We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, fresh and amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #245 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
445 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“New, fresh and amazing view”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A really excellent experience. The room is new, fresh and room 2208 is a corner room with an amazing view on the memorial site.
The room has a carpet which was still new, also there is no Nespresso machine.
The breakfast is lousy and the service extremely slow. The fitness is small but good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Go100go,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am happy to see that overall your experiences at W New York - Downtown were positive.

I can assure you that I will address the issues you experienced at the restaurant with the appropriate people to ensure that both the service and product are up to standards.

Please call me at 646.826.8600 if you would like to speak further about your stay.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    412
    155
    74
    29
See reviews for
172
350
81
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was the first time our family had stayed at any W property. I can't say we were disappointed. The 5th floor lounge and balcony was a nice retreat from the street noise. The rooms, while NY size (a bit smaller than usual) were modern and clean. The beds were very comfortable and I slept great, which is not always the case when I travel. Couple things though: at this price level, free room wi-fi would be nice. Also was surprised by the lack of a business centre. The location is fantastic. From the W, it is an easy walk to Battery Park, Wall Street, the Brooklyn Bridge and many other attractions. So, overall, not perfect, but I would stay there again if I wanted to stay in the Financial District.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view overlooking the 9-11 Memorial. Awesome view, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jeff R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your first W Hotels experience! We hope it won't be the last.

We are glad that your overall experience was positive and value your feedback about in room WiFi. We are always evaluating our service standards and I can assure you this is something we are monitoring closely.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our unique location in Lower Manhattan. We are seeing new and exciting things happening down here each day and are quite proud of our little neighborhood.

Please feel free to contact me anytime if you would like to discuss this or any future stays with us. I may be reached at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for couple of nights while visiting NY and must say that this is one of the best hotels we`ve ever stayed in. The location is perfect - it`s right in the center of financial disctrict and just steps from the subway, finding a taxi in this area is also not a problem and yet you avoid hords of tourists that occupy Time Square and other touristic locations in NY. The views from the rooms and the terrace are just amazing. The drinks in the bar just perfect and the staff just excellent. I would like to mention especially Robert - Concierge. He is one of the best hotel associates that I`ve ever interacted with. The perfect manners, kindness, friendliness and a perfect knowledge of the city. He was just amazing when we were asking about things to do in the city and where to go. You can see that he enjoys his work and is really good at it - his knowledge was just incredible. His recomendations were perfect and even when we asked about other cities that we plan to visit in States he knew what to recomend. He is a real asset. It`s very rare to see that kind of attitude and it deserves a recognition.
All in all the hotel and the staff makes your stay a perfect one. There`s no point in going anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms with WTC view are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia_4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Lidia_4321,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and your kind words. It is always so wonderful to see that we have exceeded our guests' expectations and the experience you describe is what we strive to provide for all of our guests everyday.

We all love Robert and I am so pleased that he was able to assist you with your trip to the States.

I hope that you will come back to visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

You could either find the most friendly and professional staff or the most careless and unfriendly people. Great check out service but the check in and in room dinning is not up to what you expect from a W hotel.

Room ok, nice but small, amazing view of WTC.
In room dining not that good on good quality, grilled chicken sandwich doesn't taste good, just ok.

Won't come back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JSueyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear JSueyro,

I am so sorry to hear that your experiences at W New York - Downtown were inconsistent and that your in-room dining service was not up to standards.

Please call me directly at 646.826.8600 so that we can discuss further. I hope that we can convince you to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and deliver the full W Whatever/Whenever service promise.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good place to stay, but the rooms are really small. Also, honestly, I tough all hotels where furnishing the wifi for free these days. The W ask for 25$ per day!!?? Won't go back. Also, the breakfast is a rip off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank po1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear po1234,

Thank you for the valuable feedback regarding WiFi. I assure you this is something that we are constantly evaluating and appreciate guests' feedback about our services.

In addition, I apologize that you didn't find value in our breakfast service. I would love to get more information about your experience so that I can provide detailed feedback to the General Manager at the restaurant.

I hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again. Again, thank you for your review and please contact me anytime at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I loved the W Downtown. It's a fairly new hotel so the facilities and rooms are wonderful. I loved being close to the Hudson for lovely walks in the morning. It was also a hop skip and jump to tribeca and soho which is where I enjoy hanging out. This part of town is increasingly cool.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Nicole T,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are incredibly proud of our location and it is wonderful to see that you enjoyed some of the unique opportunities in Lower Manhattan.

You are spot on to say that this part of town in increasingly cool ... we are looking forward to all of the new shops and restaurants that are joining our neighborhood over the next several months. Be sure to check out the new high end food court at Brookfield Place on your next visit ... it is quite impressive.

If you have any other feedback or would like to discuss a future stay please contact me at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Amazing views of the 911 Memorial and the new Freedom Tower, One World Trade Center and excellent location in downtown. Staff greeted me with smiling faces the minute they opened my car door all the way to the 5th floor reception. And yes a chilled glass of champagne to boot. Robert, the concierge graciously informed me of the new developments right outside of the front door of the hotel. An upscale shopping development springing from the ground. Better yet, a skip away from the new National 911 Museum that just openend this morning. Excellent lunch at BLT Bar & Grill - wickedly fantatsic beet salad and lobster risotto - not to mention a crisp glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Excellent room - ask for the view side of the 911 Memorial - amazing at night - very chic modern and the sleep machine was a nice perk too. Heard no taxi honking. I'll be back...again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for the view facing Freedon Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at W New York - Downtown.

It is so great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations and it seem as though we were able to meet that mark during your trip.

We hope you will come back to see us again (and again)!

If you would like to speak about this or any future stays with us, please contact me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#357 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,211 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#180 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing