We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #240 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a cool corner room with fantastic view. Super friendly staff and great service made this stay perfect. We appreciated the extra attention we received from Mr Metrell on our anniversary. We will definitely come back next year. Veronica and Jan Erik

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Jan Erik J,

First, let me wish you a belated Happy Anniversary!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at W New York - Downtown. We appreciate you taking the time to give your valuable feedback and for acknowledging Metrell from our Welcome team. We strive to provide all of our guests with an exceptional and personalized experience and I am very happy to see that Metrell provided that to you.

I hope you will make coming to visit us an annual tradition; we at W love a celebration and hope to celebrate with you for many years to come.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further or if you find yourself coming to stay with us again in the future. I may be reached at 646.826.8600

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    400
    151
    72
    29
See reviews for
169
344
80
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel seems like it has been renovated. Very clean and modern hotel. It is nice if you are going for shopping in 5th Avenue. There are quite a lot of places to eat around the area. I would recommend this hotel if you are into shopping in 5th Avenue!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear 808Dream,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at W New York - Downtown. We are happy that you found our location accessible to your needs while in Manhattan.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you find yourself in New York City.

Please feel free to contact me anytime if you would like to discuss your stay further at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is located across the street from the new Liberty Tower. Rooms are small but nicely decorated and have all the things you need - great shower and bath amenities. Beautiful large windows overlooking the neighborhood. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Brusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear hotelmarketer,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at W New York - Downtown!

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed both our staff and our unique location. We are very proud of all that Lower Manhattan has to offer and it is wonderful to see that you were enjoyed our neighborhood.

I hope you will stay with us again the next time you find yourself in NYC!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 646.826.8600 if you would like to discuss your past or future visits to the property.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Modern decor, comfortable room, conveniently located, and that's it. Service is not particularly commendable - you need to call them and remind them in order to be provided a toothbrush or a pair of slippers. No complimentary bottled water. No free WiFi in the room. Aren't all these pretty standard nowadays? Also, the front entrance is not sheltered - it would really be inconvenient on a rainy day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel_Sham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Gabriel_Sham,

Thank you so much for the valuable feedback about your recent stay at W New York - Downtown.

I am sorry to see that your experiences did not live up to the Whatever/Whenever W service promise.

I assure you that I have personally addressed your comments with our team to ensure that these mistakes do not happen again.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have the opportunity to deliver an experience that exceeds your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, or if you decide to stay with us again in the future, please contact me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I was fairly underwhelmed with this hotel it was all rather trendy but just felt fairly superficial . I guess everyone is different but the hotel really did not do much for me. The room was fine and the bed comfortable. The decor was not to my liking and for the money they charge the whole experience was fairly disappointing.
Location wise the hotel is in a good location and can't be faulted from that respect. Just not the hotel for me.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jaydee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Jaydee55,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback about your experiences at W New York - Downtown.

While I am pleased that you found our location satisfactory, I am sorry to see that your overall experience did not meet your expectations.

I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. I know that we can exceed your expectations and make up for our first impression.

Please contact me directly at 646.826.8600 if you would like to discuss your most recent stay or if you decide to stay with us in the future.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was my first stay at the W Downtown, and really hadn't thought much about the location relative to the 9/11 Memoral or the Freedom Tower. I am a platinum Starwood member, so I always try to stay at Starwood, and this time was no exception. I found the reception to be warm when I arrived, it seemed to be hopping around the bar and restaurant, and was an active place. My room was perfectly located with an amazing view of the whole 9/11 Memorial, and at nite it was beautiful. My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and I have no complaints, except that the little mini diet coke took "mini" to a whole new level. I had to go to the bar to get a "real" diet coke, which the bartender graciously gave to me. There's a Starbucks right around the corner, what else could you need? I wouldn't necessarily stay here for a leisure trip, as the location is more business oriented, but for business travelers, I think it's very nice. I would definitely stay here again. Besides, they have the best Tuna Tartare at the bar, and the bartenders were great!

Room Tip: ask for room with a view of the memorial
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom_of_ashopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear mom_of_ashopper,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback about your stay at W New York - Downtown. We strive to exceed expectations for our guests and I am glad to see that you were overall very pleased with your experience.

I do hope you will give us a chance on your next leisure trip to NYC ... Our neighborhood is ever expanding and there are a lot of hidden gems in Lower Manhattan that I think you may enjoy.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your trip further or if we can be of assistance to you in the future.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Have stayed at the W downtime a number of times, hotel is in a prime position either for Wall Street or for offices in Jeresey.

The hotel itself is very modern and has great views of WTC.

Main draw back is that the WIFI is not free

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#313 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,096 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#369 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing