We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The greatest stay EVERRRRR!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #131 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“The greatest stay EVERRRRR!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

So...it's technically been a couple of weeks since our stay, but I was just that determined to make sure I left an honest review of my experience at the Staybridge. It was one of the greatest hotel stays I've ever had. The hotel itself was very clean and modern. The bathroom was espcially clean, which is my biggest concern when traveling. The bed was super comfy. My coworker and I were able to sleep comfortably with no issues. We were attending a Beauty conference at the Javits Center, and it was a perfect location, only about 10mins away. The best part about the stay, I'll have to say was definitely the friendly staff. Jamie and Eddie were Thee funniest, most down to earth, and hospitable bellmen! Jamie suggested the best pizza place, Caprizzi's. It was deelish! The breakfast was fantastic, full of hot and fresh items! I really enjoyed my New York trip and my hotel stay was the icing on the cake. I will def be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit smaller, but it worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonQueen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,998
    1,915
    431
    74
    35
See reviews for
1,683
2,033
217
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My fiance and I stayed here because of it's proximity to Times Square. The streets look a bit sketchy but we never saw anything to scare us from walking up and down at any time of day or night. Love that the subway is right at the corner!
The staff here was wonderful, definitely A+! We were greeted warmly at the door with chocolates and pretzels and happy hour was a great welcome to NYC. All the concierges were awesome and had fabulous suggestions on places to eat and visit and were extremely helpful in giving directions whether we were walking or taking the subway.
We happened to catch the first anniversary of their bar and were thrilled to befriend their fantastic bartender. She took great care of us and made unique tasty drinks for us to celebrate our engagement.
Our room was kept very clean and our towels restocked every day. It was pretty quiet considering the location. The only thing we could complain about is that our room was right across from the elevator, so in the mornings we could hear all the people chattering right outside our door waiting to go down to get the free breakfast.
We will definitely be staying here again when we visit next.

Room Tip: rooms above the 14th floor have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaTom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here for two days after a long tiring trip down south. It was chosen for location for which it topped the bill for us. Near to the subway, short walk to Times Square and overall staff were really helpful.

The room was good, clean and tidy. Ammenities supplied in room were to a good standard. Beds were comforatble. No problems arose during our stay. The waiting time for the elevators can be painful and although not the hotels fault, some people feel its their right to just push past even though you have been waiting....didnt get far though.

The free reception in the evening was very good we thought, and by the fact everyone within the hotel was there also I think they felt the same. Bit busy and cramped but not a problem.

Breakfast was very busy and hard to find some seating but served a good purpose.

Overall we were very pleased and will stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BootneckClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is my 3rd stay at this property. As with the previous stays, the hotel is just brilliant. The staff is nice, courteous and helpful.
Location is perfect for Times Sq, transportation and pretty much everything else in NYC.
My room was on the 30th floor and I had views of the river on one side, the Empire State building on the other.
The breakfast is busy, but we didn't have any issues finding a seat after a few minutes.

Other reviewers complained about the elevators... Here is a tip for you: take the stairs! This will solve the obesity issue in the US. I just don't understand why people take an elevator to go down from the 2nd floor.
And yes I took the stairs to go up 30 floors. Good workout!
Also, if you want to go down, press the arrow facing down... Want to go up? Guess what press the arrow facing up! So many people on all floors pressed both buttons so the elevators stop at most floors even on their way up...
Anyway, at the week end with a full hotel, I didn't have to wait more than a few minutes.

"Social hour" on most weekdays from 5 to 7 is great, wine, beer and appetizers are served downstairs.

This hotel is my favourite choice for a NYC stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerostef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hi,
I was a guest at the Staybridge Suites for a long duration of almost 2 months. I was on an official trip and Staybridge was booked by our official travel operator. I am glad that they made this choice because it is an excellent hotel with high service standards. The hotel staff is very friendly and courteous I really appreciate the help provided by Sunny(amongst the hotel staff). "Excellent" is the word that I would quote for his help and courtesy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neha18jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was our first trip to NYC so we were a little apprehensive. We chose the Staybridge Suites Hotel as a result of reviews in Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is in a great location within walking distance of Times Square and many of the sights we wanted to see. For sights too far to walk the "Hop-ON-Hop-Off" bus stops and public transport are very close. We felt very safe walking in this area, even when returning to the hotel close to midnight. When we checked in at night after a long flight the receptionist, Senada, was so cheerful, positive, and helpful that we felt "at home" immediately. The concierge recommended several restaurants within walking distance and the one we selected from her list was excellent. The hotel was VERY CLEAN - an important point for us. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the room rate, was good and the staff who looked after it kept the tables clean and the buffet dishes replenished. All of the hotel staff we met in the halls, elevators, etc. were very cheerful and seemed to enjoy their work and take pride in doing a good job. A unique feature for us was the FREE Happy Hour on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 5:30 to 7:00. It included beer, wine, cheese, crackers, chips and dip, and two or three hot items. We really enjoyed the opportunity to relax after a day of sightseeing and found that it was a great way to meet other tourists and share tips. The one negative for us - the hotel is very "Pet Friendly" - a problem for people like me who are allergic to animal hair.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on a higher floor. It meant that the other buildings that we were looking into wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrynnyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A group of us chose the Staybridge for 3 nights in April, 2012. It was our first time in New York, and the location is perfect for walking or using public transportation. We arrived on Amtrak at Penn Station (Madison Square Garden) and walked with our wheeled bags to the hotel, about 10 minutes. Getting around is easy. We caught the subway right across the street at the Port Authority. It's a five minute walk to Times Square, the Theater district, and good shopping near Macys in the other direction. We also walked to Central Park, but that was a bit far. The rooms are large and very clean, with a nice little kitchen that has a full size fridge, two burners, a microwave oven, a dishwasher, and all the cookware and dishware you need, even wine glasses! We didn't cook, but loved the fridge for keeping drinks and snacks cold, and the microwave for warming up leftovers. The free breakfast was delicious and so convenient before a big day on the town. We got an early start each day (7:00am) so were able to avoid waiting for breakfast or elevators. We never had to wait long for the elevators as others had.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 18th floor with a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molokaigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#215 of 467 in New York City
1,815 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#251 of 467 in New York City
3,888 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#148 of 467 in New York City
6,777 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing