We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accommodation for an NYC getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for an NYC getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the staybridge suites in times square nyc. (room 601).
Great location, good size rooms (for nyc), clean, friendly staff, a decent complimentary breakfast, what more can I say! This hotel is a great place to book and I wouldn't hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leewalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you’ve left for others to see, we appreciate it!

We are thrilled to hear you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and were able to take full advantage of what our location and breakfast have to offer. We are only steps away from the center of Times Square and all the major subway stations, granting you easy access to all the NYC attractions and entertainment options! The all American breakfast buffet includes a variety of hot and cold items served daily from 6:30-10 M-F and 7-11 Sat & Sun, a great bonus for our guests to enjoy complimentary!

Our staff is dedicated to creating a wonderful and special experience for each and every one of our guests! Again, we are truly pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,004
    1,919
    432
    74
    35
See reviews for
1,685
2,036
221
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hi

I satayed here with my wife and 2 daughters in July 2012 using reward nights. Having stayed in a couple of the UK SBS I was unsure about what to expect as while over here they are quite spacious but I know from previous trips to New York that space there is at a premium and in retrospect that is the only slight down side to this hotel. The room was a squash with the 4 of us in it and the public areas are not big enough for the number of people in the hotel, I did on one occasion have to eat my breakfast standing up.

However the rooms were spotless and modern with all the amenities you could require, the gym was satisfactory and never busy, the free food and drink between 5pm and 7pm is always welcome and while the wine was a little rough the beer was very welcome as were the snacks and finally the breakfast was also acceptable. What I also appreciated was the PC and printer access in the reception which you can use to print out boarding cards, vouchers etc.

All in all this is a nice hotel and gives you what you need

Tips: If you walk out of the hotel and turn left on the corner you will find a $0.99 a slice pizza place that is very nice, if you turn left again and walk up that street (9th Ave) there is a number of reasonably priced restaurants and take-away food shops as well as shops that sell wine, beer and food

Hope this helps

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as half of the room face onto another building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilk2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel with my family. The apartments were small but well equipped. It appeared that the hotel was fully booked while we stayed as breakfast was always a struggle to get a table. The lifts also took a while arriving because of the number of people during peak periods. The concierge, reception and hotel staff generally were all so helpful and pleasant especially with our numerous bags. Apart from the lack of space i could not fault the apartments. The location was very near times square and right opposite the Ports Authority Bus station and for our trip to Jersey Gardens very convenient. Enjoyed my stay thoroughly at Staybridge Suites.

Room Tip: Top floors offer better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We arrived at 4.05pm, the hotel checked us into our suite. The suite is just like the photos in the website, very functional layout and efficient use of space. At about 9.30pm when we came back after dinner, we discovered the shower door was leaking badly. Front desk sent someone up immediately, he was able to minimize the leak but couldn't repair it completely until the next day if he has the parts. I asked to change the room and the front desk said if they can't find the part the next day they would change the room, so we stayed in the same room that night. The next day we left at about 9.15am in the morning and didn't return until 11pm. Upon our return, the front desk politely told us that they had changed the room for us and moved all our luggage to the new room, as they couldn't find the part for the shower door. I still don't know how they recognized us when it was only our second day at the hotel. We had important papers and money in the safe, and the manager at the front desk told me they had personally taken the content and locked them up for me as they couldn't contact me during the stay. Everything was intact, when we arrived at our new room, all our luggage, even the bottles of water and jug of milk were in the fridge in the new room. I didn't expect the change of room, who would have guessed they couldn't find a small part for the shower door in NYC? After recovered from the shock of having the hotel moved our luggages and contents in the room safe, I was actually quite impressed with their efficiency and service.
The breakfast was good, with hot items such as sausages, or ham, or bacon. Egg, cheese, yogurt, a few kinds of bread, juice, milk, fruit, etc. The room is clean, lots of towels, housekeeping is well done. The location is within walking distance to the centre of Times Square where all the neon bill boards are, about 10-15 minutes walk. We also walked to Manhattan Mall and Macy. The Empire State building is also within walking distance, although we took a cab after the visit that evening, we walked too much that day already. Internet access was good throughout the hotel, plus three computers in the lobby for anyone to use. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at Staybridge Suites at Times Square. We are so pleased with it that when our originally booked hotel in Markham Toronto didn't work out the following week, we immediately switched to Staybridge Suites in Markham.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceandPrincessMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Have just returned from a four night stay, staff so friendly and helpful in all aspects of our stay, the rooms are fantastic a great size, having the kitchen and ice maker are an added bonus. all areas are very clean. complimentry breakfast will set you up for the day, either eat in the restaurant or take your meal back to your room, the welcome food in the evening is very good value and finishes the day off well.
ideally located for all major sight seeing, metro within minutes, bus station across the road, great restaurants close by, we never spent more than 15 minutes getting anywhere.
Jamie you are the star of the Staybridge forever helpful and so much fun, the handshake will stay with us forever, an amazing expereince which I look forward to repeating as soon as can arrange.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carols895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review!

Our staff is truly dedicated to making our guests experience a delightful one! We are always here to help with any problem or request you may have and will make sure to take care of it straight away! We appreciate you pointing out our staff members that made a difference in your stay; our goal is to leave a lasting impression on all our guests!

The kitchenettes in the rooms provide for that extra functionality and convenience unlike most hotels would offer; the ability to store additional items (drinks, food, etc), prepare a home cooked meal or even heat up your morning coffee without even leaving your room. As you know, our breakfast buffet and social receptions are a huge hit with all our guests and is served daily “on the house” for all to enjoy! Our location offers the best of both worlds, it’s near enough to allow you to be right in the hustle and bustle within a few minutes’ walk and far enough away to provide the calm and quiet which is highly needed after a long day of sightseeing!

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and would be more than happy to welcome you back next time!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband and I had three days to spend in New York. It was our first time there so I really had no idea where would be the best place to stay. We picked Staybridge Suites as it was a suite and for its location but we could not have been happier. It is in the perfect location. We were able to walk to Times Square and the theater. It is directly across from the Bus Terminal with shops and restaurants. The rooms were spacious with a little kitchen and a regular size refrigerator. We enjoyed the free breakfast (although as most will tell you...get there early...they never ran out of food but it was extremely crowded toward the later times) and the evening reception was nice, but again fairly crowded. The only complaint and minor at that was the elevators. The hotel does not have a service elevator so the hotel staff uses the main elevators and sometimes it does take awhile for the elevator the reach the main floor. But this was a tiny inconvenience. We would absolutely stay at the Staybridge Suites on our next trip to New York.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 27th floor and we could still hear noise from the street although not disruptive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskanSnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
We are glad to hear we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them! At the Staybridge Suites our number one goal is to take care of our guests and make them feel comfortable.

As you mentioned, our location is pretty great, we are only just a few minutes away from Times Square and the theatre district as well as a subway stop at the end of our street, making it easy access to all parts of the city your heart may desire to go! As you mentioned, the Port Authority Bus Terminal located across the street from us which offers additional options for shopping and dining that our guests have full access to explore. In regards to the elevator usage, you are correct we do not have a service elevator; however the staff is only allowed to use the elevators during off peak hours to avoid disruption of the guest’s availability to access them. As well we encourage our guests to come down early for our breakfast and social receptions, so they can evade some of the extra traffic that occurs during our peak hours!

We are glad you thought our rooms to clean and spacious. The rooms are nicely equipped with kitchens that create a modern and “home like” atmosphere, our guests are sure to enjoy!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next NYC trip!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Room was nice & clean. Staff friendly & helpful. Within walking distance of good shops & deli cafes. Their breakfast & week day social hour with snacks was good. A BIG thank you to Jamie & best concierge Elliott!!!

Helpful?
Thank svallone
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Hello and thank you for commenting on our hotel, we truly appreciate it!

We are thrilled to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean, our team works very hard to provide the best of home and hotel! Our breakfast and social receptions are the two most raved about amenities we offer complimentary to our guests.

We are happy that you got to know a few of our staff members because they are truly the ones who make a difference in each and every one of our guests stays! Our goal at the Staybridge Suites is to provide a 100% customer service satisfaction, so we are pleased to find out you had a wonderful stay!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team (Especially Jamie & Elliot)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,849 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing