We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in NYC”
Review of The Dominick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dominick Hotel
Ranked #132 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

An annual treat to stay in the Trump Soho for a short getaway. Rooms are great, and suites on high floors with views can't be beat. By far the tallest building in the area, so everything is unobstructed. Comparable rooms in other hotels are far more expensive. Best to book a suite with Amex Platinum and get the room upgrade to a higher floor. Suites have lots of glass, good size living room, and first rate bathrooms. Northern facing rooms are a little better, but not essential. Only negative is that the restaurant is no longer on the Amex Fine Hotels breakfast plan, so you have to do room service continental breakfast, which is only so so. However, this continues to be the perfect place to stay in the city for a fun weekend. Great hotel. Great location. Great views.

Room Tip: Higher floors are where the views are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at The Dominick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Jeffrey M,

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is great to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our views and location. American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts is our partner and we strive to always take good care of Platinum and Centurion guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Trump SoHo next year!

Best Regards,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 3,176 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

As you would expect - beautifully appointed room and unobtrusive but attentive service. Location is good - just 2 blocks from Houston St metro which takes up you up town with a direct line through to Times Square and Central Park to SouthFerry for the Staten Island and the Statue of Liberty.
There are good restaurants within a reasonable walking distance as you head towards Soho down Spring Street or to nearby TriBeCa.
Amenities are excellent with a Nespresso machine in room along with iPod docking stations and electronic lighting and curtain closing programmes.
The large rooms are a good option for friends sharing as the living area with comfortable sofa bed can be totally shut off from the main bedroom and has its own WC.
Only downside is - as you would expect - breakfast, room service and mini bar prices are astronomical. Try the Starbucks across the road for breakfast instead or Anita's one block away for the full American option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at The Dominick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Jen W,

Thank you for choosing Trump SoHo and sharing your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the wonderful location and amenities. I am sorry to learn about your breakfast experience which I will discuss with our partner the Koi Group.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked a triple premier king room from the 30th floor on. When we arrived we needed to pay extra for an extra bed. $ 86 per night, too bad. They could have immediately noticed when booked several months ago instead of the time of check-in. Finally we were upgegrade to a 1 bedroom corner suite on the 36th floor. This was a nice touch.
The view was phenomenal, on one side, the Hudson River and on the other side view of downtown Manhattan and the Empire State Building. The room was spacious, very soft beds, beautiful bathroom with a view from your bath over the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast we have not taken, rather expensive $ 39 per person.
Hotel location is very good with lots of nice restaurants and shops nearby. SOHO is a nice neighborhood.
Advisable. All in all a good experience

Room Tip: Take a room with skyline view from the 30th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belgiantravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at The Dominick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Belgiantravellover,

Thank you for choosing Trump SoHo and sharing your feedback. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, the views and our location. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations with our roll-away bed fee and pre-arrival communication. I appreciate your feedback as we are continuously working to improve our guest experience.

Thank you,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

There can't be many better views from hotels in NYC and it's worth staying in the Trump SoHo for them alone. I had an outstanding view of the Empire State Building - fantastic.
Rooms are well appointed and generally very comfy, but neither I nor anyone staying in my party could fathom the lighting system in our rooms - never did manage to work out how to turn the desk lights on. Frustrating. The rooms are also a little care worn in places - perhaps the Trump is due for a refurb?
I ate in the Koi restaurant for breakfast and the SoHi restaurant once for dinner - neither were anything special.
Oh, and allow plenty of time to get down to the lobby - just four lifts take some time to get to all floors...
Great location, though, and did I mention the view...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank stevefowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at The Dominick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear stevefowler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and the beautiful views. However, I am very sorry to hear that we didn't quite meet your expectations in other aspects. We are continuously working to improve our guest experience so your feedback is much appreciated. We have an ongoing maintenance program for the rooms in place and are just about to launch a new carpet concept for all the rooms this summer. I will also discuss your experience in our food & beverage venues with our partner the Koi Group.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The service is top notch! Everyone was very helpful and kind! Since it was husband's bday weekend I asked to be upgraded since I did have the "trump card" (trump card is free to register on line). I also ordered a small dessert tray to have in the room when we arrived. Sure enough, not only was the dessert tray in our room, they had already upgraded us into one of their king junior suites which was stunning! We were on the 19th floor and it was quiet. Nice views of the Hudson even though somewhat obstructed. The room was spotless! However, even though very clean, there were small things that could need a "refresher". Housekeeping knocked on the door early evening and would ask if we needed "turn-down" service, bottled water and chocolates. The hotel definitely made the guests feel welcomed and comfortable!

The hotel also has its own car service which is a nice new and spotless Cadillac escalade for their guests. Their car service when available will take you to where you need to go if within mile. We actually got to use the car servic twice which was a nice perk!

Finally, whatever reviews you read about he beds being comfortable....YES! Truly very comfortable and pillows amazing! If you are not comfortable with the pillows, you can call housekeeping and they will be more than happy to bring you something to your liking!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at The Dominick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Suzy767,

Thank you very much for choosing Trump SoHo to celebrate your birthday! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the pillow menu. The Deluxe level and above has unobstructed views of the city. We hope to welcome you back to experience that next time!

Kind Regards,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Trump Soho last week for our anniversary and loved it just as much as the first time we stayed. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. I happened to mention it was our anniversary and they made sure to acknowledge it on more than one occasion with champagne and well wishes. Definitely worth every penny and more. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747amyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at The Dominick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Amy T,

Thank you for choosing Trump SoHo and sharing your experience! I am very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time celebrating your anniversary here. Hope to see you next year as well!

Kind Regards,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

it was great ! they are very professionnal , I've never seen more efficient. we had a romm in 32nd floor and it has an incredible view on the city of NY. it was great ! they are very professionnal , I've never seen more efficient. we had a romm in 32nd floor and it has an incredible view on the city of NYit was great ! they are very professionnal , I've never seen more efficient. we had a romm in 32nd floor and it has an incredible view on the city of NYit was great ! they are very professionnal , I've never seen more efficient. we had a romm in 32nd floor and it has an incredible view on the city of NYit was great ! they are very professionnal , I've never seen more efficient. we had a romm in 32nd floor and it has an incredible view on the city of NY

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at The Dominick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Denis C,

Thank you for choosing Trump SoHo and sharing your feedback! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views and had a wonderful experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#122 of 471 in New York City
1,346 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#190 of 471 in New York City
1,451 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#163 of 471 in New York City
3,074 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 471 in New York City
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominick Hotel

Address: 246 Spring Street, New York City, NY 10013-1521 (Formerly Trump SoHo New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £193 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dominick Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features 391 spacious guestrooms and suites with floor-to-ceiling windows, providing unrivaled views of the city's spectacular skyline and the Hudson River. With just 12 rooms per floor, the hotel has an intimate ambiance of sophistication and indulgence. Guests can enjoy signature restaurant, Spring & Varick, cocktail bar Mr. Jones, and the seasonal poolside Bar d’Eau featuring light fare and cocktails. The Spa with its two levels of pampering services, provides New York its only authentic luxury Turkish hammams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dominick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Soho New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing