We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Clean Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #140 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“Great Staff and Clean Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I had gotten a great rate for the one evening stay that I needed and the previous reviews were good so I decided to give this hotel a chance. I was presently surprised by the welcoming staff and the clean hotel room. We arrived early so the room wasn't ready but the staff held onto our bags while we walked to Times Square which was a very easy walk. I was supposed to only be in town for 1 night as we had tickets for a Broadway show but after we checked in, we found out that our bus home the next day was being cancelled due to a storm coming in. The front desk was able to book us another night but they were not very flexible with the price. I was pretty disappointed by their inability to match the rate I had for the first night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa5131970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Lisa5131970,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Staybridge Suites Times Square. How nice of you to mention our wonderful, friendly staff. They pride themselves on being helpful, approachable, and thoughtful. And I agree with you that our rooms are some of the cleanest I have ever seen!
I am so sorry that you were affected by our recent spate of wintry weather. I also apologize if you felt our team was less than accomodating with your extension rate. Our team is trained and encouraged to take every situation on a case by case basis, and to be as helpful and accomodating as possible. We will review your feedback with our team to see where we could have improved.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York and we will do our best to ensure there is no Polar Vortex during your stay!

Warm Regards,

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,079
    1,982
    454
    76
    44
See reviews for
1,765
2,073
228
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at the Staybridge Times Square for one night and I was highly impressed in everything and as people who know me, would comment that I rarely give this high of a recommendation. The hotel is conveniently located to all of the shops and Times Square. The room was exceptionally clean and very well set up and sleep quality was brilliant. There is fully equipped kitchen with a twin hob as well as the normal stuff. Breakfast in the morning is a buffet style and here again they have tried to meet or even raise the bar. Cannot fault this place and will come again for sure.

As always parking in the area is a right royal pain but Staybridge have an arrangement with a parking lot establishment called Central Parking which is a 1 ½ blocks up from the hotel. If you stay at the hotel then you get your normal parking ticket ($ 54 a day) for $ 35.

Room Tip: I was facing the main street but noise was no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratty1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Excellent location,fantastic breakfast to set you up for a very busy day in the big apple,room very clean,housekeeping daily,great shower and a few accesories,loved the room with flat screen tv lots of channels,social nights think 2 or 3 a week are great even if your not into socialising with the other guest,it's a complimentary few nibbles and drinks,it's enough for an evening snack for some,after a long day out and straight up to your room,definitely will be returning ,staff very helpfull and friendly,location is tops for times square ,port authority,down to the hudson and many more ,hope this helps if you are thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaykay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Jaykay45,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us at Staybridge Suites Times Square. It sounds like you had a wonderful time!

We agree that our staff, location, and amenities make this the ultimate Times Square destination. So glad that you enjoyed our Social, our evening reception held three nights per week. That and our daily complimentary breakfast can definitely go a long way towards making NYC a more affordable destination.

We cannot wait to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to New York!

Warm Regards,

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. The staff are great. A big THANK YOU to the Bellman, Brian, who offered directions on how to simplify the use of the metro. It made getting to my appointments easier. I have a second trip to NYC and staying at the Staybridge Suites. Every thing I need is right there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue12479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sue 12479,

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are so pleased that based on your recent stay you have decided to return to spend some more time with us. We hope to become your home away from home in NYC. And thank you for the kind words about our bellman, Brian. That friendly, personalized service is what we are all about.
We cant wait to welcome you back to Times Square!

Warm Regards,

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked this hotel for a super bowl vacation and overall very pleased. The room was great and clean, the staff very friendly. Yes, the neighborhood seemed a little sketchy, but turned out not to be bad at all. Even walking back to the hotel at 2 AM we were not concerned. It's a big city, and for folks not used to that, it might seem a little intimidating. But overall, I think this would be a great place to stay and wouldn't hesitate doing it with my young grandkids.
But again, the elevators were not working. 10-15 minute waits were normal. We gave up and walked the stairs, as did many other guests. When you have only 3 elevators, and one goes down that may be excusable. But when the STAFF uses their keys to override the calls, taking another out of service, that is inexcusable. There were several times that we would be waiting and the call light would extinguish without the elevator arriving...then wouldn't come back on. Didn't understand it until the last day when we rode with a staff maintenance person who was using his key to control the elevator, and clear all the pending calls. That on top of the 3rd elevator being used to fix the 2nd meant NO ELEVATORS for a 33 story hotel. That's not forgivable.
If you want a good hotel at a good central location and price, go to this one. Make sure you call the hotel for status on the elevator repairs. Bring a good set of legs. If you can't walk a good deal of stairs, find somewhere else to stay until the lifts are fixed (supposedly mid to late February 2014).

Room Tip: The lower the floor, the better the walk to the lobby, but also the louder the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mark H.,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Staybridge Suites, and that you left us with such happy memories of both our beautiful rooms and our friendly and engaging staff. I do apologize however that you were affected by long elevator wait times during your stay.

We have experienced an unexpected necessary repair of one of our elevators, and our top priority is ensuring our guests are impacted as little as possible. While it will be necessary to have occasional brief moments of manual operation in one of the remaining elevators, we recognized this needed to be as infrequent as possible for the comfort of our guests, and so we have taken steps to minimize this. Thank you so much for your feedback, it will be shared with our associates. Our team is working very diligently to have this repair completed as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamont, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The location of this property, 40th between 8th and 9th was very convenient to Penn Station and to Times Square. The staff were extremely friendly, the hotel was clean, rooms small but I loved have a kitchen, and the breakfast was fabulous. The only reason I didn't give this an "excellent" is because one of the three elevators was broken, so there was some waiting (or using the stairs).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe Twp, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Took my daughter into the city to see Matilda on Broadway and decided to stay overnight. It was a good thing too because the weather was not on our side: snow, cold and wind. Hotel is located between 8th and 9th Ave (close to Port Authority) on 40th. Building is very narrow so it's not a spacious lobby when you walk in, but it was clean. Our room was on the 32nd floor (the top) and while the elevator wait ( as mentioned in other reviews) was not bad when we checked in at 315pm, it did get worse in the evening and the following day. There are only 3 and hold about 6 people max with one small piece of luggage or bag. The issues I had with being on the top floor - it was windy, the music was blaring from the club next door, and continuous noise in the hallway. The room itself was smaller than most hotel rooms but it is NYC so "spacious" is not an option. It was very modern and clean which met up to my expectations. What was nice is that it had a refrigerator, microwave and cook top- something that would be a plus for a traveler staying for several days and not wanting to eat out every night. The bathroom was a decent size and again, very clean!! The breakfast area was crowded in the morning but it had a variety of choices to choose from: eggs, egg whites, sausage, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, english muffins, assorted juices, coffee and tea. If a family had to go out and eat in the city they would be sure to spend $50+ dollars on breakfast, so it was nice to have breakfast included in the rate. I would recommend this hotel if you plan on visiting NYC..I would advise to check the web for special rates because you might luck out like I did. I only paid $119 (advance purchase) + tax per night.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a low floor and facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#277 of 466 in New York City
4,071 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 466 in New York City
5,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 466 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing