We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family choice for location, amenities and cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #156 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a recent 4-day weekend trip to NYC for sightseeing. Excellent midtown location, excellent service, great kitchenette area, very clean, good sized room, decent breakfast. Includes in-building washing machines - great for families!

Room Tip: as with other comments, do not choose the room in the middle of the elevator banks, choose a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling4funnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,601 - 2,607 of 5,872 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is my second stay here in the past two years after larger hotels fumbled reservations. The location seems a bit dodgy but its a trivial matter. The staff is helpful and available. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. And for a Times Square property, well proportioned.

The lobby bar, Bar Forty, is both intimate, well-stocked, and reasonably priced. If you're there early in the week Samantha is a wonderful barkeep - attentive, good drinks, charming, and gorgeous. What more can you ask for?

Negatives? The Wi-Fi is exceedingly dodgy, the elevators are small and slow. The lobby is tight and gets very busy and packed.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor so you can use the stairs. Thank me later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglast120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our 1st time in New York and we didn't know what to expect. The hotel was located close to Times Square and many other attractions were within walking distance. The rooms were clean. We really appreciated the hot breakfast every morning and the welcome receptions in the evening. The staff was excellent. The bell hops Bradley and Ray were especially friendly and helpful. They offered us many suggestions on what to do and how to get there. Keep up the good work. We would recommend this hotel to others.
Mike and Jan Perry

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff was SUPER and always available to help. The location is very convenient; we walked to Times Square and the Theater district. Directly across the street from the Port Authority so you can get "there" from this hotel.
If I do this trip again, I will use the subway from the airport to the hotel to save money on transportation - it would be very convenient nd a LOT cheaper than a shuttle service.No complints about this hotel (rooms are small, but that's NY!) Oh yea, what is billed as continental breakfast is more like a FULL breakfast! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistylou_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Staybridge Suites is a excellent hotel to stay in while visiting NYC. Upon my family's arrival at this great hotel we were greeted by Eddie the bellman. He was very friendly, courteous and very helpful while we were there. Breakfast was served every morning much to my delight. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I stayed on the 20th floor which was very quiet after a exciting day in the city. The hotel is a few blocks from Times Squares and a very convenient walk. It was also close to the subway to enable us to tour and view areas outside of the city. There was also a pizza place (2Bros Pizza) just a walk from the hotel which was a delight. The Port Authority was a block from the hotel and there was 2 movie theatres about 2 blocks from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when in NYC. If you need any help while there be sure to ask for Eddie the bellman.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel has a lot to offer in the extremely tight and expensive NYC area. It is close to Times Square, but not too close - a few blocks stroll away from the crowds and chaos, and only a block in the other direction and you have myriad dining options at all price points on 9th Ave. The service is friendly and helpful, a full breakfast and happy hour (some days) are included in the price, which is quite reasonable by NYC standards. Perhaps the best part of staying here is that the kitchens are actually functional: stove top, dishwasher, plates, and everything else you need to save money by skipping a few meals out. The downside is that it is crowded - you may have to wait awhile to catch one of the 3 elevators up or down, which are often packed. And breakfast can be so crowded you can't get near those scrambled eggs or find a corner to sit and eat them. But all in all it is a good choice, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We read all reviews and chose this hotel based on price, comfortable beds and cleanliness. Since our theee main criteria were met we accepted the rest. But you should know the rest...so that you are not disappointed.

1. Many travelers will be familiar with Staybridge Suites and expect similar. However, this is Manhattan. Do not expect a suite. You will have a small kitchen which is very convenient for storing and preparing snacks. But no table to eat on. You will be sitting on your bed and your husband can dine on the work desk.
2. The bathroom is small and designed for one person use.
3. The breakfasts are very nicely prepared and buffet served. However, I agree with other reviewers that seating space is inadequate for the hotel size. Back to your bed and desk....
4. The elevator service is a major flaw. I had read this by other reviewers. Did not think it would bother us as we were on holidays. But it was very irritating. The cab ride back from our Broadway show was shorter than the wait to get to our room. I am not exaggerating. Occasionally, we were suprised with a 2 minute wait. Usually closer to 8 minutes. Sometimes....12 plus minutes. You learn to check your purse three times before leaving the room. You would hate to need to return to your room for something like sunglasses. Using the elevators at non peak times is abit better...but still unusually slow compared to any other elevator system I have every used. Be cautious to give yourself plenty of time before theatre and airport departure or you could burst an aneurysm. We saw many people lose their cool over the elevator. Your eggs will be cold by the time you get to your room..
5. Everyone spoke about nice staff. They were polite. Nothing over the top. The lobby is small and reminiscent of a bus terminal. You will not be bonding with anyone.
6. The location is well situated to walk to Time Sqaure and Broadway shows. That's it. So, if all you plan to do is look at lights, shop and go to a Broadway show...you are in luck. If you like walking as we do, we walked to Central Park, Greenwich Villiage and Soho. But taxis as cheap and subway is close.
7. If street atmosphere is important to you...this place may not be for you. Although your walk to the main avenue is 3 minutes...there is not one beautiful thing to cast your eyes on. The peep show shop, impoverished store fronts, garbage bags. It is ugly and stinky. But safe. No one will bother you.
8. If you are a light sleeper...this place is not for you. The AC, which you will need, is right beside your bed and blows almost constantly. You can open the window....but sirens become problematic.
9. This hotel is not for people suffering with obesity. The elevators are very small and due to their slow speed, people like to jam pack themselves into the elevator. You may feel awkward with using the elevators. And the rooms, are indeed small to move around in...and the shower door may be hard for you to close. I hate to be so explicit...but clearly this was a tight space for healthy weight people. Forget it if you have a disability.


Overall, if price, comfortable bed, cleanliness, proximity to broadway shows and ability to make some snacks are your priorities....you will be pleased. But prepare and accept the rest as part of the package.
We have stayed at the Eventi and Warwick on previous trips. Loved the atmosphere, charm, location and rooms much more. But twice the price. We felt like we were in NYC. At the Staybridge....well....the hotel will not give you the NYC feel. But you will have more money for other experiences.


5. We paid for the room with a view. Nothing special. You will see skyscrapers and if you crank your neck, abit of the Hudson.
6.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 10. You will be between elevator shafts. Skip the view upgrade. Higher flora a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Alexandra I,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review of our hotel regarding your recent visit with us.

However, I am disappointed to hear your troubles during your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Our sincerest apologies for the poor experience and service issues you have encountered and for any negative impressions you may have had.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We truly apologize that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a Staybridge guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 473 in New York City
5,661 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#314 of 473 in New York City
4,345 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 473 in New York City
5,719 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#224 of 473 in New York City
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Manhattan, Staybridge Suites Times Square features extended-stay guestrooms featuring kitchenettes for stovetop cooking, microwave, dishwasher and full-size refrigerator. Amenities include newly designed fitness center with cardio and strength training machines, business center, 24 hour guest laundry facility and pantry for sundry and food purchases. A complimentary breakfast buffet is served each morning, as well as a complimentary "social hour" reception with appetizers, beer, wine and soft beverages Monday - Wednesday. The Den features an extensive drink menu and is open every evening. Our Concierge services include procuring reservations for restaurants and local sites as well as theater tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing