We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Ranked #184 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a fab location, centre of all that's relevant and a 1.5 hour walk to the bottom end which of course you have to do via the Ghostbusters set and Friends building. Taxi back of course. Hotel... Clean, friendly, helpful, everything you need, great local pub, Beer Authority. Changed bedding every day, a must stay!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review! We look forward to having you back.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was my second stay at the Four Points Midtown. As others have stated the location is great. You're far enough from Times Square to not feel the chaos, but close enough to walk over for a visit. Its 6 blocks from Macys, and not much further to the Empire State building. I walk around the area frequently as a female, and have always felt comfortable.
The rooms are small, as are most rooms in New York. They are clean, and the beds are comfortable. There is noise from the nightclub next-door on the weekend on a higher level. If you show your room key you can by-pass the line at the nightclub and go see what the fuss is all about. If the music's keeping you up, may as well join them : )
The staff are good. Check in was quick and friendly, if slightly scripted. The bell staff have been awesome both visits, hard working and pleasant.There is a restaurant on sight. I felt the prices for breakfast were fair considering you're in a hotel in New York. The small bar is adequate , not much warmth or personality, but does the trick for a night cap. It is a solid choice for the good location. You could go up a level in service and amenities, but will pay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collectmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks for the great review. You made some great suggestions and we will look into your suggestions to further improve our bar.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great place to stay in Manhattan. Cheaper than many other over priced alternatives with great SPG service. The rooms are small but confortable. The wifi internet connection is slow. Wired connection is great.

The really amazing "Best Bagel and Coffee" is really close and is wonderful breakfast for a long day in cold Manhattan. I'd go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_anubhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and like us as an alternative to other hotels in New York City. We look forward to having you back.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Upon having had our prior accommodation cancelled on us last minute, we had to search for a place to stay with short notice, and decided on Four Points for its convenient location.
The Sheraton is basically a corporate hotel, so no luxury will be found here, the rooms are not huge, but I understand that this is to be expected in NYC, and they are clean and have good amenities.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating throughout our entire 6 night stay, and Tin, the manager, was particularly attentive and made sure to check that we were happy with everything.
The location was ideal for NYC first-timers as it is close to a couple of subway stations and, if you enjoy a good walk, is easy to walk to Central Park and other sights/attractions such as the Rockefeller Center, Chrysler Building, New York Public Library, MoMa etc (we found that we enjoyed walking lots as we took in more of the city that way).
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there are tons of places around the city that offer a variety of cuisine (be sure to check out Tick Tock Diner for hearty breakfasts at reasonable prices!).
Possible downsides: parole office round the corner, and some "interesting" characters to be found at the Port Authority bus station, however this is not at the fault of the hotel and we did not have any negative experience due to this, but good to be aware before booking.

Room Tip: I believe it's probably preferable to have a room higher up so that you don't experience any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thanks for choosing our hotel. We are glad that we were able to meet your accommodation needs.

We are even more impressed at the great service you received from Tin.

Our location is pretty awesome and fairly close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and Central Park.

In regards to your comment about the parole office, I can assure you that most of the statistics we receive show that our block is one of the safest in the Midtown West area.

We do hope you return and look forward to the possibility of hosting you again.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

First off, I want to say, that this hotel might be perfectly fine for some folks, but I just did not care for it much. Now...it IS NYC..and given that spending $200 a night might be considered a drop in the bucket for some folks, I might be making much ado about nothing.
But I am going to write my honest observations here:

1. The rooms are TINY.
Super tiny. While they are fine, nothing spectacular (again I only paid $200),
try not to get a room with a view of Times Square. It's loud. Which is completely not the
fault of the hotel.

2. Staff are really nice.
3. The breakfast: $19.99 for a breakfast...REALLY???
I walked down the street every day to Dean and Delucia.
Do that! Do NOT bother with the food here.

4. The location...okay WOW...
Sure Times Square is right there and if you are into lights and the middle of the night
looking like the middle of the day, then that is great. (I do love neon though).
NO, that is not why I pick this part out.
It is the fact that this hotel is RIGHT across the street from the Port Authority.
Essentially THE BUS STATION. And that brings its own madness and cast of characters.
THEN there is the fact that it is right DOWN THE STREET from the Parole office.
I can't make this up. Yep. That is right...if you wanna walk your 5 kids from Times Square
back to the hotel, you will have to go right past the police/parole building.
Now I live in a major city but even I wanted to avoid that.
And FINALLY, as you are walking up to Dean and Deluca and lights, you will encounter
the 'blue shops.' Probably not something that dad and mom wanna walk little Johnny and
Janey by...I mean its fine and who cares if the shops are there. But if you have a gaggle of
kids, I am pretty sure you are not gonna wanna be explaining rubber dolls to them.
I'm just thinking.

So again, some of this isn't the hotels fault.
It's just not a fabulous hotel. I think possibly it could be...but I dunno.

Staff is nice though...did I say that part.

Room Tip: Do not pick street side. It's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBBMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks for the review and insight. We appreciate your expertise and will use this as a tool to improve.

A few points I would like to point out. The Breakfast buffet is a $19.00 all you can eat which is very hard to find in New York City, and the places that do carry this option are usually in the $25-$30 range

As for the block of the hotel being near the Port Authority, I can happily say we are one of the safest Times Square area blocks with minimal to no crime activity.

I am very happy our staff was mentioned several times in your review, and we do appreciate that.

We look forward to possibly having you back in the future.

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great location to Union Station, Time Square, Shows, Shopping, Attractions. Wonderful staff, very accommodating, one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. Rooms small but comfortable.Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony20fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Pretty awesome that we are one of the cleanest hotels you every stayed in! We are so glad you took the time out to complete a review. We can't wait to have you back!

Regards,
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Location is very convenient (entrance across the street) and close from the subway entrance. rooms were not large but comfortable and quiet. Breakfast choice is limited and not expensive. In room WIFI free

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed our central location. As for the breakfast buffet, it is an all you can eat breakfast for $19.00 which is very comparable to other NYC establishments.

We do look forward to seeing you in the very near future.

Happy Holidays,
Joseph Turano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#273 of 473 in New York City
116 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#328 of 473 in New York City
977 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#340 of 473 in New York City
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#243 of 473 in New York City
1,994 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#155 of 473 in New York City
5,869 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#313 of 473 in New York City
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square

Address: 326 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square hotel is in the heart of Manhattan near the Broadway Theater District, Port Authority, Hell's Kitchen, Central Park. We offer free wifi, the Gotham Bistro, Lobby Bar, Room Service, Fitness Center, and our staff is ready to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square Hotel New York City
4 Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points Midtown
Four Points New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing