, Tara and all the others. My wife, daughter and son have now stayed and live it as well. Great location for them to explore NY from as everything is really close.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Big E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Big E,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're wishing you a warm welcome back and we're thrilled your family had a fantastic experience. We're pleased you loved our ample-sized rooms and our delicious cocktail selection. Nothing says "vacation" like sipping a tasty drink above the skyline. We appreciate your kind comments and we'll be sure to share them with Michael, Luigi, Andrew, Tara and the rest of our dedicated team. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gansevoort hotel this past Saturday. The stay was amazing. Not only was the room, pool and entire facility elegant, but the staff was even more impressive. From Luigi and Leonardo welcoming us to the hotel, to Suzanne and Chastity Cruz who helped us with all of the amenities. The rooftop bar was definitely fun on Saturday night and the hotel gym was clean and great for a quick work out on Sunday. We got to walk around the neighborhood and went to two tasty restaurants within blocks of the hotel. We had a great stay and we are planning our return already!!

T. G. Brown

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear TGBr0wn,

Thank you for the great review. We're elated your stay was incredible and we're excited you're already planning your next trip! We'll be sure to inform Suzanne, Chastity and the rest of our committed team of your kind remarks, as we know they look forward to having you again. We're thrilled you had a chance to explore our area and we're happy you enjoyed your dining experiences. We're looking forward to creating more Manhattan memories upon your next stay.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a native New Yorker, I choose Gansevoort Park Avenue for all my staycations. Immediately upon arrival you feel the hospitality of the great staff. The atmosphere and service is unprecedented in NYC. Recently, I celebrated my birthday at the Gansevoort as the rooftop lounge/ pool is a favorite destination of mine. The reservations staff went above and beyond to accommodate my requests for early check-in to ensure a timely arrival at my birthday brunch. The staff also arranged for champagne to be waiting in my room, which was the perfect personal touch having told them I was celebrating my birthday.

Cleanliness is of paramount importance when traveling for me and the rooms at the Gansevoort do not disappoint. I’ve stayed in a range of their rooms from the Superior to the Park Avenue Suite (graduation – thought I should celebrate ☺) and all have exceeded my expectations. The aesthetic of the rooms is contemporary, neat & did I mention very clean? -- Just an overall great place to be. While I find the hotel generally attracts a younger crowd for the “party scene” the hotel is always well maintained and the hallways and rooms are extremely quiet and perfect for family stays, romantic getaways and celebrations.

The views from the Gansevoort Park Rooftop showcase the New York City skyline in a unique way by coupling the views with a great ambiance from the bar, pool and lounge.

Kathryn and Julia provided me with service that felt more like a friend than staff at a hotel. They both were so personable and willing to make suggestions and recommendations to optimize my stay. During my last stay in June, I realized I had forgotten my toothbrush and within minutes of calling down to concierge I had a toothbrush kit including toothpaste at my door—beyond convenient!

The Gansevoort Park Ave is one stop shopping – amazing nightlife, amazing food, amazing service and amazing rooms. The rooftop pool/bar is a wonderful place to relax all day & the Red Room is always serving up the best entertainment at night.

If you’re traveling to NYC, or just looking for a place to “staycation” I highly recommend Gansevoort Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Erica Z,

Thank you for the rave review. It's always wonderful having you and we're pleased you continuously have fantastic experiences with us. We are dedicated to providing the highest quality of service and we're glad you consistently feel well-cared for by our team. We're honored you've chosen to spend so many special occasions at our hotel and we hope to celebrate many more to come. On another note, we're glad you love our rooftop bar and lounge as well as our pool. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and we look forward to having you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Flew to NYC for a couple days for my birthday and stayed here with a couple friends. First and farmost it is not a very family oriented hotel, it's more of a couples or friends type of vibe. The hotel has a gorgeous lobby area, and check in was super smooth. The rooms were equipped with a full snack and alcohol bar (with charge of course) and the washroom toiletries also came pretty handy. The bed was seriously the most comfortable bed EVER. I could have slept in there for days.

The hotel itself is situated in a pretty main area, INCREDIBLY close to 28 st subway station which made traveling places super convenient. The hotel has a beautiful rooftop with a view of the empire state building. On the weekends and Thursday night the rooftop is very busy as it is one of the hot spots to lounge at so be aware that there will be a lot happening up there during those times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Elle S,

Thank you for the excellent review and happy birthday! Spending a few days in New York City with great friends is a fantastic way to celebrate and we're glad you had a wonderful trip. We're also thrilled you enjoyed our divinely comfortable beds, and we agree, they're difficult to leave. When you weren't lounging in our cloud-like oasis, we're pleased you were able to visit our rooftop. Our views of the Empire State building and skyline are quite mesmerizing. Although it can be quite lively, all guests have priority access for their convenience. We're happy you had a splendid time and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing