We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a disappointing stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times and have had mixed experiences. During a previous visit we had arrived to find a very dusty, not adequately cleaned room with scratched furniture.

we are Kimpton inner circle members and, therefore are usually given a wonderful room, often with an upgrade so this experience was very disappointing.

we, therefore decided to call before this current stay to make sure the room was clean since my dust allergies had made the previous stay unpleasant.

The room was not dusty but it really was not adequately cleaned. The bathroom glass was dirty, the trash can in the bathroom not fully emptied and the furniture was scratched and. was not in the best condition .

This hotel is in a "blah" part of the city and therefore , in my opinion, really does need to shine in all other aspects.

In the past two weeks we had stayed at two other Kimptons and had absolutely wonderful experiences. The hotel Monaco in Philadelphia upgraded us to an amazing suite with a spectacular view and the whole experience was perfect. The Hotel Lorien in Old Alexandria is one of our favorites and always provides a wonderful stay.

The Eventi is in New York so I expect this to be on par with the other Kimptons that have enriched our travels.
It's not.
Hoping for better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,241
    885
    175
    45
    26
See reviews for
583
1,351
199
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

On the plus side, the hotel has a great vibe, larger size rooms than expected in NYC, and Kimpton's signature wine happy hour is service on their fantastic rooftop patio. On the downside, while the staff was pleasant and well-intentioned, the service was truly terrible throughout my stay. For example, despite a sign offering ear plugs as something provided by the hotel if needed, when street noise kept me awake at night, I had to call 4 times over the course of an hour and 20 minutes to get earplugs delivered to my room. Without getting into all gory details, there were a few other times when service was really poor during my stay. Still, with the great location and fun decor, I'd still recommend this hotel to friends staying in New York, especially if you can secure a good rate like I did.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to avoid city street noise. Also, a construction project is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Given the price of hotel rooms in NYC, this place was okay, but their intentions were far better than their execution. I sponsored a business meeting here for 50 people. The staff was good, attentive, and very responsive to last minute changes and requests. The hotel decor VERY, VERY dark - especially the common areas. It was off-putting, with tons of dark brown marble on the floor and the walls painted with dark colors. I realize this is a matter of taste, but it I felt like I was walking around a cave most of the time. The worst two aspects of this stay were the location and the food. The hotel is not in the best area, and not even in the best area of Chelsea - - certainly not in the hipper/newer part of Chelsea. The worst part of the stay was the food. Hotel food for business meetings is seldom ever very good (one exception to that "rule" is the Andaz across from the 42nd St. Library - best food ever!) but the Eventi took food to new lows for exceptionally high prices. Everyone complained about the food. It was truly sub standard and the reason why we will not have another meeting at this hotel. It was not really much better than cafeteria food. They offer house wines that retail for $4 (so you know that they pay even less than that) for $40-$50 a bottle and were not very amenable to negotiating any of their prices down - given how much money we were spending there as a group. And, those house wines were pretty awful. In an attempt to find something redeeming here, I also ate in their restaurant "Humphrey"one day to see if that food was any better - it was not! It's supposed to be farm to table and it wasn't even close. The restaurant looks kind of old, tired and not very clean. The food was unremarkable and not very good. Their signature popovers were great though. If only we could survive on those alone! The entire experience was disappointing overall. If you want a reasonably priced hotel room, that's a decent size and pretty clean, then stay here, but do not eat here. Sleep here and leave it at that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puffmome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Large size rooms for New York City, great customer service, great restaurant, and convenient to Madison Square Garden/Pennsylvania Station. Truly an outstanding experience! Check-in and check-out were both very smooth. Good security in the lobby after hours always makes you feel safe. Bar and elevated outdoor patio also quite nice. Drinks are not inexpensive, but in line for New York. Also, they sometimes give you a coupon to allow you to "raid the mini-bar", up to $15. How delightful to get back to the room after a long day and be able to enjoy a cold beverage on them!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Kimpton has accomplished the unthinkable....a well appointed, modern hotel with staff that pride themselves in knowing their customers needs in NYC. Truth be told, I am a fan of Kimpton brand but I went in with lower expectations based on my experience at other hotels in NYC. They surprised me every step of the way with a welcome gift of champs and snacks + the front desk person even got me a free pass to a spinning class at flywheel after only a brief discussion about my favorite workout. The hotel room had many great upgrades and the room we stayed in had a separate living room from the bedroom, two plasma tvs, a marble bath with jacuzzi tub, and a view of the Empire State Building! The building was also very quiet despite the location on a busy street. The free wine hour featured the chef's specialty sangria + wine + cheeses. The HH was a great perk after several short walks up to Times Square or down to the Chelsea and Flatiron district.

The big complaint was just the restaurant. This one was not up to par, and room service was expensive - $70 for an undercooked burger and chicken sandwich!

There was also a great beer garden and food tent right behind the hotel that's worth checking out!

Room Tip: Request a suite and the view of the Empire State Building, you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Had an excellent vacation stay at Eventi. The rooms are clean, comfortable and stylish, if a bit on the small side, but it's a great value for NYC. Perfect for a couple's getaway or business trip. The best thing about the Eventi is the location; just a few blocks from Penn Station; we arrived by train and were situated in our rooms only twenty minutes after arriving. Eventi is walking distance to restaurants, stores and theaters galore. Korea Town is also nearby so those dining options are manifold. The hotel itself has rather spare services to go along with their sleek appearance. The lobby is pretty utilitarian, and they ran out of the free coffee they provided almost every morning. As a result, we did not eat any meals at Eventi or use any of their other amenities. We had some trouble with the free in-room wifi; we got charged for it multiple days even though it was supposed to be included in the room price. In the end, they took the charges off, but it was still a hassle. I would highly recommend Eventi as a luxury hotel at a midlevel price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dough2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The moment I arrived at the Eventi for the very first time, the staff made me feel like we were old friends reuniting. The reception is so warm and inviting, it sets the stage for a great stay. The 5:00 happy hour with complementary wine and cheese was also fantastic. But the best part for me was the room. Hello, corner room on the 18th floor overlooking the Empire State Building. I was in awe, as were my Manhattanite friends who came to visit. You just don't often get a view like that. I look forward to returning this summer to enjoy the veranda. Thanks, Eventi! P.S. Be sure to sign up for guest rewards in advance to set your room preferences and get some great freebies, even on your first visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor. Also sign up for guest rewards in advance to get some freebie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolo0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 466 in New York City
3,975 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#55 of 466 in New York City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 466 in New York City
1,644 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
819 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing