We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location+great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #150 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for a weekend, the hotel is perfectly well located in the middle-town, just a couple of blocks away from Times Square. First of all, hotel location is great, eventhough it is located next to the bus station it represents an advantage since the subway is located there, street is safe and well iluminated. Secondly, rooms are perfect for tourists, comfortable, nice and clean, the rest of the ammenities are really nice, wi-fi, breakfast is great considering that you are in NYC. Finally, the service is great, employees are very kind and helpful, specially Jaime the concierge who did all the necessary to facilitate things and services for me and my familiy so we didn't have nothing else to worry about more than enjoying our trip.

Price-performance one of the best options in Manhatan.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,992 of 5,720 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a 5 night stay at the Staybridge Suites and I can't praise it highly enough. Great location, lovely selection of food for breakfast, friendly and efficient staff and very comfortable rooms. I read a few reviews before we went in which there were a few complaints about the speed of the elevators. I will agree that they were slow, especially in the mornings, but it was the only negative and really didn't spoil a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Car0lineJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice & clean, mini suite rooms with fridg, microwave, coffee maker. Noisy A/C & tiny shower. Stayed 3 nites & it's an easy walk to everything. Directly across from bus station which has lots of shops & fast food. Breakfast typical more of England, powdered eggs, fruit, dry baked goods. They appear to have yided to political correctness and the meat is Turkey bacon. The happy hour was nice with complimentary wine, beer & pizza & salad. Long wait for elevators since there is only 3 for 32 floors. They forgot to clean our room the 2nd da but when we called they brought towels. Had to call back for missing items but they brought right away. Front desk accommodating & Bradley at Concierge was wonderful & very helpfulness aid certainly stay there again as its a great value & close to everything but not noisy.

Room Tip: No luggage storage so large bags will be in the way. Bring ear plugs if you at bothered by noisy ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I feel like I am doing myself a disservice by letting the world know about this gem. It may just get too popular and then my secret will be revealed, but then, a good hotel deserves a good review.

This place is near enough to everything to be very handy but far enough away to be quiet and relaxed. Perfect! The staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms are excellent. The bed and pillows are the usual "extreme comfort" typical of the IHG partners. Bathroom modern and clean, kitchenette fully equipped with everything you would need in the pots, pans and cutlery department. The place is amazingly quiet for a hotel in this part of town, but I guess I am on the side away from 40th Street so I cannot comment on the other side of the hotel but on this side its great. The free breakfast is fine and has all the usual fare. I have seen other comments about the slow elevators, and I guess they are a little slow and one has to wait a bit but considering the amazing value and comfort of this hotel, and the central location for the price, I would certainly put up with it. A "minor" inconvenience only, all things considered.

Well played, Staybridge, I will certainly book with you again the next time I am in NYC!

Room Tip: Get a high room away from 40th Street for the peace and quiet. Don't count on a view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EljayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna R, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear EljayAdelaide,

Well thank you, we think you're pretty great! Thank you for such an amazing review! And dont worry about spilling your secret, no matter how popular we are, we will always have that hidden gem-home away from home feel. You better come back and see us again when you return to New York. Well played EljayAdelaide!

Missing you already,
The Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We (2 adults & 1 child of 15) stayed here for 5 nights beginning of May. The staff is very friendly, room was big enough with 2 double beds and especially the location was superb! I would definitely advise travellers to select this hotel. I had read all reviews before we went and I must say that the problem of the restaurant being too small has been solved most effectively by giving guests the opportunity to have breakfast in the bar as well. Excellent solution!! There were absolutely no negatives as far as we are concerned. We would stay there a second time; that's for sure

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ingrid-willems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great family place - free breakfast, nice sized rooms (for Manhattan), full sized refridgerator, microwave. Great location with access to many subway lines. There is also a lounge on the first floor which we did not visit. Plenty of carry out pizza places and such nearby as well.

Room Tip: A lower floor may be preferred given there are only 3 elevators to serve the entire property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my third stay in the city and would have to say this is the nicest hotel I have stayed at..Great location..Nice size room..Loved having a fridge, microwave, stove and dishwasher in the room..Good breakfast..Friendly staff..Comfortable beds..Clean..Only drawback was (as I know other reviewers have said) the elevators! One was out of order and the others were SO slow..Stayed on the 17th floor and was not fun hiking up and down the stairs a few times in order to get to where we needed to be on time...My advice would be to get a room on one of the lower floors; unless all the walking you do in the city isn't enough for you:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#301 of 469 in New York City
4,164 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 469 in New York City
5,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 469 in New York City
1,875 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £130 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing