We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close Quarters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Ranked #367 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near Wall St, which offers mass transit options of using Subway #2,3,4, J or Z. There are also numerous bus options in the area too. This is a positive for the property.

The lobby is very close in quarters. There is enough room for 2 employees to check-in, a table and 2 chairs for sitting. There are a couple more chairs and tables off from the lobby area. The hallway leading to the 2 elevators can only hold 7 guests at one time.

The breakfast area is bigger, but not large enough room considering the size of the hotel with over 20 floors. Breakfast ends at 10am on weekends. I would suggest getting there by 9am to get food and bring back to your room. The selection of food including pancakes, coffee roll, and cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, pastries. It is typical hot/cold spread of food. The breakfast staff had great and spirited attitudes considering the massive amount of people.

The rooms are equally close in area size. A one king bedroom has the bed centered with a desk, chair, 2 end tables and dresser that holds the TV with storage. The bathroom is so small it appears the door almost hits the toilet. The most annoying item in the room is the air conditioner. It is loud and noisy. The room was clean and had decent bathroom amenities.

The value and service was good. The room was a typical NY city size room; close quarters.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 15th floor or higher or a room not located on the street side. We are used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you so much for letting us know how we are doing. We appreciate you recognizing our great location and services. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here from Fri to Mon. Our room was typical NYC size but not as small as some we have stayed in. Very clean, quiet. All staff very friendly,polite,helpful. Parking was available . Breakfast every morning was good. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but clean and good. I like to stay that place again and again............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EconoLodgeFtLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear our hotel met your needs and you will stay again. We thank you so much for recognizing our staff services and clean hotel. Thank you so much and we look forward to your next visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The room was small but I understand that is normal for New York city. It was sufficient. The employees at the front desk were awesome. They even got me some mini cupcakes for my birthday which I found in the room when we returned from a full day of exploring NYC. That made my day. We got breakfast every day and the lady working was top notch keeping everything stocked and tables clean. There were healthy food choices including low-fat yogurt and milk, wheat bread, wheat English muffins and wheat bagels. They had everything you would need. The hotel's location was quiet which was nice after being around lots of people. Downside was a little walk to the subway but it didn't bother us. You could get a bus out front if you wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketotravelr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing our staff and the breakfast choices. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked this hotel for the location but quickly realized what a good decision it was. We were greeted by 2 girls at the front desk who were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and never had a problem once. The room was a bit small but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room either since we were on the go a lot. The location was great for the places we wanted to visit and was nestled in between 2 restaurants that we found also. If you want to see a hard working, great customer service staff then this is the place to check out!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jovimom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear your comments and recognizing our ladies at the desk. We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had a reservation here for four nights. My flight got cancelled and I boarded the next available flight to the city. I reached the hotel around 1130 in the morning, and to my surprise they have cancelled my reservation. The reason given was "No Show Policy". I had a room reserved for four nights, I still don't understand why they did it.

No phone call, no email notification for the cancellation.

May 2014, traveled on Business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank maddy2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I truly apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We do recommend if you have any delays on arrival to contact the hotel to change your arrival date to ensure the room will be available for you on the next day. We hope you will reconsider us for another future visit and thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The main problem is the skinny building - 27 floors with 4 rooms/floor, and only 2 elevators. Breakfast is over-salted and overcooked even at 6:35 am. Staff are friendly. WiFi works fine, but not TV reception nor lobby computers for printing out boarding passes. I prefer nearby Hampton or Best Western on nearby Peck Slip, but they were full.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we truly apologize for any inconvenience you had with your TV and lobby printers. I have addressed your concerns with our engineering team that way we can avoid these similar issues to arise again with you or any of our future guest. We hope you will give us another opportunity that way we can show you we have listened to our guest and made improvements. We thank you so much and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Having never been to New York before it was always going to be a bit pot luck, but we booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend, but we booked the wrong one! Anyway we scored as this is a great hotel. Easy to get everywhere from here.
We arrived early and we're greeted by the ever cheerful Catherine, who checked us in swiftly and found us a room that was ready. The room was fine, but as we we're only going to be in it to sleep, so as long as it was clean and comfortable that's all we cared about, and it was.
We were getting married during our weeks stay, and on the day we were greeted with flowers and champagne! We were always made to feel welcome and if we needed a hand at all (and believe me I did at one stage!) Then the staff were on hand to help!
The breakfast was great. Free which is always a bonus, and the lady who ran the show was fab! Funny and very hardworking as it was always busy. There was masses of choice between hot and cold stuff, I wanted to take the pancake maker home. I'd never seen anything like it before!
Big shout out to all the staff, especially Catherine, you made our holiday much easier, we'll definitely stay here again. 10th anniversary maybe!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. Thank you so much for also recognizing our employee Catherine. We truly appreciate when our guest recognize our employees personally. I will definitely share your feedback with our team. Congratulations on your nuptials and we do look forward to celebrating your anniversaries with us. We look forward to your next visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#346 of 471 in New York City
754 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 471 in New York City
2,095 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#241 of 471 in New York City
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#225 of 471 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#361 of 471 in New York City
181 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 471 in New York City
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street

Address: 126 Water St, New York City, NY 10005-1615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £82 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated in 2017, the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Manhattan is conveniently located on Water Street close to Wall Street. We are just a short distance from NY Stock Exchange, City Hall, Federal Reserve Bank, and World Trade Center. Lower Manhattan will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of attractions including South Street Seaport, Battery Park, Little Italy, Chinatown, and walking distance from the South Ferry which connects to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We offer 112 luxuriously appointed guest rooms equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection amenities, wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This modern, upgraded hotel also features an exercise room, business center, and hot breakfast bar. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing