We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff is great, especially Sam in the bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff is great, especially Sam in the bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I love the the employes here especially Samantha in the bar she is very catering and considerate. She genuinely wants to ensure that you have the best experience here. I have been coming here for 6 years at least twice a year and have tried a few places in between but always come back here because no where else can compete. The rooms are really spacious an clean just to add to the great customer service through out the entire hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,005
    1,919
    432
    74
    35
See reviews for
1,686
2,036
221
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Elevator situation is less than ideal. Samantha, the bartender, is great. Not only is she personable, she makes a stellar drink! She provides a really comfortable experience here- she remembered me from the first night- super friendly. Definitely kept us company and created a great nightcap experience! Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _twostep7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

It is just around the corner from Times Square. Our room had a kitchentte which was a bonus and with the included buffet breakfast and evening drinks/nibbles it was an enjoyable stay. We found a really good deal for this Hotel so for what we received for the price, we were happy :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Owner at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear fe81,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at Staybridge Suites Times Square. I am so glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and evening reception. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the kitchen in your room as well!
We cannot wait to welcome you back to New York City soon.

Warm Regards,

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here February 10th,2014 on a stopover in New York on our way back from Ireland. Booked the hotel online for an unbelievable low rate for smack dab in the middle of Times Square. Our room was spacious, clean and very nice. The breakfast was great and the staff arranged a late checkout even though it was fashion week and the hotel was fully booked. I WILL be staying here again on my next visit! The subway was steps away and we were able to see and do so much on our short stay because of the location.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2810 ..next to the elevator but never heard it once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlane2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here from January 23 to 27th. It was the first time we had stayed at a Staybridge Suites hotel and we had doubts about it, knowing from many NY trips that hotel rooms in NYC are usually tiny with few amenities. This hotel is amazing! The staff is wonderful. We arrived around 3:30 in the afternoon and our room was not yet ready, but was guaranteed for 4pm. We waited in the beautiful great room of the hotel (lovely fireplace) and the room was ready a little after 4pm. Because of the delay, we were given a complimentary bottle of wine and a box of chocolates!
The room is really like a studio apartment. A full kitchen with stainless appliances (microwave, full refrigerator, stovetop, and dishwasher). King bed with pillowtop mattress. Bathroom with extremely small shower, desk with office-style chair and another chair with an ottoman. Nice city view from large window (see my photo).
We arrived on a Thursday. Every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights, the hotel has a reception for all guests. Wine, soft drinks, and a lovely buffet of snacks (even a small salad bar). In the morning, there is a free breakfast. A really nice setting and a lot of food, but food that should have been hot (eggs, pancakes, etc) were barely lukewarm. No problem, since we had a full kitchen, after the first morning we enjoyed cooking breakfast in the room.
The hotel is located right next to Port Authority and so we had easy access to the mall that is a part of the Port Authority complex. Really nice, since the weather was so cold during our stay.
There is also a pretty little bar in the hotel which is open in the evening.
Another plus: free WiFi in our room! (There is also a small business center on the main floor) I have read several other reviews that said the elevators were extremely slow, but we didn't find that to be a problem during our stay.
What a great hotel! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for lady few yrs on holiday. Great location for manhattan. Staff very helpful. Breakfast plentiful and managers evenings nice. Lifts are small and with 32 floors you can sometimes wait a while. Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

initially a bad start to find i was on the 5th floor looking out at the bus terminal. i then rolled back the sheet to find a couple of hairs. i called the front desk and someone was up within 30 minutes.
once i realised a lift was out being on the 5th floor was a relief. the wait was long.
the room itself was fine and suited the purpose, however the fridge was right at the side of the head of the bed! quite noisy at times. the room was cleaned well daily and the inroom safe was great. as far as size goes i felt it was quite big considering new york.
the breakfast was well ok. im picky at breakfast so didnt enjoy it but my other half isnt and ate well every morning. every tues, wed, thurs they do a cocktail hour from 5-7pm. free drinks and food. the food was basic but i dont think you can moan about something that is free! the unlimited wine was a godsend in ny and my stay quickly revolved about coming to the cocktail hour.
we asked fornlate checkout and were given two hours without hesitation. they also then stored our bags for us as we had a late flight!
the staff were all excellent from the wait staff at cocktail hour keeping our drinks topped up, to the reception.
we would defintely stay again, despite the start it was more than we had hoped for.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Skrinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Skrinz,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback regarding your stay. Comments from our guests are very important to us and are used to ensure we are providing signature Staybridge Suites service. I truly apologize you had a couple of small hiccups at the beginning of your stay, but am so pleased our team responded quickly and were able to turn things around for you.
Im so glad you enjoyed our evening Social reception. You are right, unlimited wine cannot be beat!

Warm Regards,

Donna Robinson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,851 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing