We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Holiday Easter 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #139 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Holiday Easter 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The location is fantastic, near to Times Square and all the attractions. The breakfast was good and plentiful, you just have to try and get down before 8:30 otherwise you will have to queue and some of the food might have run out. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the evening social on one evening as the rest of the time we were out enjoying the theatre, the baseball, the basketball and a magic show. We certainly crammed a lot in to our stay (one week) and we were in room 204 on the second floor so it avoided having to use the lifts which was very useful. Great having free WIFI and a kitchen, although no kettle, which would have been useful to make a cup of tea. Overall great especially for a family.

Room Tip: Choose a lower level room to avoid the lifts otherwise you will have to wait to get down to breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,906
    1,870
    420
    72
    34
See reviews for
1,613
1,987
214
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here with our 2 children at the end of March. Jamie, Catherine and Ari were so helpful and friendly. I needed a birthday cake for my eldest and Catherine called around to find a place that was open on Sundays. They also sent chocolates to the room for her, a lovely touch. Jamie went out of his way to help us and my children thought he was the best thing since sliced bread!

The hotel is a 5 min walk max to Times Sq and is v near a subway stop. It has to be said that the street it's on is less than salubrious, particularly when you are travelling with children but its proximity to Times Sq and great places to eat make up for it. Rooms are surprisingly quiet for a downtown location. Downside is that we couldn't find a kettle, not a big deal though.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The good:
- Well located except for the seedy street it is on, with the next door establishment advertising fantasy girls at bargain prices.
- it has a good working kitchen but no kettle
- clean room and bathroom
- free wifi

The bad (where to begin?)
- the lifts are basically non existent.
- basic breakfast over crowded, with often no seats to eat breakfast
- overpriced. Intercontinental Barclays not too far is much much better! At much cheaper prices.
- rooms were tiny!

Apparently other reviewers don't agree but our experience was definitely not positive for the price we paid.

Sorry but true story.


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank The Perkos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear The Perkos P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from your recent stay. It sounds like while there were some things you truly enjoyed about your stay, there were also some areas where your experiences were not as positive as most of our other reviewers. I truly apologize we were not able to provide you with a perfect stay. You do mention our location, you are correct that we are well-situated, however our next door neighbors on both sides are other family-friendly hotels, and we are in fact located right in the middle of a row of these properties. A block away from us begins the busy streets and avenues that New York is known for, particularly the Times Square area, and we have 24 hour security on site for our guest's and associate's safety and peace of mind.
I do apologize that our breakfast was over crowded each morning during your stay. While a basic American hotel breakfast will feature a continental offering, with simple cereals and pastries, we offer a full hot breakfast each day, which is why it is so popular with our guests and can get crowded at peak times. Though we offer additional seating in our Greatroom and Lobby Bar, we will be taking your feedback and looking into ways we can improve the flow and seating options.
I am so glad you enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as free wif-fi and full kitchenette in each guest room. Our rooms are all studio suites, and with our complimentary breakfast, complimentary mid-week receptions, and complimentary laundry facility, we have so much more to offer our guests than a simple hotel room!
If your travels bring you back to New York, we welcome the opportunity to host you again, and this time we will WOW you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights- April 18-22. This was the second time we have stayed at this property. Clean, comfortable, great breakfast. Across the street is the Port Authority bus station- go through the side door (directly across the street from hotel) and turn right into the Port Authority mall area. Go straight to down escalators and it will take you directly to subway. Perfect to avoid rain. All staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful. We used the luggage hold area when we arrived and also on the final day to make the most of our stay. Bed comfortable and had great pillows.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a top floor apartment which gave us superb views. The facilities were excellent and had we been at the hotel for additional days we would have experienced their 'social' which consisted of excellent food and drink totally included in the price of the stay. Chow ever we were only able to have this once but it was amazing. The breakfast was more than adequate and it was acceptable to go down and bring breakfast back to the room. There did not appear to be any rules which made the stay very enjoyable and the staff were most helpful. We seemed to have trouble flushing our toilet on several occasions but someone came to our room almost immediately. The wifi was good when it worked. There were a couple of occasions when the staff had to reboot the modem for our floor and had been unaware of the problem until it was brought to their notice. This was not sorted quite as quickly. The only negative was the noise from the air conditioning. Maybe all hotels in New York have noisy air con. The location was great and very close to one of the subway stations. Would definitely come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Have a room on a high floor for a great view and less noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The beds are super comfy and room has everything you need - a small kitchenette, dishwasher, huge refrigerator with an automatic ice maker. The location was perfect right beside the port authority bus station and surrounded by restos convenience stores. But most of all the service is superb! Special commendation to Mr. Fred A. who made it a point to make us comfortable and provided excellent service during breakfast. He was always ready to answer our questions and assist us never hesitating to go the extra mile. Kudos to the Staybridge management for hiring excellent people.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ctinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as her birthday surprise. The hotel is great, the staff were really nice and the rooms were functional. Our room had a great view of the Empire State Building which was an unexpected bonus. We arrived on a Thursday so we were able to attend the welcome reception which consisted of some free snacks and drinks (beer and wine included) and found this to be excellent. The location is great for Times Square, Broadway, The Empire State Building and the public library to name just a few. I would certainly stay here again on a return trip to NYC.

The only negative thing a could say was the hotel offered to get us a taxi back to JFK. They said it would be $69 flat rate, including tolls, tax and tip. This was comparable to a yellow taxi when you include the tip so we agreed, however the driver seemed to take the long way round, not using any toll roads and then said that tip wasn't included. We would have been better just getting one of the numerous yellow taxis.

However that didn't spoil a great stay and a fantastic hotel.

Thanks Staybridge!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear UsualSuspect75,

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. And we are so thrilled your wife had such a lovely birthday weekend! What a great surprise! We are so pleased our team and our hotel could add to the wonderful memories you gave her for her birthday.
I do apologize for the experience in the taxi upon your departure. We are saddened that a wonderful New York experience ended with a negative taxi ride. After determining which company was used , we will work with this company to ensure they are always operating to our high standards. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We hope to see you back next year, or perhaps on YOUR birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#189 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#53 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#157 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing