We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place...good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Strange place...good place”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Not sure who came up with the themes at that hotel (pictures of girls in underwear above the bed?), clearly trying to look trendy and hot. But surprisingly, a combination of a good bed, large space (exec room) and private terrace on Park Avenue South was enough to cheer me up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Frankieandcharl,

Thank you for the great review. We're happy you enjoyed your experience and we're glad you were fond of our ample-sized rooms. We're pleased our private terrace views put a smile on your face, as they are quite mesmerizing. We appreciate your comments regarding our décor and we'll pass them along to the rest of our dedicated team. It would be a pleasure to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    498
    157
    83
    56
See reviews for
366
780
119
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Service was top notch from getting out of the taxi to the front desk all the way up to the room. Room was very modern and clean. Hard to leave the bed as it was the most comfortable I have ever been in! Shower was amazing. The room was very clean and had all that we needed. Great views of the Empire State Building!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Eric D,

Thank you for the splendid review. Providing outstanding service is very important to us and we're pleased you felt well-taken care of from the moment you arrived. We're glad you loved our comfortable beds and soothing shower. We look forward to making many more Manhattan memories upon your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I ended up booking a Park Ave suite, via Jetsetter. I did read some horror stories from users who had issues with checking in, the rooftop, etc, but I didn't have any of them. Check-in was a breeze thanks to a welcoming front desk staff, we felt secure thanks to security by the elevator and had an incredibly awesome room! Couldn't have asked for anymore.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desifromjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear desifromjc,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience. It was wonderful having you and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived. We're glad you found our service to be flawless and we'll be sure to inform the rest of our dedicated team of your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Positives:

Room - ridiculously huge comfy bed, large powerful shower, all the facilities you could want.
Neat rooftop swimming pool with views of the Empire State, shame we didn't get to use it!
Great location right near the metro and midway between all the usual tourist spots. Easy to get cabs from outside too. Several good restaurants and local breakfast spots nearby.
The staff - the concierge Shaun was amazing, got us into a load of great restaurants, bars and clubs with little notice and always with a free drink or dessert. He was super helpful every time we asked for advice, I wish he could organise my whole life! The staff in general were super helpful and friendly, the bell boys especially.

Negatives:

A few small things in the room could be improved - there was no fan in the bathroom.
There was no mirror in the bedroom other than in the bathroom, not ideal when you have a group of girls all showering and getting ready at the same time!
The blinds didn't block out all the light, which I wouldn't usually mind, but the gap at the edge sent light directly to the pillow end of the bed, so I needed to use an eye mask.
The extortionate price of drinks and snacks both in the room and at the rooftop bar. No tea and coffee in the room, and $8 for a bottle of water! Thank goodness we were in a country where we could drink the tap water...

Room Tip: You can hear the music from the rooftop pool in the communal areas on the higher floors, but not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ic060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear ic060,

Thank you for the delightful review. We're pleased you had a wonderful trip and we're glad you felt well-taken care of. It's great you enjoyed our concierge's dinner and nightlife recommendations. There are a plethora of decadent restaurants in our area and having a knowledgable helping hand is always beneficial. On another note, we apologize you were disappointed with our lack of mirrors and bathroom fans. Next time, we will happily accommodate any special room preferences upon request. We'd love another chance to prove or dedication and provide a seamless experience. We hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had my Birthday hotel stay weekend at the Gansevoort Park Avenue location and I loved it! I also stayed at this hotel other MeatPacking location in May and the staff is just as wonderful. The Gansevoort Park Avenue location staff is very welcoming and accomodating. The rooftop pool is awesome with a great view of the Empire State Building! It does get crowded at the pool for the lounge chairs but if you go early in the morning and block a chair, and come back to the chair, it works out. The bartenders are nice and makes great drinks! The room that was booked was trendy with a great color scheme and the bathroom was awesome and clean. I had a blast at my stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Janelle R,

Thank you for the stellar review and happy birthday! We're thrilled your recent stay was just as great as past visits and we're glad the celebrations were a success. We're happy you had a chance to lounge above the skyline and take in our expansive rooftop views. You made a great choice by spending your day indulging in well-made cocktails while basking in the sun. We're pleased your experience was seamless from check-in to check-out and we look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I will only stay in this Hotel now, rooms are large, staff are great and the new bar menu works. Thank you Micheal, Liugi, Andrew, Tara and all the others. My wife, daughter and son have now stayed and live it as well. Great location for them to explore NY from as everything is really close.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Big E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Big E,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're wishing you a warm welcome back and we're thrilled your family had a fantastic experience. We're pleased you loved our ample-sized rooms and our delicious cocktail selection. Nothing says "vacation" like sipping a tasty drink above the skyline. We appreciate your kind comments and we'll be sure to share them with Michael, Luigi, Andrew, Tara and the rest of our dedicated team. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gansevoort hotel this past Saturday. The stay was amazing. Not only was the room, pool and entire facility elegant, but the staff was even more impressive. From Luigi and Leonardo welcoming us to the hotel, to Suzanne and Chastity Cruz who helped us with all of the amenities. The rooftop bar was definitely fun on Saturday night and the hotel gym was clean and great for a quick work out on Sunday. We got to walk around the neighborhood and went to two tasty restaurants within blocks of the hotel. We had a great stay and we are planning our return already!!

T. G. Brown

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear TGBr0wn,

Thank you for the great review. We're elated your stay was incredible and we're excited you're already planning your next trip! We'll be sure to inform Suzanne, Chastity and the rest of our committed team of your kind remarks, as we know they look forward to having you again. We're thrilled you had a chance to explore our area and we're happy you enjoyed your dining experiences. We're looking forward to creating more Manhattan memories upon your next stay.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing