We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Friends (Groups)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #45 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sharon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for Friends (Groups)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was one hotel that when booked last minute, with no prior experience with Kimpton properties, was a pleasant surprise. We stayed here for Pride 12' weekend and were very impressed with our stay. There were 3 of us sharing a room, with two queen beds (which is hard to get in NYC), and we never felt like we were confined in terms of space. The room was a great size, especially for 3 people, but the bathroom was even better! It had a ton of space so that when three people were getting ready we weren't bumping into each other or fighting for mirror time. The staff were friendly and we loved the "happy hour" each night. Would recommend this for anyone looking for a central NYC hotel that offers great servie, great rooms and even great views of the surrounding area!
(Sign up for Kimpton InTouch rewards to get free WiFi for your stay!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Jake W,
Thanks so much for the review - its so great to read that even with three people you felt the layout and size of our guest room was superb. We hope you are planning to come back for more weekend trips - and bring more friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,172
    857
    172
    45
    25
See reviews for
557
1,326
192
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great staff. Very friendly . Excellent location. Rooms were small but what can you expect from a hotel in the city. Free wine and cheese happy hour was nice. Shower was good size considering the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Travelled to NYC in December 2012 with my mom for a girls trip. We loved the stylish and modern rooms, the nightly wine reception, and the service. Because we were so close to several subway stops, we only had to take a taxi twice during our 4-day stay. The employees are very attentive and have creative restaurant suggestions upon request. It was truly a treat to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Sign up for a Kimpton membership and you'll get free Wi-fi during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Csavage27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend in the city to celebrate our anniversary, and we couldn't have been happier with the hotel. The location was great - an easy walk to Penn Station, Chelsea, midtown, and Times Square. The room (on the 19th floor) was small but had a great view. The bed was so comfortable, and the bathroom large and well appointed. We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception each evening and the coffee and tea in the morning, with a New York Times to read in the lobby. The hotel is beautifully designed, with something eye-catching nearly everywhere you look. And the staff is so friendly and helpful. I asked for a shower cap to be sent to my room, and it appeared almost instantly. The guests were a wonderful mix of American and foreign, which gave a nice vacation vibe.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyandKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I've now stayed at the Eventi twice. The first stay was a weeknight for business travel, and I thought everything about it was great. So great that when it came time to choose a hotel for a recreational trip that my husband and I were taking with my sister and a friend of hers, I immediately suggested the Eventi. The rates for the long weekend (MLK Day) were reasonable for NYC, so we booked two rooms.

We arrived several hours before check-in and early check-in was not available, which was obviously totally fine - we didn't expect it to be. So we left our bags and headed out. However, once it was the appropriate time, we wound up having to wait a solid 30 minutes for one of the two rooms to be ready. When one of our party inquired about the status of the room 15 minutes into this extra wait, she was told by the front desk clerk in a somewhat brusque tone that he would let her know. Minutes later, he was overheard on the phone saying that he "has two women here who are going to bite my head off if the room isn't ready".

So ok, maybe that's just one person have a bad day - it happens. But then the next day, one of the rooms was never cleaned.

Don't get me wrong - there are plenty of good things about the Eventi. The "wine hour", which is a Kimpton tradition, was pleasant. My room's bathroom was very nice. I would stay there again, but not rave about it.

Another minor annoyance of mine about Kimpton Hotels is that they usually don't have in-room coffee makers. Yes, they have free coffee in the lobby, or you could get it via room service, but I can't be the only person out there who likes to wake up and linger over a coffee prior to showering and getting dressed. It's not the end of the world, but it's annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Carrie T,
Thanks for your recent review and sorry to read that your check-in process was less than ideal. We hope that won't discourage you from giving us another try. Also the good news is in the future we have coffee makers available upon request and one can be delivered to your room complimentary in future trips. Hope to see more of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel as recommended and booked by our travel agent. Service was friendly and helpful; the room was very spacious and with a great view of the Empire State Building which was only three blocks away. Facilities were good - safe (free), fully stocked fridge (chargeable), but no tea or coffee making facilities which would have improved things. Bottled water was also chargeable. We were able to walk to all important locations - i.e. Broadway, all the theatres, Bloomingdales, Macy's, shopping centres, etc., and plenty of places to eat whether it be great breakfasts, coffees,pastries or dinner. Restaurant available at hotel but we ate out. Good location, good hotel - more business than pleasure! We had arrived at hotel early morning and they were happy to store our bags and allow us to occupy their small lobby (known as the Living Room). Staff seemed to recognise us each time we returned to hotel from one of our forays.

Room Tip: Our room was on 22 of 23 floors - spectacular view of NY skyline esp. Empire State Building - and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzywuzzy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Fantastic hotel with very helpful staff. Loved the wine reception with the cheese. Room was very large for an NYC hotel. Slight issue was that my card got charged but the hotel have refunded it with little hassle. Would fulll recommend this very chic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 311Frankie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,807 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing