We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump SoHo New York
Ranked #129 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Every other year we like to spend Thanksgiving week in the City. This year we booked at the Trump SoHo. We have 5 children and a couple of helpers so there are a lot of us. I cant say enough about the staff at this property. We had a two bedroom penthouse and a standard one bedroom suite. Yes the rooms were large and nice but you can find that at lots of properties what made the Trump stand out was the people who are there to make your stay amazing. Their attention to details both big and little was truly exceptional and a credit to the Trump name! These are just a few examples: Upon check in we found stuffed animals for our two littlest ones. There were robes with all of our initials on them and a welcome treats in the room. We were celebrating our triplet daughters 14th birthday. We were treated with Ice cream, pastries, and candy on their birthday. The concierges were all great in booking activities and restaurants.

The location is fantastic with SOHO shopping right there and Dominique Ansel Bakery almost across the street for some wonderful cronuts! I honestly don't think you can get a better location in the City.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesafeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear thesafeman,
Thank you for sharing your experience and spending your Thanksgiving holiday at Trump SoHo. I am happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay, especially your little ones. I hope your triplets had a memorable 14th birthday and look forward to having you and your family celebrate many more birthdays with us.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Great room with sofa area and excellent view towards midtown. High quality bathroom with separate shower and bath. Great location in the heart of downtown New York. Friendly service overall. Really good value in NY for around 500 per night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear TheGlobalFinn,
Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the uptown views of Manhattan. I am glad you liked the location of the hotel and our friendly staff. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Trump Soho. 4.5 stars.

We stayed at the end of June and arrived looking rather hot and bothered from the heat and straight away the reception asked if we would like a bottle of water which was a nice start.

The room was large, bright and clean and had all the amenities you would need. It was a pleasure waking up with the sun pouring in through the large windows. I had booked a Premier room (above 30th floor) as I had heard good things about the views and I was not disappointed. We had a view that was towards the Empire and Midtown in one direction and lower Manhattan the other way which for me was the best of everything.

The location was also great as I had wanted to try a location other than Midtown and if you are looking more towards nightlife then I found there to be places to try in all directions around the hotel.

Apart from charging for Wi-Fi the only slight negative in my eyes was that the hotel doesn’t really have a friendliness about it. The staff are polite and attentive but dare I say it lacks a little warmth? No Good Morning, Good Night, no interaction etc. Perhaps my attention was drawn to this as I had just stayed at a Kimpton Hotel in the days before and I found the staff there to be spot on. This may sound silly to some, but friendly staff make all the difference and its one of the things I remember.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Emma27London,
Thank you for sharing your review on your stay in June. I am pleased to hear overall you had a great stay but do apologize you felt the staff was not welcoming. I would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at GMaoberoi@trumphotels.com or 212-842-5527.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We had a premiere room and it had a lovely view. The room was very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was very nice and had a tub and a shower. The tub was right next to a window where you could take a bath and see a lovely view of the city. Everything was wonderful except for the mattress on the bed. This had to be one of the worst mattresses I've ever slept on. Even my 20 year old son complained about the mattress and he usually can sleep on anything. If the mattress had been only as good as average, I would have rated this hotel 5 starts. Incidentally, at the time we were there, the Washington Wizards also stayed at this hotel -- though this fact does not affect my rating one way or another.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep, be sure not to stay in 3801.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyberRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear CyberRabbit,
Thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to hear you had a great stay overall and enjoyed the views from your room and the windows and views from the tub. Our beds are very soft as they are pillow top mattresses but can be adjusted if you prefer a firmer mattress, by informing our housekeeping team. Please contact me in the future for your next stay in NY and I hope to welcome you back.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

To start off with the positives, the hotel is in a great location, with lots of nice bars and shops close by. The view was spectacular and the bed was extremely comfortable. Chris the doorman was lovely, really friendly and helpful.

The staff otherwise were not particularly friendly and we didn't receive the level of service you expect from a high end hotel.

When we arrived at 3 pm after a very long flight we wanted to get showered and changed and get on with our plans but our room wasn't ready. We said we'd go for a walk while we waited and the receptionist said she would call us when it was ready. Nearly 3 hours later we hadn't received a call and we came back to find our room still wasn't ready. When we eventually did get a room we had to wait around for our bags and eventually had to call to ask for them to be sent up. The room was nice but a little worn in places, and there was only 1 bathrobe and no water.

On the second night the smoke detector in out room started beeping intermittently at 4am, as if the batteries were low. We called reception and they sent an engineer up. He changed the battery and we tried to go back asleep. 15 minutes later it started again. The engineer returned and removed the smoke detector. We had now been up for over an hour so there was no chance of us getting back asleep. At a hotel at this level you are paying to not have to put up with these kind of maintenance issues.

The following day we returned to our room in the evening and I expected there to be a message from management addressing our interrupted sleep, but there was none. In fact, our smoke detector hadn't even been replaced, which isn't exactly safe on the 25th floor. So before we left for dinner we spoke to the receptionist, explained what had happened the night before and requested the smoke alarm be replaced.

On our last day we again spoke to the receptionist and explained that 2 days out of our trip had been badly effected by the hotel, with the room not being ready one day and lack of sleep another, and that we were disappointed. She offered us breakfast but it was 11 am at that stage so we declined but asked that she pass the message on to management, and that we would be in the city for the remainder of the day and returning to collect our luggage that evening. She assured us she would and asked for our contact details so they could reach us. We never received a call. We had also left an email address, but after over a week have still not been contacted.

This hotel is expensive, and unfortunately has a few issues. The bigger problem is how the issues are dealt with, and the poor level of service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear lightup,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your room not being ready and the smoke detector noise. I would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at GMaoberoi@trumphotels.com or 212-842-5527. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Location is great, the rooms are modern, the windows go down to the floor, the bed is fantastic and the Nespresso machine in the room is superb. The fitness is ok. The breakfast is maybe the only area where they can further improve both on service and variety.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Go100go,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the floor to ceiling windows, comfortable bed and then Nespresso machine. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband brought me here this past weekend for a 40th Birthday Celebration. Because I am pregnant he thought it would be the perfect place to go for great atmosphere, food and spa. Upon arrival we were impressed, the woman at the front desk was beyond friendly and kind. After learning I was pregnant she offered a body pillow to be delivered to my room so that my sleep was more comfortable which is definitely was. Friday night upon returning to the hotel after dinner, we went upstairs to The LIbrary. My husband ordered 2 glasses of wine and I had sparkling water. We got our bill and there was a 20% gratuity included in the total, at the bottom of the page it had a gratuity breakdown, 18%, 20%, etc. My husband asked the server why there was a gratuity on such a small bill and she said that was just the way her manager does it. I felt that was very tacky and told her that it's a shame because we would have given her more but since our hand was forced, oh well!

The spa was very relaxing, we got a couples massage and my husband who usually doesn't enjoy them LOVED it!

The bellman were the worst I have seen. I cannot tell you how many times I (being 7 months pregnant) had to open the extremely heavy doors myself while they just stood there. We would return to the hotel and they wouldn't open the taxi doors or the heavy hotel doors.

My nephew stays in this hotel often, has been upgraded to the Penthouse because of his frequent stays, and I was expecting so much more. Although we loved the location, the bed and the spa....we most likely will not return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 26th floor and had beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Jeannebill,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your experience in The Library and the heavy front doors. I would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at GMaoberoi@trumphotels.com or 212-842-5527. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best,

Andreas Oberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#116 of 469 in New York City
1,324 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#181 of 469 in New York City
1,439 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#173 of 469 in New York City
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,377 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#93 of 469 in New York City
990 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump SoHo New York

Address: 246 Spring Street, New York City, NY 10013-1521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £231 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump SoHo New York 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adding distinction to the skyline, Trump SoHo® New York brings a new perspective of Manhattan from its 391 guest rooms, providing unparalleled views of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows in the deluxe and premiere rooms and suites. The Spa at Trump® features New York's only luxury hammam experience, relaxation rooms and fitness center. Trump SoHo is pleased to welcome the new signature restaurant Koi SoHo, featuring an imaginative menu of contemporary Japanese cuisine. Plan your business or social gathering in one of the hotel's exclusive meeting and event spaces. Unwind over cocktails in The Library or retreat to the seasonal Bar d'Eau with its outdoor pool deck. Possessing one of the city’s most coveted locations where SoHo meets Tribeca and the West Village with celebrated art galleries, restaurants, shopping and nightlife, Trump SoHo New York is downtown like you’ve never experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Trump SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Soho New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing