We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #48 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is my second time at the Eventi, and both times I was greeted by energetic, pleasant front desk staff members who gave me really great rooms on high floors. As a result, I was able to enjoy the views from the huge windows. That is probably the Eventi's biggest plus. The room decor is nice -- not a thing wrong with it -- but perhaps it's more functional instead of very stylish like other Kimpton properties. I do like the bathrooms... great rain shower.

The location is also more functional than stylish. It's not "bad" by any means, but the flower district/Herald Square area is much more of a commercial/warehouse area than a residential one. It's a very convenient point to access the subway lines, but you won't find a whole lot that's quaint. Walk a few blocks east to the Flatiron area, or a few blocks south to Chelsea, and you'll have a ton of restaurants and shops from which to choose.

I regret that I didn't take in the rooftop area either time I stayed... next time. And if the price is right, I don't see any reason why there shouldn't be a next time.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,994 - 2,000 of 3,486 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great hotel and friendly thoughtful staff. Great location and clean, modern rooms. On arrival was welcomed at the check In desk and advised we had been upgraded to a room with an Empire State Building view. After arriving back at the end of our first day we were welcomed by a bottle of champagne and cupcake to celebrate Rich's birthday - what a nice surprise and definitely welcome after trekking around manhattan. Wine hour is great along with cheese and fruit and free tea/coffee in the morning starts you off for a busy day ahead. Definitely recommend this hotel, staff, location are great and cannot fault. Thanks Patrick for the bottle of champagne and cake it was the perfect way to end a great day. I check out tomorrow to travel home, wish I had booked for longer, would return back

Room Tip: Ask for a Empire State Building view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times and have had mixed experiences. During a previous visit we had arrived to find a very dusty, not adequately cleaned room with scratched furniture.

we are Kimpton inner circle members and, therefore are usually given a wonderful room, often with an upgrade so this experience was very disappointing.

we, therefore decided to call before this current stay to make sure the room was clean since my dust allergies had made the previous stay unpleasant.

The room was not dusty but it really was not adequately cleaned. The bathroom glass was dirty, the trash can in the bathroom not fully emptied and the furniture was scratched and. was not in the best condition .

This hotel is in a "blah" part of the city and therefore , in my opinion, really does need to shine in all other aspects.

In the past two weeks we had stayed at two other Kimptons and had absolutely wonderful experiences. The hotel Monaco in Philadelphia upgraded us to an amazing suite with a spectacular view and the whole experience was perfect. The Hotel Lorien in Old Alexandria is one of our favorites and always provides a wonderful stay.

The Eventi is in New York so I expect this to be on par with the other Kimptons that have enriched our travels.
It's not.
Hoping for better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

On the plus side, the hotel has a great vibe, larger size rooms than expected in NYC, and Kimpton's signature wine happy hour is service on their fantastic rooftop patio. On the downside, while the staff was pleasant and well-intentioned, the service was truly terrible throughout my stay. For example, despite a sign offering ear plugs as something provided by the hotel if needed, when street noise kept me awake at night, I had to call 4 times over the course of an hour and 20 minutes to get earplugs delivered to my room. Without getting into all gory details, there were a few other times when service was really poor during my stay. Still, with the great location and fun decor, I'd still recommend this hotel to friends staying in New York, especially if you can secure a good rate like I did.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to avoid city street noise. Also, a construction project is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Given the price of hotel rooms in NYC, this place was okay, but their intentions were far better than their execution. I sponsored a business meeting here for 50 people. The staff was good, attentive, and very responsive to last minute changes and requests. The hotel decor VERY, VERY dark - especially the common areas. It was off-putting, with tons of dark brown marble on the floor and the walls painted with dark colors. I realize this is a matter of taste, but it I felt like I was walking around a cave most of the time. The worst two aspects of this stay were the location and the food. The hotel is not in the best area, and not even in the best area of Chelsea - - certainly not in the hipper/newer part of Chelsea. The worst part of the stay was the food. Hotel food for business meetings is seldom ever very good (one exception to that "rule" is the Andaz across from the 42nd St. Library - best food ever!) but the Eventi took food to new lows for exceptionally high prices. Everyone complained about the food. It was truly sub standard and the reason why we will not have another meeting at this hotel. It was not really much better than cafeteria food. They offer house wines that retail for $4 (so you know that they pay even less than that) for $40-$50 a bottle and were not very amenable to negotiating any of their prices down - given how much money we were spending there as a group. And, those house wines were pretty awful. In an attempt to find something redeeming here, I also ate in their restaurant "Humphrey"one day to see if that food was any better - it was not! It's supposed to be farm to table and it wasn't even close. The restaurant looks kind of old, tired and not very clean. The food was unremarkable and not very good. Their signature popovers were great though. If only we could survive on those alone! The entire experience was disappointing overall. If you want a reasonably priced hotel room, that's a decent size and pretty clean, then stay here, but do not eat here. Sleep here and leave it at that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puffmome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Large size rooms for New York City, great customer service, great restaurant, and convenient to Madison Square Garden/Pennsylvania Station. Truly an outstanding experience! Check-in and check-out were both very smooth. Good security in the lobby after hours always makes you feel safe. Bar and elevated outdoor patio also quite nice. Drinks are not inexpensive, but in line for New York. Also, they sometimes give you a coupon to allow you to "raid the mini-bar", up to $15. How delightful to get back to the room after a long day and be able to enjoy a cold beverage on them!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Kimpton has accomplished the unthinkable....a well appointed, modern hotel with staff that pride themselves in knowing their customers needs in NYC. Truth be told, I am a fan of Kimpton brand but I went in with lower expectations based on my experience at other hotels in NYC. They surprised me every step of the way with a welcome gift of champs and snacks + the front desk person even got me a free pass to a spinning class at flywheel after only a brief discussion about my favorite workout. The hotel room had many great upgrades and the room we stayed in had a separate living room from the bedroom, two plasma tvs, a marble bath with jacuzzi tub, and a view of the Empire State Building! The building was also very quiet despite the location on a busy street. The free wine hour featured the chef's specialty sangria + wine + cheeses. The HH was a great perk after several short walks up to Times Square or down to the Chelsea and Flatiron district.

The big complaint was just the restaurant. This one was not up to par, and room service was expensive - $70 for an undercooked burger and chicken sandwich!

There was also a great beer garden and food tent right behind the hotel that's worth checking out!

Room Tip: Request a suite and the view of the Empire State Building, you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 470 in New York City
3,280 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 470 in New York City
4,256 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#64 of 470 in New York City
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Langham
The Langham
#18 of 470 in New York City
2,315 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £166 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing