We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A short stay in New York”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good points

• A clean and tidy
• Helpful staff
• Reasonable breakfast
• Central location

Bad points

• Rough/seedy area, the hotel is down the side of the bus garage from Time Square you walk past a few sex shops a probation office and strip joints to get to the hotel. If you have young kids you may feel a bit vulnerable.
• The building has 30 floors served by 3 elevators. It can take a very long time to get a free elevator (5 – 7 minutes).
• The rooms can be very very noisy. I live and work in London and I found it noisy, if you like to hear the sound of the city at night all life can be heard

Overall

If you are a couple going away for a quick break and are streetwise this is not a bad hotel and offers good value. If you are with small kids or not used to watching out for yourself this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Good views at the top but long waits for elevators Noisy lower down but you can take the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Paul W,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,071
    1,967
    445
    75
    40
See reviews for
1,743
2,066
228
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here because we use the same Hotel Chain in Florida. I have to say they are as good.
When first arriving you think that it is stuck out of the way on a back street. But don't be fooled as its a great base for New York. Everything is within walking distance. We caught a cab down to Battery Park. But walked back. 60 blocks but took about an hour. Central park isn't as far in the other direction. The Rock, Empire State, Times Square, Broadway, Madam Tussauds and the piers, to name but a few are a couple of blocks away. We walked to them all. Hotel is the usual for Staybridge. Not Brilliant (in regards to English Breakfast) But ideal for the early starter in getting some breakfast before hitting the day.
There is a Cocktail bar open in the evenings if you just require a quiet drink.
Out room was on the second floor and was probably one of the cleanest I think I have ever stayed in. Very comfortable. (No view as on 2nd Floor) It was a good decision being this low as the only downside of the Hotel was that the lifts were very slow. We always used the stairs.
The Concierge (changed a lot) but was always very helpful. On the last day our prebooked taxi didn't turn up and the Concierge rang the company involved 4 times chasing them up. On seeing that we were getting very concerned offered to lay one on themselves at a reasonable price. We used them and it was superb. A Cab Driver nicknamed "Big City" who was very helpful and informative. Would use them next time for this service.
They also gave us a half bottle of wine on arrival as it was our anniversary. There is also a gym, however we did not use it. Also the room has a small Kitchen area, again clean but we did not use it. (A pharmacy and shopping area at the end of the street)
From our experience of New York (and this was the first) you go out early and get back late. So from our point of this Hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Hotel would be quieter (But Hey! this is New York.) A higher floor may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Staybridge hotel in New York. The room was lovely and spacious along with a great breakfast. The hotel made my time in NYC extra special. Extra special thanks to the excellent Brian and Jamie duo on the front desk. A big high five to them! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Staybridge Suites for 6 nights over New Year. Of course the hotel was packed and yes sometimes you had to wait quite some time for the elevators. And yes, if you want to have breakfast ( which by the way is surprisingly good) just before 10 o'clock then it's really crowded and seating is difficult. Just go a little earlier. The rooms are rather small, but room service is perfect and the location is phantastic.Just over the street is the bus terminal with shops (and a Starbucks), for shopping take the 111 bus to the Jersey gardens Outlet ( 30 minutes) We didn't have time to attend the social events so no comment about that. Overall we can recommend the Staybridge Suites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krass12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have been recommended by our relatives to stay here and indeed Staybridge did not disappoint us.
There are 4 of us traveling and it will cost much more in New York to stay in 2 rooms. We picked the rooms with 2 double beds and it was just nice to accommodate all of us. When I booked on the Staybridge website, I paid 279 USD/night (before tax) for the room. Later on, I found it was cheaper for the room that I paid and emailed the hotel. Much to our delight, we were upgraded to a room with view.
We arrived at the hotel before the check-in time and was offered a place to store our luggage. Walking around the hotel is easy as its location is very near to Times Square, Bryant Park, NY Public Library.
Breakfast comes with varieties such as cereals, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bagel, fruit and salad. If you are rushing, you can also pack your own breakfast to go. I read some previous reviews about the insufficient seats at the breakfast area, but when we were there, it was not an issue at all. It seems that the management took the feedback and convert the bar to the seating area with comfortable tables and chairs.
Also there's a laundry room which comes in handy as you don't need to pack your dirty laundry separately. There's also a computer corner and if you need to print something urgently, you can send it to the printer (free of course!).
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor offer great views but you have to buffer some time to wait for elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winter92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Great value. Read lots of complaints regarding elevator wait time, however, we did not find the wait time to be excessive at all.

I don't recommend the adjacent bar as prices and service there was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Positives: love the well-equipped kitchenette in the room; modern room; very much enjoyed the free happy hour from 5pm - 7pm each night (drinks and food - perfect time for a snack and a few relaxing beverages!); great location to Times Square and places to get food.

Could be Better: the elevators are pretty slow; you can hear through all the walls (we could hear people having regular volume conversations in their rooms while we were in the hall, and hear people in the hall while we were in our room); the bathroom door in our room looked like it had never been wiped down; we paid for a room with a view, but were on the 18th floor and were told that we were "just high enough to have a view" - we might as well have gotten a room without a view and paid less.

We don't feel there were any cons that would prevent us form staying again. It was pretty pricey for us to stay 2 nights in January after (not including) New Year's ($500+), but there weren't many better priced options for what we were looking for.

Overall, we would stay here again, but ask to stay on a lower floor so we could take the stairs instead of waiting for an elevator, and pay less for a room when we weren't really given a view anyway.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a room with a view. We wanted a view and were given floor 18, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peebinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#275 of 467 in New York City
4,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#223 of 467 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing