We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay - Horrible Follow Up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2travel2shop
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay - Horrible Follow Up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

My colleague and I stayed at Eventi in mid-August. It was the business portion of my trip and I had my golden retriever with me as I traveled to the Hamptons afterward for pleasure. The hotel is located very centrally although the immediate area isn't very nice in the evening (especially for dog walking alone and NO grass nearby!). The bellhop and doormen were so kind, always greeting the dog, remembering his name, etc. As with any Kimpton, the happy hour is a nice touch and much appreciated. We had a one bedroom suite that was a pretty good size for NY and we were impressed with the oversized toiletries. (And we feel like we got a great deal on Jetsetter).

Unfortunately, 4 weeks after our stay we were still having problems relating to the charges incurred during our stay. My colleague checked in early and used her personal card so that she could get into the room early. When I arrived, I gave them the business card and asked that all charges be put on this card, NOT the colleague's card. There seemed to be no issue.

However, upon returning home, we realized that one night of parking had been charged to my colleague's card. No big deal, the company reimbursed her. But THREE WEEKS LATER, she was charged an additional $300 - for parking and other incidentals.

She immediately called and the gentleman in accounting told her he needed her to put the problem in writing and he would correct it. She put it in writing that day, I authorized the charges to be charged to the business card, and we never heard back from him. At this point, as these were unforeseen charges and it was a debit/visa, she transferred funds between her accounts in order to cover it and not incur bank fees.

We never heard back from the accountant she spoke to so we called the desk and asked to speak to a Manager. After several voicemails, we finally reached a front office manager that could assist us. I filled out the card authorization for the correct card, faxed it back immediately, and she sent an attachment with the new charges and said, since it was after business hours, the credit would go through by the next business day. It took over 5 days for the credit to come through after we reached someone that could process it immediately. Needless to say, this was a frustrating process.

Also upon reviewing our bill(s) we found a $223 laundry charge that was not ours. That charge was credited back without question, but it made us realize that in our years of not having trouble we weren't being diligent enough.

While the issues with billing were finally resolved, it left a poor impression of this hotel. To have charges show up three weeks after the stay, and incorrect, and to have the burden of them charged to the wrong card (a debit card), and requiring the cardholder to transfer funds, etc, is ridiculous and annoying. We are glad the issue is resolved, mainly due to our persistence, and hope it doesn't happen to someone else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travel2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eventi_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Dear ‘2travel2shop,’

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Eventi on Trip Advisor.

It is unfortunate that an otherwise excellent visit was marred by poor customer service once you had checked out. I do apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you and I am glad that the problems were finally resolved. Please know that I have addressed this with my guest services team to ensure that future guests do not have the same experience.

Kimpton Hotels is well known for delivering great customer service and I am sorry that you did not experience it. I hope that you return to Eventi in the future and find that our customer service is as flawless as one would expect from a Kimpton hotel.

Even though you had service problems, I do appreciate that you were able to acknowledge our bell and door teams. They appreciate that their hard work is recognized.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Bert le Roux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,168
    855
    172
    45
    25
See reviews for
557
1,323
192
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Very good standard 4 star hotel with all the comforts you'd expect - fluffy robes, daily newspaper, enormous beds,friendly service - and extras you wouldn't normally get - complimentary wine every evening on the terrace, lots of room and light, lifts in the house car. Liked being away from the madness of Time Square. Safe neighbourhood - as two women we had no problem walking back from the West Village at night. There's a great deli right across the road for breakfast on the go. Loved Mandoo restaurant round the corner on W32nd (between 5th & Broadway) for gorgeous Korean dumplings. Will definitely return to NYC and when I do Eventi will be my first choice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear kglebelands,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Eventi, a Kimpton Hotel! I'm happy to learn that you had a pleasant and comfortable experience at the hotel and took advantage of the nightly wine reception we offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Beautiful brand new hotel, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Close to subway so easy to get around. Staff very helpful and always had a smile. Free champagne reception every evening. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorindacharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We got an excellent preview rate. The room was a bit tight for two adults and two children but fine for a few days. Bathroom was great. Our room didn't have the best view, but we enjoy NYC water towers so that was fine too. There was some construction going on but we didn't hear a thing (from floor 10).
The veranda is a great venue for all sort of events. The hotel is all new and shiny. Too trendy for our taste, but super if you like that sort of hotel. Staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful. Location is not pretty but as long as you're close to a subway station, you can go anywhere. We even walked from the West Village after dinner. As said, location is not pretty but it is convenient and two blocks from Penn Station. We did not get the goodnight chocolate and the weather report as others did. Had to ask for the Kimpton gift for the kids since they were expecting it and nobody offered it. Maybe that was because of our great rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanschenKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charente Maritime
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a very nice brand new Kimpton hotel , on 6th Ave and 30th, away from the hustle and bustle of midtown NYC. We took advantage of their preview rates and booked a double queen room which was a very decent size for a family of 4. The room was on the 19th floor facing back( little to no noise from outside, just one occasion when other hotel guests in the corridor woke us up at 4 a.m) and was decorated in a contemporary elegant feel with subdued, relaxing browns. The beds were very comfortable and the view from the floor- to- ceiling windows pleasant for those who enjoy urban landscapes, as we do.The bathroom was a particular pleasure, and it was devine to step out of the marble walk-in shower into one of the robes provided.
All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly. We too were conspicuously tourists but did not experience any of the coldness that one reviewer has complained of. On the contrary, I found that despite the Eventi being an upmarket hotel, we never felt out of place. A special mention to Kirk,who helped us with our bags and to the ex-Yugoslavian waiter ( I'm sorry to say that I didn't note his name) who made our 'solitary' dining room experience feel very cosy and intimate .The hotel restaurant is not in its fully operational form as yet, but we had a very good meal there and were glad to have the place all to (f)ourselves.
We only made the complimentary 5 p.m wine-tasting once in our 5 night stay, and unfortunately the weather was not good enough for us to sit out on the lovely 5th floor terrace that we'd checked out on arrival. It is obviously a very appreciable touch and seems to be popular with many hotel guests.
Finally, as Kimpton in Touch members, we took advantage of the free in-room wi-fi to Skype home to France, which was most appreciated, instead of having to shout into a public payphone over the street noise.
To sum up, this is an extremely comfortable, relatively well-placed hotel ( we used the 28th street station the most) for which we paid considerably lower prices than the rack rate. If you can get a decent price, then do not hesitate an instant, and if you are not/do not mind paying the full price, it's a great hotel too. I'm sure that it'll even be excellent once the food court and street-level huge screen terrace is up and running.
I know we'd love to come back the next time we're in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

My boyfriend and I live in NYC and try to take "staycations" a few times each year to try out new and intriguing hotels in the New York area. We absolutely loved this property! The hotel has a theme of nature and secrets with half wrapped pillars, sensual and varied textures throughout the hotel (velvet sofas, unexpectedly soft carpet, Frette sheets, cabinets whose interiors can be glimpsed through peepholes, etc.) The fitness center was fantastic with unexpected items like medicine balls and unusually good quality and variety of equipment. The fifth floor balconies are pleasant to hang out on, especially with a glass of the free sangria that the hotel provides between 5 and 6. We had a room on the 17th floor and the views of the Empire State Building and morning sunlight were gorgeous. We also easily walked to restaurants in both Grammercy and Chelsea and were near to loads of good shopping (the hotel is building it's own small park next door but the immediate block is a bit sad in appearance). Overall, this was a wonderful experience that we'd love to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear Catbody,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Eventi! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and got good use out of our Fitness Center. We hope to welcome you and your boyfriend back for your next "staycation"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Me and my partner stayed at Hotel Eventi this August 2010. The hotel is situated about a 10-15 minute walk from Times Square, set slightly away from the hussle and large crowds. The area is pretty safe even at night time. The hotel is immaculate and the decor is contemporary and very elegant. The rooms are stunning with large comfortable beds and floor to ceiling windows which provide good views of the city (depending on which way your room faces). Rooms are equipped with hairdryer, bath robes, room socks (although the carpet is so soft you wont really want to use these), iron and ironing board, 32-37 inch HDTV, fully stocked minibar and many other ameniities. Since the hotel is less than a year old, all the furnishings and fittings are very clean and brand new. Rooms are air conditioned and cleaned daily. The rooms have a "do not disturb" button which when pressed, will turn the room number lighted plaque outside of your door from orange to red, and you will not be able to hear the buzzer. We particularly liked the extra added touches and little things which made all the difference. After your room is cleaned, you will find a note on your bed detailing the weather conditions for the day along with a chocolate or two ! Free WiFi is also available throughout the property with excellent signal strength. Staff are very knowledgeable and helpful and very friendly. Each day between 5-6pm, a selection of wine is available to try on the 5th floor Veranda (this may not be a year round routine but was available during our stay). If you would like a guaranteed stay at a wonderfully managed and well kept hotel, then this is the place to go. Prices are expensive but well worth the cost. We would definitely visit this property again in future. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at! Kieran & Sandi

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KieranUmanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Dear KieranUmanee,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Eventi! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. I'm happy that you liked our guest rooms and the daily weather forecasts. With the unpredictable weather of the Northeast, we felt it was a little touch our guests would appreciate. It's also great that you were able to participate in our evening wine reception. And although it won't be held all year round on the Veranda due to the Winter season, the reception is offered 365 days a year so feel free to come back during the colder months as well. We're sure looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing