We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great amenities, Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #39 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great amenities, Close to everything”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Eventi is the second Kimpton hotel that we have stayed at. The first was 70 Park Ave, which is a slightly different style of hotel, but no less friendly, with great amenities.
The room we stayed in at the Eventi was the King with city view. The washroom was a nice marble floored and tiled room. The only issue was that the floor was quite slippery. Due to the design of the shower, which is open to the rest of the bathroom, water tends to get pretty much all over the bathroom if you are a messy showerer!
The rooms were clean beds were well appointed with nice linens, double curtains, individual climate control (a little noisy) and the lighting was variable and well done.
Otherwise everything worked, and there were nice italian bath products provided.
All the basic amenities were provided, including robes and a generous closet, safe and fridge. There is nowhere other than the bed and one chair to sit, so this definitely isn't a room to be hanging out in, but New York is not a place to hang out in your hotel room anyway!
The location at 6th ave and 35th street is a few blocks from Penn Station and not far from any subway or bus. Shopping is limited around the area but since it's Manhattan nothing is very far away.
The FoodParc restaurant on the ground floor is very handy and has a great variety of different types of cuisine at reasonable prices. There are lots of other food options in the area. The in hotel Spanish BarBasque restaurant is excellent as well. One of the best in hotel restaurants that we have experienced. There was a summer prix fixe menu on when we were there in August which was excellent value. Some may find the prices high, but the food was delicious and well prepared with decent portion sizes. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our 2 year old too!
We didn't use the business centre or the fitness centre so we can't attest to the amenities there.
I would definitely recommend the Kimpton to anyone, especially those looking for a premium hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear YYZDesign,

Thank you for this great review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the design of our hotel, ideal location, and restaurants. We are currently working on the air conditioning system to make it a little less noisy. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have an Eventiful Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,260
    890
    176
    45
    26
See reviews for
591
1,360
200
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I was just at the Eventi with my family and we all had a great time. My 6 year old declared it to be a very family-friendly hotel. They had special backpacks and coloring books for my kids at check-in and kid-sized bathrobes in the room. The Eventi has a big screen (about one story tall) in the courtyard behind the hotel and Tuesday night was movie night. We all watched E.T. for free in the warm summer air.

I can also recommend the spa. Shawnta gave me an amazing massage that got all the kinks out of my neck. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Kurt showed us around our room and one of the concierges, Nika, gave us a special pass that allowed us to jump to the front of the ticket line and get a special gift (which was three big postcards) at the Empire State Building.

The beds were super comfortable. The HD TV was great. I loved the floor to ceiling window. The rain shower head in the bathroom was awesome.

There's a free wine hour from 5-6 and (when the weather is good) it is on the 5th floor veranda, which is a beautiful, comfortable, and fun place to hang out. There's also Sangria and lemonade, if you don't want wine.

The "Food Parc" next door is good. They have super big pancakes, which made the kids happy at breakfast. It's is sort of like a fancy food court and sort of like a cafeteria. It's casual and the food is healthy, yummy and quick, which makes for a welcome change from eating slices of pizza on the go.

I've got nothing bad to say and I'd go back in a heartbeat. I'm a Kimpton fan and this might be my favourite.

Room Tip: Higher up will give you a great view of either the Empire State Building or downtown, depending on w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Hankpop,

Thank you for this fantastic review! It is reviews like yours that make me even more proud to be a part of this company and work with such great people. I am happy that you enjoyed our little gifts at check – in, movie night, super comfy bed, evening wine hour and Food Parc. I will certainly pass on your appreciation to Nika. I look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Have an Eventiful Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsted, Ct
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed three nights at the Eventi Hotel with her two dogs. The room was lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was luxurious. The location very convenient. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We loved the wine hour in the early evening and the coffee in the morning. Valet parking was provided and the charge was competitive with neighboring garages. I can not think of one negative thing to say. It was a wonderful experience and we shall be back!

Room Tip: We especially liked our corner room. Huge windows and lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaWinsted_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear DonnaWinstead_CT,

Thank you for this great review. I am so pleased that you, your daughter, and her dogs had such a wonderful experience with us. I’m delighted that you enjoyed our luxurious bedding, convenient location, exceptional staff, and our guest favorite, the evening wine hour. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have an Eventiful Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Dear Shannon and Thomas,

The Eventi makes its guests feel like family, and its staff exemplify professionalism.

I can't thank you enough! You and the hotel staff have taken such good care of me. I just adore Jocelyn, Caitlyn, Colby, and Dwayne. They are superb. Great examples of Kimpton customer service!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Sheri 12,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review!! This review has certainly made my day and I’m sure it will do the same for Shannon and Thomas. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our stay with us and that Jocelyn, Caitlyn, Kolby, and Dwayne helped to make your stay exceptional and I will relay your appreciation. We loved having you as a client and we look forward to your next visit.

Have an Eventiful Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Outstanding service, contemporary surroundings and clean. Minimalist style and reasonably priced for a New York midtown/flower district hotel. Close to subways and Penn Station. Cheap 'Foodparc' for breakfast next door also. We even had a bed-bug check by a hotel beagle!....which didn't reveal any bugs. If I had to say anything, a minor irritation was that the service was sooooo attentive, even when we put the 'do not disturb' light on, we had a number of housekeeping knocks, phone calls and turn-down service requests from hotel staff. All good though. Highly recommended and will be looking to stay in other Kimpton hotels in future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muzzmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Muzzmania,

Thank you for this great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location, Food Parc, and exceptional service. However, I do regret that you were disturbed during your stay. We will be making the necessary changes to ensure that this does not happen again. I look forward to seeing you again soon at our property or at any of our sister properties.

Have an Eventiful Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

City view King room deluxe was smaller than I thought but overall cleanliness is very good and bed is very comfortable

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1603, view was pretty good but my colleague had the room on the opposite side also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcychui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Bernadette Chui,

Thank you for this great review. I am happy that you enjoyed our comfortable bed and level of cleanliness. I would like to encourage you, if you have not already, to become a Kimpton InTouch Member where you will be able to receive recognition, rewards, free internet, exclusive e-offers, and so much more. And the best part?! It’s free! I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Have an Eventi ful Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for four nights. Kimpton hotels are known for top-notch service and the Eventi does not disappoint. The customer service here is, simply put, outstanding. Every staff member goes out of his or her way to ensure an excellent stay. They greet you at the door, at the desk and at the elevator, which adds a level of security as well that is reassuring. Wine reception is a lovely treat and we loved sitting with our wine on the verandah with a view of the Empire State Building. Very civilized! The rooms are gorgeous with cool, modern touches, great art and a sweet shower. First class all around. Location is perfect. We walked to Times Square, Greenwich Village and Chelsea Market, no problem. We will stay here again and we will recommend it to everyone we know traveling to NYC. Become an Kimpton member and enjoy the perks. Like them on Facebook for other bonuses. Love the Eventi and love the Kimpton chain!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkatos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Kitkatos123,

Thank you for this great review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here us and that you were especially pleased with our outstanding customer service, our wine hour, spectacular views, and great location. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for being a Kimpton Intouch Member.

Have an Eventiful Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,191 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,013 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 467 in New York City
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#58 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing