We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay in the Big Apple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay in the Big Apple”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

From start to finish our experience in this hotel was wonderful. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. My husband & I had a City View room on the 19th floor which was fabulous. The evening wine hour was a welcome relaxation time after walking the City all day. The situation of the hotel is perfect with easy reach to Downtown and Mid Town. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: City View rooms offer the best views and are quieter as they are on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Pauline C,
5 out of 5 stars - thanks! We strive to be the only NYC hotel you think of when visiting the Big Apple, so we are pumped to know we will see you again. Happy almost 4th of July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,262
    890
    176
    46
    26
See reviews for
591
1,361
200
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My experience started off on a sour note... a mixup lead to the cancellation of my spa treatment with the spa partnered (not a part of) Eventi. Mistakes happen, but the front desk was beyond rude when I returned their call to confirm my appointment. Even if I could have done another time offered, spas are supposed to be relaxing and that first impression left me lacking in any desire to be de-stressed by rude people.

HOWEVER, O'Neil went out of his way to rectify the situation and met us upon arrival. If it weren't for him I would have canceled our reservation and went somewhere else! So glad I did not!

The hotel is very cool and very comfy. I loved the deep tub and amazingly comfortable bed. Also, free wine hour! But don't wait until the last minute to grab your last drink. 2 minutes to 6 and all the goodies were long gone.

All together, the staff are so friendly and helpful I hardly recognized I was in NYC. Where were all these nice people when I lived there?

Hours after checkout, David helped us retrieve things we'd thought we lost. After a tiring day, it was refreshing to stop back at the hotel to collect our things and be greeted with smiles and good wishes.

We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danilesuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
danilesuper,
You are pretty AMAZING also! We read your review out loud today at our morning meeting and congratulated O'Neil and David for turning your stay around. Sorry your stay started out rocky, but so happy it finished smoothly. Can't wait to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Eventi Hotel offers standard excellent service and is well located as most Kimpton Hotels. Located at 6th and W. 30th Street, the hotel is centrally located to lower Manhatten. A subway station is located two blocks away. Reservations were easy online with upgrade offered for a higher floor and a corner room. The front desk staff was efficient and courteous although at times only one person was available to answer guest questions as well as check-in or check-out guests. The room was well appointed. The shower and bathroom were spacious. Management responded to our only concern when the AC was not cooling the room. The staff responded quickly and corrected the problem. Will definitely return to the Eventi.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
jfrandolph,
Thanks so much for your recent review of your time with us - always fun to have the word great describe us! So nice to read that our team acted swiftly when you had a concern with your guest room. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were only there one night, but everything was perfect. Staff was just right...didn't bother us too much, but were there if we needed them. Food was good on the terrace, and our room was wonderful. Great views, quiet, no sign of bedbugs (a real challenge in the city sometimes)! I've stayed in Manhattan many times before and this is the best experience thus far.

Room Tip: Corner room had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigeonherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Pigeonherder,
One night only??? You have to come back and spend some more time with us! So glad you found our location and your room just right for you - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I am a big Kimpton fan. We have stayed here 3x now and each time it is a great experience. Staff are super friendly and knowledgeable. Registration desk has beautiful draping and a peak of a European painting. Like all Kimpton's they host 5pm wine hour and morning coffee. Lobby is a bit small but they have made the area inviting and warm. The location is terrific if you come in on the train to Penn and don't want to stand in taxi line. The rooms we have had are small but appear spacious through mirrors and large glass windows. Lots of closet space and one of my favorites - large bathrooms with soaking tubs (well if you request that). The artwork in bathroom and sitting area is one of my favorites - simple sketches that make you think. The beds, bedding and desk are all top notch. And of course the animal print robes are always fun. The noise level is fantastic for the city. They did a good job on sound proofing. We have sat out at the gallery bar on two occasions and the watermelon/raspberry martini was beautiful to look at and sooo tasty. They also offered apps at half price which were well worth it. On our last visit bar was under construction -so not sure what it will be next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Kelly M,
Some cool photo's you snapped. The ones of the second floor (specifically in bar basque) must have been from a prior trip because that space looks different now. eSquared (the folks behind BLT here in NYC) are now managing the restaurant on the second floor and its called Humphrey. We hope you make it back to try out some of their delicious cocktails soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was our first trip to NYC! We stayed here for two nights, then left for a week to upstate NY, then back to NYC and stayed here for our final two nights.

The staff is very helpful, friendly, and responsive to our needs. Our first night there they gave my youngest a gift bag with goodies! She loved it and felt special.

The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfy with great linens.

Hotel bar closed at 10 p.m. which was a bummer since we would have liked to have some cocktails once back from our city adventures.

The hotel is four blocks from a subway terminal and 1/2 block from the PATH train into NJ. Very convenient. Only about a 20 minute walk from Times Square or Grand Central.

We would definitely stay here in the future!

Room Tip: Only King rooms get an Empire State Building view. We had the Queen/Queen since we have kids, so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodriq5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Rodriq5,
So fun that your littlest celebrated a birthday with us...hope she remembers it forever! Thanks so much for the review of your time with us and we hope the rest of your journey was peaceful and filled with fun. Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

From the minute we walked in the door we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff members.... Patrick at the front desk was over the top helpful with us and gave us a wonderful room and an upgrade because we are Kimpton " In Touch" members, an unexpected treat.( It pays to belong to Kimpton which gives upgrades when available and free wifi at any of the hotels). The room was beautiful, a huge walk in shower/tub and comfortable bed with super soft sheets. The wine reception was on the second floor in the restaurant patio enclosure and wine flows freely between 5 and 6. I don't know many other hotels that host a complimentary wine hour any more, and especially in New York. They have a fantastic roof top lounging area with comfortable cozy seating where you can take your wine and sit to enjoy the outside. I was able to get a last minute extension on my stay for an additional night even though the hotel was sold out. We ate several meals in the restaurant during our stay which was very good, and the server we had was particularly attentive to my allergies and special needs for food. The location of the hotel is good, about a half hour walk down to West Village for great food and ambiance, and we found a stellar restaurant a block away called Seven that was absolutely outstanding. There is also a deli style food place a block away with groceries, wine sales and a huge buffet of excellent food to grab a lunch or dinner and take back to the room.
Check in and check out at the hotel were super fast and all the way from arriving to getting in my cab to leave for the airport it was a fantastic experience. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be treated like a star in New York.

Room Tip: request a high floor on the opposite side of the hotel from 6th Ave, better view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montecoreOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 466 in New York City
4,022 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 466 in New York City
851 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 466 in New York City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing