We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,691)
Filter reviews
3,691 results
Traveller rating
2,453
950
201
52
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,453
950
201
52
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hourthe empire state buildingpenn stationraid the mini barcupcakesfloor to ceiling windowswine receptionnew yorkyoga matbottle of champagneherald squarecorner roomtimes squarerain showerone bedroom suitefront desk staffcity view
Filter
Updating list...
3,008 - 3,013 of 3,691 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

New York had to be one of the highlights of our USA trip and this hotel was fantastic. As soon as we arrived Dwayne at the front desk upgraded us to a beautiful room on the 19th floor - 1917 - where we had first class views of New York. We could see the Empire State building in full view from our window. We quickly left our room to be in time for the evening wine hour on the rooftop - this is complimentary and you could have as much as you wanted in that hour! Gorgeous outdoor lounges with quirky lime green metal rocking chairs, stainless steel settings, metal gazebos all added to this eclectic outdoor area. It was warm and humid for our stay and this wine hour was a highlight for us.

Our room was just as the pictures on all the sites show - gorgeous, dark and moody and very chic. The hotel also has a service charge included so that pesky tipping that many of us in this world are just not used to is all taken care of, however we did tip because we had such excellent service and we wanted to. Even the housemaids cleaning the rooms wrote personal notes thanking you for the tip left - such a nice courtesy. Dwayne delivered classy mineral water and the most devine handmade chocolates to our room with a hand written note as a welcome gesture and it was such a nice personal touch.

We had breakfast in the restaurant included in our stay and Mohammad remembered each morning what we wanted to drink etc. In fact, all staff were so good and made our stay one we will remember.

This hotel is so well situated and we walked everywhere. Took about 10 mins to get to Times Square where all the broadway shows are and great restaurants in 9th Avenue in line with Times Square. We saw Priscilla Queen of the Desert and got tickets from the theatre for half price - it was sensational! You can dine late at night after the shows if you wish. Walking did not seem to take long to anywhere as there is so much going on in the streets, and for the record it is extremely safe to walk everywhere. This hotel has the NYPD right next to it, but we never saw any crime or any police action despite what the media leads us to believe.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an individual experience where you are looked after by genuine people in an eclectic and stylish, upmarket setting - the wine hour is worth it alone! We just loved this hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room 1917 was a corner room and we could see so much more due to the extra windows and ask to be up higher.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvytraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear savvytraveller16,

Wow! We really appreciate you taking the time and giving us such an amazing review, you made our day!!
Thank you for recognizing Dwayne and Mohammad for their good service and thank you for recommending us.
I would love to meet you next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We needed to be in the Chelsea area and Expedia offered a good two night rate on the Eventi. The hotel is a pretty new 24 floor tower. Our room on the 18th offered good Manhattan views and, above all, peace away from the street noise. The peace can be interrupted by fellow guests returning late and letting the room door close with a resounding bang - the doors are fitted with very effective closers (haven't they heard of soft close?). That apart, it should be possible to enjoy a good night's sleep. The Queen/Queen room was fine with very comfortable beds although the bathroom lacks a bath and in its place has a very large walk-in shower. Staff were efficient and pleasant without being outstanding. Maybe the newness of the hotel contributes to what, for us, was a lack of atmosphere and character.

For leisure travellers there is the drawback that the area around the Eventi is pretty uninspiring with streets full of wholesale garment and accessory outlets. There is a distinct lack of decent cafes and restaurants in the immediate vicinity and it is some distance to any tourist attractions of note in any direction - to put it succinctly, the Eventi is a very pleasant but not outstanding hotel in a Manhattan desert,

If you go I doubt that you will be disappointed, equally you may not be inspired.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors to reduce street noise - say 14 and above.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Rover10,

Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed the views from our rooms as well as the comfort of our beds.
I will personally look into the self-closing system of our guestroom doors, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Overall fantastic trip. The staff was excellent-extremely helpful and kind. The location was perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was better than expected. The hotel and room was very clean. The accommodations could not have been better! They had a dog bed and food/water bowls in the room as they were aware we would be traveling with a dog. The view of the Empire State Building was incredible! Everything about Eventi goes far beyond expectations of a high quality hotel! Thank you for making this trip amazing!

Room Tip: We had room 1001-excellent view!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Lauren R,

I'm so glad to hear that your trip was amazing!
Thank you for taking the time to share such a great feedback.
We would love to see you again at Eventi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

just wanted to give this hotel and company a big thumbs up for there handling of our stay during the hurricane. The wen above and beyond to even having breakfast lunch and dinner catered in. The rooms are nice and overall it is a cool place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachvolleyballer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Dear beachvolleyballer123,

Thank you for giving us such a great review! We appreciate it.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again, hopefully during better weather : )

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The staff was great! Thanks Omar and team, we will be back. From the time we arrived from a hectic trip into the city, everything was great, easy, and helpful. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddybobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Dear Daddybobo,

We really appreciate your fantastic feedback.
Thank you for recognizing our great staff and especially Omar who loves to go above and beyond for our guests.

Hope to see you again at Eventi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews