We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhattan's New Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #239 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Choosing this hotel was relatively simple since we are familiar with the W Brand. We first experienced W in Washington with its very cool vibe, and very friendly experience. Using priceline, we purchased our stay for the Canadian Thanksgiving/Columbus Day weekend. This W is easy to get to from LGA Airport (as any other destination in Manhattan) using the subway (via taxi to get to the subway - but I digress). Check in was longer than expected. This was not the hotel's fault since the gentleman in front of me had just under 1000 questions feeding our wait time. Thinking back, perhaps another associate could have been called to front desk check us in.

Our room was a pleasant surprise of high level, spacious corner room. The corner room was a known, but the spaciousness of the "cool corner room" in Manhattan is a treat. This is a 3 year old hotel overlooking the 9-11 memorial. Probably the best view of the memorial in the immediate area (see pics below). All the furnishings are in perfect working condition and shape. The bathroom fixtures are also noticeably "different" which reminds you are at a the W. Soaps, shampoos, creams are excellent quality and worth "grabbing a couple extra". The bed was a comfortable queen with a duvet on top which added to it being comfortable. Pillow's a little too soft... different strokes, I guess.

One pain in design - the reception and check in are located on the fifth floor. In order to get to your room, you had to take the elevator off street level, proceed to the fifth floor, navigate yourself through the lobby traffic and THEN get into another elevator to your suite. If you were in a bit of a rush, it would be frustrating. Thankfully the elevators are relatively quick.

If you thought this review was helpful, click on "helpful"... thanks

Room Tip: high up, overlooking 911 is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Hugemountain,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at W New York – Downtown. We are very proud of our location and all that Lower Manhattan has to offer as well of our views of the City and the 9/11 Memorial … we are pleased that you found this an enjoyable part of your stay and appreciate all of the pictures!

We are sorry that you found our layout a bit challenging during your stay. This design decision was made to better ensure the safety and security of our guests as we are in such a high traffic location. We do hope you were able to enjoy the coffee and tea offered in the morning or the Living Room Bar & Terrace in the evening as you walked through to get to your room.

Thank you again for taking the time to post such a detailed account of your adventure at W New York – Downtown … we hope you will come back to visit soon!

If you would like to speak with me further about your stay, please call me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a special trip for my partners 40th birthday, the hotel delivered in making this a very special stay, providing a room upgrade, bubbly, birthday cake & complimentary drinks. The hotel makes personal and quirky touches that makes you feel valued, the service was exceptional and the staff were helpful & polite.
The room was great, good views, excellent location for exploring New York. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Jennifer L,

Thank you for choosing W New York – Downtown for such an important birthday! As you know by now, W loves to have fun and we are incredibly happy that your experience was everything you hoped it would be for your big celebration.

Our goal is to be the best place to stay, live work and play in Lower Manhattan and we hope that your holiday at our property met that mark.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write to share your experiences with us … we hope to see you next year so that we can celebrate 41!

If you would like to chat further about your stay please feel free to contact me anytime at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great Location overlooking the 9/11 memorial. At night if you are high enough you can see the Memorial Lit up, which you can't see from the ground. The outside bar looking over the memorial is also nice but the price of the drinks are high, even for NYC. The beds are very comfortable and like the sitting area on the window sill. Do not like the sliding door for the bathroom, feels like it never really closed. The BLT restaurant is a plus, had a great breakfast there and have been to other BLTs for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davismm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Davismm,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at W New York – Downtown. We are very proud of our location and the views from our property and are pleased to hear that this added to your stay.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Living Room Bar & Terrace as well as BLT.

I have made a note about your concerns with regard to the drink prices and the bathroom doors and will definitely explore further with our team.

We hope you will come back to visit us again soon. If you would like to reach me directly for any reason please call at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The website and other reviews made my boyfriend and I excited about choosing this hotel. I used a lot of credit card points and was highly disappointed. The hotel was slightly confusing to get into, as there are also residents who live there. The pictures of the lounges and bar area were a bit deceiving in appearance. We sat down at the bar during a slower time of the day, and were not helped for quite some time, in fact others who sat down after us were waited on first.

We left our room before 9 one morning and had to ask them to clean it at 6 that night, as it had not been done.

I realize this is New York and the hotel rooms are smaller than others, but I have stayed at a very nice hotel in the same area with much more bathroom space.

Positives are that the view of the Trade Center Tower is amazing and due to the location there is not a lot of noise from the streets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Amandavick,

I am very disappointed to hear that W New York – Downtown did not meet your expectations. We strive to be the best at what we do and we clearly fell short during your stay.

I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

If you would like to discuss further, please call me at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this trip very last minute with 4 teenagers (which is an adventure in and of itself). For two of the teens it was their first trip to NYC. One commented as she walked into the lobby, "This is the nicest place I've ever stayed". Again, coming from a 16-year old girl who is finicky about everything, I took this as quite a compliment. There is a very upbeat, contemporary flair to this place that made our stay here very comfortable. The rooms were nice sized, very clean, very updated and with all the comforts of home (and then some). The attached pic is a view from our room that was on the north side of the hotel giving us a view of the Freedom tower that was straight out of a NYC postcard - SPECTACULAR. The staff were all very accommodating, professional, sharp and fun. Close access to breakfast spots & subway system. You can park for Free on the Street a couple blocks away (on weekends) ~ major bonus since parking in NYC with a Large SUV would normally cost me $45 a day. The neighborhood was very safe (cops everywhere due to the fact that you are in very close proximity to the Freedom Tower/911 Memorial). I wouldn't hesitate staying here again and would highly recommend this spot to anyone used to staying at 4+ star hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear William A,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at W New York – Downtown. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your New York adventure! We strive to be the best place to stay, live work and play in Lower Manhattan and we hope we were able to meet that mark.

Also, thank you for sharing your wonderful picture of the view! We are quite proud to be in such close proximity to the heart of the rebirth of our community and it is captured beautifully in your photograph.

Thank you again for your feedback … We hope that you will come back and visit us soon!

If you would like to speak with me further about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Location lacks unless u r doing business downtown or you wish to be extremely close to Ground Zero . Overall a very good experience , a bit pricey and the room is a bit tight for the price. I would also make sure you get a discount- location lacks on the weekend- there is nothing going on down here worth paying these prices for.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savytraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Savytraveler25,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to see that your overall experience at W New York – Downtown was positive. We are sorry that you found the location to be challenging; however, we are very excited to be on the cusp of this growing community.

We hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can show you all that Lower Manhattan has to offer. We truly believe that this is going to be the most exciting new neighborhood in Manhattan and we can’t wait to share it with our guests.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first time staying @ W and forgot we how clubby their hotels feel. Walking into the lobby area by the elevators (the Living Room) was quite disorienting even in the afternoon, but we did get used to the lighting etc over time. DJ sets up shop right by the elevators in the evening, and music booms up the elevator shaft.

Aside from that, we found that our room met Starwood's stringent standards. Room size was surprisingly large for NYC, very similar to standard Starwood rooms elsewhere. Bed was as comfortable as expected. Bathroom was spacious. BLISS products were fabulous. Window seat was a nice touch. View overlooking Freedom Tower was amazing.
I had only 2 complaints for the room itself:
(1) Lack of useful storage: close space would be fine for someone traveling solo; no dresser drawers or adequate place for toiletries etc in bathroom.
(2) AC offers an automatic fan that typically cuts out at night. I always need a fan kept on low for white noise. So unfortunately we did hear our neighbouring guests.

About the hotel itself, I do have to say that Reception is either poorly staffed or poorly managed. Often no one was at the desk and we typically had to wait a good 5 minutes for staff to appear. Equally bad @ check-out; ie one person @ Reception with a line of at least 5 guests. I'm glad we used express check-out!
Concierge service was good.
Exercise room was well equipped.
Complimentary coffee/tea (very nice selection) available until 1000 AM in the Living Room.
Terrace was amazing.
WiFi and nice reading material available in the Living Room.
We did not eat in the hotel, so cannot comment.
Car service was accessible, and offered decent rates to the airport.
Our housekeeper was amazing!! I think her name was Caroline.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margoloves2travel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Margoloves2travel,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write about both the positive experiences you had at W New York – Downtown and our areas of opportunity.

We too think Caroline is wonderful and are happy that she was able to make your stay more enjoyable.

I have personally conveyed your disappointment with your Welcome experience and check-out with the team and assure you that it has been addressed.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience further. I may be reached at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#195 of 469 in New York City
1,850 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#174 of 469 in New York City
262 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#322 of 469 in New York City
4,466 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#222 of 469 in New York City
4,680 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#69 of 469 in New York City
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £156 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing